We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Place to Stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pondok Ayu

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sanur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pondok Ayu
Save Saved
You added Pondok Ayu to your Saves list
JL. Sekuta | Gang Pudak, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 65 Hotels in Sanur
Margaret River, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Place to Stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I have just returned from Pondok Ayu after 13 amazing nights with my husband and two children. From the minute we entered the doors at 'Pondok' we knew we were onto a winner!! We were fortunate enough to have met the owners during our stay. Barb and Steve are just the most welcoming and generous people - they really make you feel as though you are part of the 'Pondok' family. The staff are absolutely Gorgeous. The manager Gede and all of the staff really go out of their way to make you feel welcome. It is really hard to believe the value for money you are getting at 'Pondok'. We have truely found our little piece of paradise and can't wait to book again! Thank you so much for the best trip to Bali we have ever had!
Carissa & Mark Westman.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    36
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
91
120
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Finished my recent Bali holiday at Pondok Ayu. It is a grate place to chill. Friendly staff, small number of units and a pleasant spot to relax. I really enjoy the chance to do nothing. Although I was close enough to engage in local activities - I chose not to. Good for all group or singles

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed here with my 2 daughters (3 and 6) for 5 nights. The girls had a ball as they swam all day and played with the other children who were staying. The layout of the rooms allows for both privacy and/or a chat around the pool. Barb and Steve who own the property make you feel like you are part of their family. The staff that they have employed are all beautiful and nothing is too much trouble. It is excellent value for money, when you consider the quality of rooms, service and everything else you gain from staying here.

Thank you for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Great rooms, a lot of space and friendly staff! We also liked the family style dining room that is used for breafirst. The only negative that can be mentioned is that the hotel is a couple of kilometres from the beach. But it is still a walkable distance and there is a driver available all the time. We talked to the driver during one of the trips and I think he made a good point. "The hotel is like a family and everybody can do everything." And the pride for doing a good job is visible in everything.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Thanks Barb,Gede and all the staff at pondok we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and without doubt have found our accommodation now when visiting Sanur. We were lucky to have the suite plenty of space ,clean and beautifully decorated. The breakfasts were delicious and the kids loved being in the pool and we enjoyed mixing with the other guests as well as the staff . Great service great accommodation thank you

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stayed four times at Pondok Ayu. The most recent was at the end of the year 2012. It was for a family reunion. I rented the whole hotel for my family for 4 days and it was great. The staff was very accomodating and I agree with the other reviews it was a great family hotel.
When I arrived, there was a bouquet of orchid flowers waiting for me in my suite. How lovely!
The rooms are big and spotlessly clean. I know for a fact that every body there works hard to please the guests. I know them by names.
I will be back next year.

Room Tip: Suite is the best room. Too bad there is only one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Many great things have been written about pondok ayu and we can vouch for what's written 110%! The rooms are a good sized room which slept family of four quite comfortably! What's great bout this place is that it has only 5 rooms and there's really that personal touch by the folks taking care of the place there. Their warm smiles and their ever willing to make ur stay a lil more special are the highlights. An added bonus are the friends we meet there as well! Nice chats @ the communal dining table and pool with the Australian friends who booked out the remaining four rooms. Really appreciate the tips & insights they share (try out the massage next to Benno's @ Sanur Beach!).
The real topping, is the grand send off by the each of the Pondok family as well as the guest!
It really feels like u r leaving home...Our only regret is not having a photo taken with our Balinese family!

2 thumbs up!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pondok Ayu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Ayu

Address: JL. Sekuta | Gang Pudak, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sanur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pondok Ayu is a little piece of heaven located in beautiful Sanur, Bali. We are a small boutique hotel that provides very personalised service by our wonderful friendly staff. Pondok Ayu can be booked on a room by room basis or you can book the entire hotel for a group or family holiday, this can be done direct with us or through a travel agent. We are surrounded by splendid gardens and a wonderful peaceful setting. As we fell in love with Bali many years ago I am sure you will do the same thing with Pondok Ayu and the atmosphere here. Sanur is in a very good position as it is at the start to most of your tours and central to Kuta, Legian, Nusa Dua and Denpasar. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pondok Ayu Hotel Sanur
Pondok Ayu Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pondok Ayu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.