We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECTO !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kamuela Sanur

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kamuela Sanur to your Saves list
Kamuela Sanur
5.0 of 5 Villa   |   Jl Cemara No 33, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia (Formerly Aston Legend Sanur )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 97 Specialty Lodging in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“PERFECTO !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We booked this hotel from the TA reviews and crossed our fingers. We arranged the hotel to pick us up from our Seminyak hotel, we were collected by a uniformed driver in a comfortable clean van. On arriving at the Kamuela, we were greeted with big smiles from the front desk staff and was shown to our room promptly. Our initial reaction was WOW, we had a downstairs suite, so on entering the suite you first walked through an under main roof outdoor section with a huge Jacuzzi and outdoor furniture. Through to the main room via a huge glass sliding door was generously sized room with a lounge area, plenty of room between bed and living area. The bathroom was ginormous ! double basin, separate shower, huge bathtub, with all the bathroom amenities supplied, thick, white, fluffy towels every day.
The wardrobes were located at the back of the main room down a small corridor.
We received a turn down service every night with a bacci chocolate on our side table with a little typed story left on our bed, along with the turn down service, the room boy freshens up your bathroom, fresh towels if needed= FANTASTIC
The pool is plenty big enough with a small toddler section, there were about 6 or 7 day beds, but because the Villas have there own pool, the main pool wasnt busy. There was poolside service for food and drinks, along with room service if required.
There was a very good selection for breakfast with plenty to choose from.
The hotel offers a free shuttle van to anywhere in Sanur, so we did use this a few times, which saved us having to get a taxi or bemo.
The Spa area is set out lovely, and is very clean and professional.
The grounds are very clean, well maintained and manicured.
Most of all the staff are all very happy, helpful and the most friendliest we have come across in 17 years of travelling to Bali.
We have found our favourite place in Bali..... The Kamuela

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamuela S, General Manager at Kamuela Sanur, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Hi Chichy,

Thank you very much for your time to share your best experience during your stay at Kamuela Sanur and finally made Kamuela Sanur as your favorite stay after your 17 years experience come to Bali, hopefully in the near future we can serve you again.

Cheersss

Rihendra Putra
sanurvm@kamuelavillas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    115
    23
    7
    1
See reviews for
99
265
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

we stayed at Kamuela for 10 days and found the 3 bedroom villa perfect for my family , we arrived early in the morning about 10am too early for check in at 2pm so dropped our bags off and went to get supplies as it was hot thought we would return and swim in the main pool . when we arrived back 1 hr later was informed our villa was made ready and bags where in rooms . this was the beginning of what was exceptional service we experienced during our stay . the restaurant food is very good the spa that is in the grounds is the best I have had in bali and as I suffer with bad back and get massage everyday while on holidays did not have to leave to find cheap ones as there price is worth every cent / in our room at villa we found airconditioning was a bit small for the size of the rooms as the other two rooms had ceiling fans which helped so ask reception if they had small fan for our room for a bit of air circulation and was told they didn't but made a phone call and one was being delivered from ubud there sister hotel and within the hour I had a fan [wow] this is the type of service you will encounter at this property and as for the girls at the bar restaurant and kitchen are so nice and friendly they are now family friends we will be back for sure miss it already

Room Tip: villa for family suite rooms for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamuela S, General Manager at Kamuela Sanur, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Hi Chizz2013,

Thank you very much for your time to write this fantastic review, very happy to know you enjoyed your 3 bed room pool villa and our staff serve you with well, our commitment to always give memorable experience to all our guest, will be happy to serve you again with family in the near future.

Cheerss

Rihendra Putra
sanurvm@kamuelavillas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Our stay at Kamuela was a dream; our suite was clean and well set out for a romantic stay. The Jacuzzi set outside/inside just added a new dimension.

If your looking for a place that offers luxury at an affordable price, this is the place to book. Oh and the breakfast spread was amazing

Room Tip: Im not sure what the other rooms were like, I was very happy with the room I had booked and didnt no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamuela S, General Manager at Kamuela Sanur, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Hi Rd,

Thank you for your fantastic review regarding your experience stay at our suite room, next stay you must try our one bed room pool villa which more spacious and complete with private pool, dining area, kitchen area , outside shower. Will be glad to serve you again in the near future.

Cheerss

Rihendra Putra
sanurvm@kamuelavillas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Hill, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We booked for five nights in a Pool Villa on recommendations we saw with trip adviser and friends who had stayed before.. The location is very good in Sanur and if you walk through the Puri Santriam next door you are right on the beach. We were booked into Villa 7 and were disappointed with the size of the Villa compared to the others. You felt very claustrophobic and when you walked out the Villa door you were right in the middle of the restaurant area. We complained to the reception desk and the next morning meet with the manager who was able to move us to Villa 3 on the second morning. The outdoor area was much larger and felt more private. The staff are very friendly and always smiling. Breakfast was always amazing and on time served in the Villa. Afternoon tea was served if you were in your Villa between 3 - 5pm each day. Free fifteen minute foot spa was offered on booking in and these little touches made you feel pampered. Although hotel not right on the beach its easy access and they have their own chairs and umbrellas set out for you. Would be recommending this Hotel.

