We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time around” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kamuela Sanur

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kamuela Sanur to your Saves list
Kamuela Sanur
5.0 of 5 Villa   |   Jl Cemara No 33, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia (Formerly Aston Legend Sanur )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 97 Specialty Lodging in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Second time around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We were so delighted with our trip to Bali and Kamuela last year that we booked again for 2012 as soon as we were able to and planned to bring my parents as an anniversary celebration. Apart from the issues with the 'Porters' at the airport (watch out for those pushy guys, they are not airport employees despite the uniform, and will grab your bag and then expect to be paid!) we arrived smoothly and were welcomed back to Kamuela. It was great to be back and our 2-bedroom villa was a nice way to relax after a long day travelling. All the same things we loved were there waiting, but I have to say that the things you dismiss on your first visit seem a little more obvious the second time around.

The staff are still wonderful and welcoming (thanks to Weti and the team at Caramel restaurant for looking after us so well), the villa private and charming and the location quiet and tucked away. But the place is a year older and it looked it. Suddenly I was noticing the little things that weren't so convenient or done to such a high standard. We had breakfast delivered to the villa each morning and it was cold 6 out of 8 days (the exceptions were the days we all ordered the same thing and the dishes must have been cooked together). We were missing milk for coffee (despite making a note) or the coffee was instant instead of brewed and the juice was clearly from a packet some days. Not a hugely big deal, but it made the meal difficult to enjoy.

The villa has beautiful open air bathrooms and it happened that ours backed onto an open field. The downside was that the bar which had a band playing until 1-2am most mornings had a wide open space to pump music into our bedroom - my parents didn't hear a thing from their room (we also got to hear the local football game, but my husband quite enjoyed that). That is not Kamuela's fault, but it was hard to sleep between that and the blind that didn't close and funnelled sun into my eyes at an early hour. We were also very close to the hotel on the other side where they seem to have their 'handyman' shed located and so we were treated to the sounds of banging and clanging of equipment and workmen coming and going while we were having quiet time by the pool. Again, not Kamuela's fault, but I would not want to be in a villa on this side again.

There was no overhead light in our room and the incredibly dim bedside lights hard to turn on and off - the switch kept falling off. I see in the brochure that Kamueal Nusa Dua has iPhone / iPod docking stations, but we struggled to find a spare plug to put the adaptor in to charge our various devices (2 iPhones, 3 iPads, 2 Kindles, 2 laptops and 2 android phones plus cameras between 4 people, about normal, right?). Despite this, we only had 2-3 devices connected to the WiFi at any one time, but the service was absolutely maddening - it would fade out every 30 seconds at some stages. I know it's free, but when you have access to it, you want it to work. Housekeeping and turndown service were intermittent but adequate and we did have quite some trouble with mosquitoes in our room, despite the spraying, presumably through the open bathroom. The hairdryer in my mother's room gave up the ghost on the second day and she returned it to reception to be repaired / replaced, but we never saw another one - luckily she brought her own and we used our own power converter. We were queried about the 'missing' hairdryer on the way out and when told what had happened, they commented "we wondered why this was sitting at reception all week".

We ate out a few times, but this strip of Sanur is not on the 'main drag' and the restaurants are a bit varied in quality. Caramel restaurant rescued us in this regard and we ate there more than half the time and had some lovely meals. We did order a couple of local dishes that let us down in terms of flavour and spice / heat and I assume they are toned down for western palates. If you want good shopping and a nice beach, you will need to go a bit further afield that this part of Sanur.

We will come back to Bali and we may consider Kamuela Sanur for short stay and perhaps mix it up with one of the other properties for variety and a new location. We will also be a bit more picky about which villa we book, especially for the price we paid. I suggest Kamuela start to get serious about upgrading facilities and rennovate to keep things looking a bit fresher and meet the needs of their target travel audience, who all come armed with multiple devices, even on holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main pool / restaurant but that does not back onto the field or hotel n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    115
    23
    7
    1
See reviews for
99
266
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I am stay last week with my family at two bed room villa, all fantastic...my children very enjoyed private pool inside the villa...breakfast serve every morning in the villa, taste yummy with huge portion..we tried balinesse massage on their spa, very nice and relax. Will be back next year and already booked for our second stay..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

Just spent 6 nights at the Kamuela in a suite. The room was sensational, huge, with an outdoor spa. Breakfast was great with plenty of choice. The pool area did have limited seating, that would be the only downside. Great location, excellent value for money. We paid $95 per night through Expedia. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beverley
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We booked into the suites for 2 nights as our first stop and loved it. It's a good spot and the accommodation is very pleasant. We would stay there again but are a little reluctant to spend so much money as you can also get very nice places for half the price. Would recommend it though if you are not on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed here in July 2012 with our 2 young sons. The staff were most welcoming & extremely hospitable. we felt at home as soon as we arrived. Our boys would wander around & chat to everyone. Its a v child friendly place to be. Admittedly Sanur is not uber chic, but it is quiet & the restaurants are all rather good esp the Sanur Puri resort mezzanine restaurant & the tropical restaurant. We used the hotel car & driver Made everyday & he was truly wonderful - my children still ask after him. We also used the baby sitting service & ordered room service quite a bit. Everything was always taken care of without any trouble at all. When we left Wati gave us a little Ganesha as a goodbye gift to keep us safe on our travels! The entire team at Kamuela Sanur is a true credit to the Management, esp Wati, Weti, Ayu, Agung, Tabung & Made.Thank you everyone for a fabulous birthday retreat! We will remember you all, always!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed at Kamuela villas in a 2 bedroom villa with our 2 teenage daughters. There is nothing I could say against Kamuela. The facilities are great, staff very professional and the surroundings beautiful. The restaurant serves very good quality food. We were in Bali for a wedding so we did not spend as much time there as we would have liked. We have now booked to go back in October for 10 days this time in the suites. Can't wait!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My wife and I had the best holiday ever by staying at the Kamuela Villa Sanur
they looked after us, the staff for frendly, to food was great the price was great
there chef Desak would be one of the best in Bali, I would recomend any one
to try the cooking class, great Villas with private pool, the bed was soft the area
is quite no one pushing you to buy things, the shuutle bus took you to the shopping cent
and would come back and pick you up

My wife and my family will certanly be back

Kevin & Lotje

Room Tip: Look at the Villas they have plenty of room and all have there own pool the private sweets are one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kamuela Sanur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamuela Sanur

Address: Jl Cemara No 33, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia (Formerly Aston Legend Sanur )
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 97 Specialty Lodging in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Kamuela Sanur 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamuela Sanur, formerly Aston Legend Sanur, is nestled in peacefully quiet Sanur, featuring six private villas with one, two and three bedrooms set in immaculate walled gardens. Each villas has its own private pool, semi outdoor lounge area with a gourmet kitchen, dining area and air-conditioned bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Kamuela Sanur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamuela Sanur Hotel Sanur
Aston Sanur
Sanur Aston
Kamuela Sanur Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kamuela Sanur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.