We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay and Fabulous Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pondok Ayu

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sanur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pondok Ayu
JL. Sekuta | Gang Pudak, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 63 hotels in Sanur
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay and Fabulous Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

First time at Pondok Ayu, we had high expectations on arrival after reading all the positive feedback online and it exceeded our expectations. Traveling with two children, the suite was awesome, lots of room, stunning marble floors and a great place to relax. Although the Pondok is very nice the staff make it. They are very warm and helpful and make you feel part of the Pondok family. Would have to be the best accommodation I have stayed at in Sanur and although on the other side of the by pass is still only 10 - 15 mins walk to the heart of Sanur and if you don't feel like walking their friendly Driver will drop you off and pick you up. Couldn't fault the Pondok at all and is a credit to the staff and owners. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    226
    33
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
87
120
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

this is my second home and what a treasure it is with great grounds and great pool and such lovely,friendly staff that go out there way to help you above and beyond the call of duty. Also close to all that is going on and set amongst the local community . Thanks Barb and Steve you are on a winner there well done to you and your great staff they make your stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: the best kept secret but too many people now know about this great place
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

After staying here in 2005 we returned for the 2013 trip and stayed seven nights.
Still the same great boutique hotel, wonderful staff (particularly Made, Wayan and driver Degus).
Really enjoyed Sanur and Pondok again - much better than the east side! It's very quite and the main street has the best restaurants!

Room Tip: There's only five rooms, and they're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret River
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We have now stayed at Pondok Ayu four times and are booked to go back in December because we haven't found anywhere better to stay in the Sanur area. The staff are unbelievably friendly, attentive and so eager to help. The accommodation is spotlessly clean and private, the food is excellent and it would be hard to find better value for money. Thank you all so much.

Room Tip: There are 2 rooms on the ground floor and 2 rooms above via stairs. The suite is on the ground floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We have stayed at several hotels in Bali and we can say that Pondok Ayu was truly one of the best hotel we have stayed at. It can certainly compete with 5 star resorts like Kupu Kupu Barong and Royal Beach Seminyak Hotel and we think it is even better than the renowned 5 star Pita Maha Resort.

The attentive staff of Pondok Ayu (Gede, Kadek and the girls) makes all the difference: from turning on the air-conditioning in the living room in the morning while you are still asleep, preparing breakfast at any chosen time to closing the blinds in the evening and turning on the air-conditioning in the bedroom while you are eating out. Transfer from and to the airport is not a problem at all and is included in the price. Moreover, the price of the villas is very good: great value for money. All in all, Pondok Ayu is a fantastic hotel with impeccable staff. The only regret we have is that we did not stay longer at Pondok Ayu.

We will certainly come back if we are going to Bali again.

Room Tip: Villa no. 5 (I think the biggest villa) is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have had the pleasure of staying at Pondok Ayu three times so far. Our most recent visit was in March 2013.

This is one of those rare, special places that has become, for us, synonymous with Bali. The staff and owners have the gift of hospitality. On arrival, we feel truly welcomed and know that we are in good hands. There is no better way to begin a vacation.

The rooms are comfortable, spacious and clean, as is the bathroom. The location is in a residential neighbourhood at the end of a short lane, so it’s quiet and devoid of other tourists. The gardens, pool, and grounds are immaculately tended.

Breakfast starts at 7:00 around a large round table. At first, being not a particulary outgoing type of person (and especially not in the morning), I didn’t know if I would like the experience of having breakfast with other people I’d never met. Because the atmosphere is so casual, breakfast turned out to be an enjoyable time and we’ve met many nice people sitting around that table. And speaking of breakfast, always freshly made to order by Putu, Made, Wayan, or Kadek and served with a smile.

We enjoy early morning walks around the neighbourhood or down to the beach when it’s quiet. The beach is about a 15 minute walk Although we have to cross the busy bypass road to get to the beach or to the shopping areas of Sanur it has never been a problem for us. We just take our time and wait for a break in the traffic. Of course, if we’re feeling a bit lazy or hot, Gede is always there to cheerfully take us where we want to go.

On our last visit we were fortunate enough to share the time at Pondok Ayu with the owners, Barb and Steve, and their son, Mick. A delightful family, and the warm relationship between them and the staff is evident, obviously this is the base for the feeling that permeates this small hotel.

Room Tip: There are only four rooms -- all are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Staying at this hotel is almost like staying at home. The hotel, which has only 5 rooms, is located at the end of a small lane so it is quiet and private with a relaxing atmosphere. It is not near the town centre which requires 15 mins' walk or more and includes crossing a very busy street. Stay here if you want to be away from the tourist crowds.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pondok Ayu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Ayu

Address: JL. Sekuta | Gang Pudak, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#1 Family Hotel in Sanur
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pondok Ayu is a little piece of heaven located in beautiful Sanur, Bali. We are a small boutique hotel that provides very personalised service by our wonderful friendly staff. Pondok Ayu can be booked on a room by room basis or you can book the entire hotel for a group or family holiday, this can be done direct with us or through a travel agent. We are surrounded by splendid gardens and a wonderful peaceful setting. As we fell in love with Bali many years ago I am sure you will do the same thing with Pondok Ayu and the atmosphere here. Sanur is in a very good position as it is at the start to most of your tours and central to Kuta, Legian, Nusa Dua and Denpasar. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pondok Ayu Hotel Sanur
Pondok Ayu Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pondok Ayu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pondok Ayu to your Saves list