We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just gets better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pondok Ayu

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sanur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pondok Ayu
Save
You added Pondok Ayu to your Saves list
JL. Sekuta | Gang Pudak, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Sanur
Margaret River
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just gets better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We have now stayed at Pondok Ayu four times and are booked to go back in December because we haven't found anywhere better to stay in the Sanur area. The staff are unbelievably friendly, attentive and so eager to help. The accommodation is spotlessly clean and private, the food is excellent and it would be hard to find better value for money. Thank you all so much.

Room Tip: There are 2 rooms on the ground floor and 2 rooms above via stairs. The suite is on the ground floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    41
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
102
137
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We have stayed at several hotels in Bali and we can say that Pondok Ayu was truly one of the best hotel we have stayed at. It can certainly compete with 5 star resorts like Kupu Kupu Barong and Royal Beach Seminyak Hotel and we think it is even better than the renowned 5 star Pita Maha Resort.

The attentive staff of Pondok Ayu (Gede, Kadek and the girls) makes all the difference: from turning on the air-conditioning in the living room in the morning while you are still asleep, preparing breakfast at any chosen time to closing the blinds in the evening and turning on the air-conditioning in the bedroom while you are eating out. Transfer from and to the airport is not a problem at all and is included in the price. Moreover, the price of the villas is very good: great value for money. All in all, Pondok Ayu is a fantastic hotel with impeccable staff. The only regret we have is that we did not stay longer at Pondok Ayu.

We will certainly come back if we are going to Bali again.

Room Tip: Villa no. 5 (I think the biggest villa) is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have had the pleasure of staying at Pondok Ayu three times so far. Our most recent visit was in March 2013.

This is one of those rare, special places that has become, for us, synonymous with Bali. The staff and owners have the gift of hospitality. On arrival, we feel truly welcomed and know that we are in good hands. There is no better way to begin a vacation.

The rooms are comfortable, spacious and clean, as is the bathroom. The location is in a residential neighbourhood at the end of a short lane, so it’s quiet and devoid of other tourists. The gardens, pool, and grounds are immaculately tended.

Breakfast starts at 7:00 around a large round table. At first, being not a particulary outgoing type of person (and especially not in the morning), I didn’t know if I would like the experience of having breakfast with other people I’d never met. Because the atmosphere is so casual, breakfast turned out to be an enjoyable time and we’ve met many nice people sitting around that table. And speaking of breakfast, always freshly made to order by Putu, Made, Wayan, or Kadek and served with a smile.

We enjoy early morning walks around the neighbourhood or down to the beach when it’s quiet. The beach is about a 15 minute walk Although we have to cross the busy bypass road to get to the beach or to the shopping areas of Sanur it has never been a problem for us. We just take our time and wait for a break in the traffic. Of course, if we’re feeling a bit lazy or hot, Gede is always there to cheerfully take us where we want to go.

On our last visit we were fortunate enough to share the time at Pondok Ayu with the owners, Barb and Steve, and their son, Mick. A delightful family, and the warm relationship between them and the staff is evident, obviously this is the base for the feeling that permeates this small hotel.

Room Tip: There are only four rooms -- all are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Staying at this hotel is almost like staying at home. The hotel, which has only 5 rooms, is located at the end of a small lane so it is quiet and private with a relaxing atmosphere. It is not near the town centre which requires 15 mins' walk or more and includes crossing a very busy street. Stay here if you want to be away from the tourist crowds.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

if you stay in Sanur, make this small hotel your home. We arrived to an air conditioned beautiful room,with a marble bathroom,super comfortable bed,nice garden and pool area . The staff bend over backwards to make your stay comfortable and help wherever they can. We really loved it here and the size makes it so personal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Firstly, there is nothing more I can say about the stay at Pondok Ayu than "ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC". It's not very often that I contribute to these sort of sites but this is an exception.

The stay my wife and I had at this establishment was nothing more than the best stay one can have. The staff are so accommodating to your every wish. The rooms are very clean and well priced.

The grounds are beautiful. I totally agree with the naming of this accommodation, "Pondok Ayu" meaning beautiful home. I can highly recommend staying at Pondok Ayu for your stay in Bali.

This comes highly recommended and I have no hesitation in signing my name to this. We are now planning our next trip back to Bali in 2014 and will be staying back here at Pondok Ayu.

Regards

John and Sandy Hacking

Thanks guys great job.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend spending the extra $20.00 us an upgrading to what I call the penthouse suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Dont want to tell how good this was because everyone will want to book it .
And we want to get back this year if we can .
Great Hotel Great service Great Staff .
Nothing was to much Realy relaxing holiday Great breakfast

Room Tip: Not in the busy centre 10 min walk to shops / restaurants 15 min to beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.0 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
0.8 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 68 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
0.9 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#12 of 68 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 stars 1,003 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Gangsa Private Villa by Kayumanis
1.1 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#11 of 68 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 stars 1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pondok Ayu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Ayu

Address: JL. Sekuta | Gang Pudak, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sanur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pondok Ayu is a little piece of heaven located in beautiful Sanur, Bali. We are a small boutique hotel that provides very personalised service by our wonderful friendly staff. Pondok Ayu can be booked on a room by room basis or you can book the entire hotel for a group or family holiday, this can be done direct with us or through a travel agent. We are surrounded by splendid gardens and a wonderful peaceful setting. As we fell in love with Bali many years ago I am sure you will do the same thing with Pondok Ayu and the atmosphere here. Sanur is in a very good position as it is at the start to most of your tours and central to Kuta, Legian, Nusa Dua and Denpasar. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pondok Ayu Hotel Sanur
Pondok Ayu Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pondok Ayu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.