We have stayed in many different hotels and villas in Bali and this is one I won’t be coming back to. We arrived to a warm welcome from most of the staff however the ‘reservation coordinator’ was quite surly and not very welcoming.
We had booked one night in two suites and requested that they be on the first floor and next to each other. This booking was made two months before arrival in the low season period. When we arrived we were offered a ground floor suite and a 1st floor suite but this didn’t really suit us because we wanted to be close to our children so we were offered two ground floor suites. Although the rooms are large, well equipped and have comfortable beds they are very dark and musty. One room was particularly stinky – room no 225. I mentioned this to reception, and some staff came with a ladder and removed a dead mouse (rat?) from a recess in the ceiling. Maybe this is a regular occurrence as staff seemed to know exactly where to look. The smell in the room remained. I talked to reception again about the smell. To their credit, they offered me 10% discount on the smelly room, and we had free late checkout on the other room. I don’t think this really compensated us for the quality of rooms we were given.
The rooms are an unusual design with an enormous spa bath on the enclosed verandah and a small pond and plants outside. This is the only place in Bali I have seen with a garden of dying plants. The sides of the spa were home to different types of mould including a pretty pink variety.
Breakfast at the hotel was good with nice coffee. The pool area was pleasant and well kept.
Location of the hotel is great and we enjoyed a meal at Paon restaurant across the road. Mezzanine restaurant next door to the hotel looked lovely but expensive. Our online booking included two ‘welcome massages’. This wasn’t offered when we arrived as you’d expect, it was only discussed when I requested it the following day.
The suites have a large sliding door as the only exit. In the morning it took me several minutes to open the door as the lock on the inside is fiddly and not so good with such a heavy door. There needs to be a separate night time lock such as a hook and latch system because the present arrangement is quite dangerous if you need to get out in a hurry.
In the morning of our departure, they offered a ‘special price’ of 150,000Rps for a car to the airport – the regular price being 290,000Rps. We agreed and booked the car. Later, when I checked the bill, I saw the transport had been charged at 290,000Rps. Dishonest. I pointed it out, and they changed the bill but this certainly left a sour taste.
Maybe the villas are good but don’t book a ground floor suite here particularly suite 225.
(Have stayed at Royal Kamuela in Ubud and that was fantastic, nothing like Kamuela Sanur.)
Avoid suite 225.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
Thank you for your review regarding your stay , first I want pass my apologize regarding inconvenience situation during your stay with us, actually our commitment to always give best service to our guest, but some time guest expectation not meet with it.
I will tried to clarify regarding your situation, during C/I our staff handle your check in as per procedure and true your room block not side by side because we try to accommodate your request to upper level suite, as we mentioned on our booking confirmation, we can't guarantee of room number or location until the day of check in because our limited inventory of room, but finally you decide to take both room on lower floor. After it you asking to late check out till 9 pm because you see it compliment on our website, as we sure we not mentioned it on our website we ask you to show us where you see it on part of our website, then you refused it and suddenly go to the room with up set. After it my team contact me directly to discuss this situation, then I decide to give the free late C/O till 9 pm even though the normal procedure must be charge 100% room charge ( 50% room charge only till 6pm ) , in the next day before check out you asking again room discount because you not happy with the room, I am more then happy to give another 10% discount to make your stay pleasant, but think this not enough because you still give us poor rating here.
I have discussed your review with our managers and have received a solid commitment towards improvement.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.