Room Tip: When booking ask not to be put in Villa 7 if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamuela S, General Manager at Kamuela Sanur, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Hi Jan B,

Thank you for your kind review and apologize for problem during your arrival, happy to know in general you enjoyed your stay and our staff serve you with well, will be glad to welcoming you again in the next future.

cheeers

Rihendra Putra
sanurvm@kamuelavillas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed here in a suite room upstairs #232. Room was amazing, huge, lots of natural light. Can't recommend this hotel highly enough. All the staff I encountered were so friendly and helpful. Checkin was quick & easy. Spent many hours lazing by the pool, so serene. Had a 2 hour massage by the wonderful Sari who I've heard great reviews about. I floated out of there. Anyone staying in Sanur should definitely make a booking. I got a free 1/2 hour foot massage then paid just under $14 for 1hr balinese massage plus half hour face massage. I had a few meals at the restaurant, Caramel. Chicken burger & chips (1st meal after bali belly) & was just what I needed. The marguerita pizza was divine but best of all was the salmon with saffron sauce. Loved my stay at the Kamuela, checked out a 3 bedroom villa, will be booking that one for next visit with the family.

Room Tip: Upstairs suite 232 lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamuela S, General Manager at Kamuela Sanur, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Hi JoPress,

Thank you for your lovely review and sharing your experience during stay at Kamuela, very happy to read our staff serve you with nice, will pass your compliment to Sari , see you soon the next future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We really enjoyed our time at Kamuela. We organised an airport pickup which was well worth it as the journey to Sanur was in air-conditioned comfort, with ice-cold reflesher towels and cold water. The staff were very welcoming and friendly for our whole stay. Our suite on the ground floor faced the road but you would never have know. Open plan room was huge with large spa in the entrance! Plenty of room to spread out and relax, very comfortable bed, well appointed bathroom with double vanity, huge shower and a bath. Large cupboard with safe inside.

Breakfast were fantastic - lots of selection on the menu and great fresh juices. Restaurant was very good and lovely setting by the pool, really enjoyed dinner the first night and couple more leisurely lunches from the all day menu later in our stay. Pool was on the small side and the water tended to be very warm in the afternoons, but was still very nice.

Location on the main street of Sanur was fanastic - lots of great restaurants very close, beach was a 2 minute walk through Puri Santrian, plenty of souvenir/clothes/jewellery stores nearby and great convenience store across the road that was also an authorised money changer that gave a great rate!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamuela S, General Manager at Kamuela Sanur, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Hi Leigh,

Thank you for your lovely review and glad to read you enjoyed your stay and our staff serve you with well, will be glad to serve you again in the soonest time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

For a small hotel, Kamuela sure knows how to give 5 star treatment!! We stayed 2 nights at the end of our travels in Bali and it was indeed a lovely way to finish off our relaxing holiday. We stayed in a ground floor suite as a pool villa was not available (definitely would stay in one of those villas if we had the choice!!). Having said that, we were not disappointed with our room at all, quite the opposite! When I walked in all I could say was "WOW"!! Very large, open plan room with beautiful ensuite and lounge area. Even though the room faced the main street, once inside we were not aware of any noise from outside. Be warned....the bed was SO comfortable, the aircon worked extremely and the room is quite dark in the mornings so VERY easy to sleep late!!
It's all the extra touches that make this place stand out.....free chocolate every evening when bed turned down, free juice daily as well as free afternoon tea, free 15 min foot massage to name a few. Such delightful, friendly, polite yet professional staff. The breakfast was delicious and plenty of choice for various tastes.
Although this hotel is not on the beach, do not let this turn you off. It is less than a 5 min walk through the grounds of the Hotel next door and you can use their beach chairs once there.
Definitely recommend staying at Kamuela Sanur!!!

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra, definitely a pool villa!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamuela S, General Manager at Kamuela Sanur, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Hi Kezart,

Thank you very much for share your holiday experience here for all readers at Tripadvior. We are very happy to read how you highly recommend our resort, for sure for next stay you must try our one bed room pool villa which more private and romantic, will be happy to serve you in the soonest time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kamuela Sanur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamuela Sanur

Address: Jl Cemara No 33, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia (Formerly Aston Legend Sanur )
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 97 Specialty Lodging in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Kamuela Sanur 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamuela Sanur, formerly Aston Legend Sanur, is nestled in peacefully quiet Sanur, featuring six private villas with one, two and three bedrooms set in immaculate walled gardens. Each villas has its own private pool, semi outdoor lounge area with a gourmet kitchen, dining area and air-conditioned bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Kamuela Sanur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamuela Sanur Hotel Sanur
Aston Sanur
Sanur Aston
Kamuela Sanur Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kamuela Sanur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.