We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Staff and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pondok Ayu

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sanur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pondok Ayu
Save
You added Pondok Ayu to your Saves list
JL. Sekuta | Gang Pudak, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 67 Hotels in Sanur
vancouver
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“5 Star Staff and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

if you stay in Sanur, make this small hotel your home. We arrived to an air conditioned beautiful room,with a marble bathroom,super comfortable bed,nice garden and pool area . The staff bend over backwards to make your stay comfortable and help wherever they can. We really loved it here and the size makes it so personal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    38
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
95
126
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Firstly, there is nothing more I can say about the stay at Pondok Ayu than "ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC". It's not very often that I contribute to these sort of sites but this is an exception.

The stay my wife and I had at this establishment was nothing more than the best stay one can have. The staff are so accommodating to your every wish. The rooms are very clean and well priced.

The grounds are beautiful. I totally agree with the naming of this accommodation, "Pondok Ayu" meaning beautiful home. I can highly recommend staying at Pondok Ayu for your stay in Bali.

This comes highly recommended and I have no hesitation in signing my name to this. We are now planning our next trip back to Bali in 2014 and will be staying back here at Pondok Ayu.

Regards

John and Sandy Hacking

Thanks guys great job.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend spending the extra $20.00 us an upgrading to what I call the penthouse suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Dont want to tell how good this was because everyone will want to book it .
And we want to get back this year if we can .
Great Hotel Great service Great Staff .
Nothing was to much Realy relaxing holiday Great breakfast

Room Tip: Not in the busy centre 10 min walk to shops / restaurants 15 min to beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Went here with family, such a lovely little hotel. Staff are amazing at one point the women were providing free massages by the pool. Breakfast is a treat! And the rooms are spacious and very clean. Had no issues with the hotel at all! There's even security at night! Can't wait to go back!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We were looking for a place to relax, and this was it. The staff treated us like family, the accomodation we could not fault, the cleanliness was wonderful, the food very enjoyable. The included breakfast being served at a large round table brought people together once a day to enjoy new faces from all over the world, The pool area central yet not encroaching on each other's privacy. The drop off service to the shops or beach was invaluable if you don't enjoy the walk and you can get a relaxing massage on site.
It is far enough away from the beach and the traffic to be amazingly quiet, but still within walking distance.

Room Tip: The suite is gorgeous and worth the extra, but you need to book ahead, the other rooms are great too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The fact that my picky pre-teen daughter loved Pondok Ayu pretty much sums it up. My wife and I traveled to Bali with our two children in April. Our home is close enough to a number of nice beaches so we wanted to sightsee, learn about the Balinese culture, and eat plenty of local food instead. Gede the manager and his team of friendly staff made sure that our room was well appointed, clean and comfortable. They also kept the hotel grounds and pool beautiful. The hotel was tucked away in a quaint neighborhood. Once we came throught the front gate we found ourselves in a well manicured courtyard with a beautiful swimming pool in the middle. We also enjoyed retiring to our room in the evenings after long days of sightseeing. Breakfast was fantastic every morning. Gede the manager suggested places we should visit and drove us to places we wanted to go. We learned a lot about Bali, its culture and its people from him. On our last day in Sanur, we spent the morning soaking in the swimming pool, which was just divine in the hot Bali weather. We will definitely stay at Pondok Ayu next time we visit Bali.

Room Tip: Be specific about your preferences and needs when you book the room. They will try their best to acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We have just returned from our second stay at Pondok Ayu and it will not be our last! I have travelled to Bali six times, including four times with my young family, and the reason I love Bali is because of the people. Pondok Ayu is the real Bali, yes it is a little distance from the beach but once you walk through those gates, who cares! Your are in paradise. Bali is its people and the resorts on the beach offer you what you can get anywhere in the world. Pondok gives you Bali.

We got up every morning to a fresh made breakfast, made individually to your liking. Then a quick swim and massage by the pool with the wonderful Adi and Nyoman. Next, either a day of touring with the very informative Gede, or he will drop you down to the beach area where you find yourself lost for a few hours shopping, eating, relaxing, pondering. A quick call and Gede is there to pick you up, or jump in a taxi for $1 and head back to Pondok to spend the afternoon in the pool and chatting with other guests. Every trip I make new friends.

Our most perfect holiday is Pondok Ayu. A credit to the owners and impeccable staff and deserving of their awards, hands down.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pondok Ayu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Ayu

Address: JL. Sekuta | Gang Pudak, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#1 Family Hotel in Sanur
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pondok Ayu is a little piece of heaven located in beautiful Sanur, Bali. We are a small boutique hotel that provides very personalised service by our wonderful friendly staff. Pondok Ayu can be booked on a room by room basis or you can book the entire hotel for a group or family holiday, this can be done direct with us or through a travel agent. We are surrounded by splendid gardens and a wonderful peaceful setting. As we fell in love with Bali many years ago I am sure you will do the same thing with Pondok Ayu and the atmosphere here. Sanur is in a very good position as it is at the start to most of your tours and central to Kuta, Legian, Nusa Dua and Denpasar. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pondok Ayu Hotel Sanur
Pondok Ayu Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pondok Ayu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.