We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central but Not Beach location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sukun Bali Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sukun Bali Cottages to your Saves list
Sukun Bali Cottages
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Danau Poso 102 | Bali, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 68 Hotels in Sanur
Tropical Far North Queensland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Central but Not Beach location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Better write my last report before returning back to paradise. I stayed at Sukun Bali Cottage in January for 12 nights. It is a beautiful complex in a good location - well at least for my purposes. Yes, this hotel has not direct beachfront location, but the beach is only a short walk away. Furthermore, the place offers a beautiful pool area in a tranquil garden setting with lounges and towels. During my stay very few people frequented this beautiful area.

There are plenty of restaurant options around this Southern end of Sanur area.

I had cottage number 102 which is in a quiet corner and offers a comfortable little patio area overlooking the gardens and neighbouring cottages. Inside it was spacious with two large outside bathrooms, bar-size fridge, good split air conditioner, TV with plenty of channels; including Satellite but NO Fox Sport (I missed out on my NHL fix). Forget reading at night as the lights are not up to it. There was no desk or room safe in this unit. The bed is very comfortable and a good king-size.

The cottages are aging but maintained reasonably well. Being in this game, I know there is always room for improvement and this place is no different. Cleanliness was so-so and some towels have seen better days; I guess fussy guests could register issues in this department.

The breakfast was included in my package. You select from a static menu with very limited choices. A more alternating selection would do wonders to guest satisfaction and challenge the kitchen staff more to come up with new culinary creations. The coffee is real Bali kopi with the mandatory sediment at the bottom of the cup and yes, I could get two cups on most mornings.

All staff members were cheerful and very helpful. In particular, the ‘boss’ Mr Kadek, Leila in the kitchen and the people at reception, Mr Tri, Gede and Kadek, did way more than is normally expected. The laundry service is outstanding. Thank you for looking after me. I’ll be back soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    41
    23
    9
    2
See reviews for
16
42
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Kennedy, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed 5 nights in this hotel. For around 40 AUD a night you sleep in a spacious bedroom with a big bathroom and with breakfast. That alone is already unbelievable good value. The staff are friendly and helpful, the small swimming pool and gardens are really nice. Being in the hotel in daytime is very peaceful and you can really relax. Walk out the hotel and go to the right and within 5 min you are on the beach. Loads of shops and restaurants around. The massage salon across the road (Glo) is a very good one. Of course the hotel is not perfect. There are some little things like some ants on the wall, a dripping tab and some worn out towels. Also the room can do with a little upgrade but who cares you get what you pay for. We also tried dinner in the hotel one night. The food wasn't amazing but good enough and very cheap. The fried noodles were really nice. In this hotel you will get a lot for not much money, absolutely recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms to the left are further away from the main road so less nightlife noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I spend a 3 nights here as part of the Dive Package.
The place is nice and very clean.
It is located behind the bars that face the main road, so it will be a bit loud on weekends evening till late. I guess I was too tired to bother.

The rooms are spacious, but the lights by the bed did not work and water heater never gave hot water. The A/C was a bit of a challenge to make it work, but eventually they showed me what to do.

I think if they would just keep up with the maintenance of electrical amenities the place would be good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

The hotel is a bunch of small two-room houses distributed in a wonderful garden around a beautiful pool. It's a really nice place with friendly staff, and the rooms seemed pretty good at first.
BUT:
First of all COCKROACHES. I had my first encounter with cockroaches at this hotel. Staying here for 5 nights i killed 8 cockroaches and disposed of two more that was dead when found. After killing the first three I asked the staff to move me to a new room. It was no problem, and they helped me move my stuff and also sprayed some bug-repellent in the bathroom to be safe. But the next night the cockroaches were back. After complaining politely the second time, they left a bugspray in my room. I used it a few times, and especially at the "window" which I suspect is where they got in. It seemed to work, but I only stayed for one more night, so I am not sure,

Second the water pressure is insanely weak. You have to wait 5 minutes for hot water, and then water comes out so weakly it is hard to get clean. Just holding the shower at head-hight seemed to reduce the pressure to a half, and turning on the massage function on the shower head, just meant the water was running down the side.

Third my second room didn't have any toilet paper or mount for such. I am very happy I needed to wipe my nose before needing to sit on the toilet, so I discovered that in time. I naturally got a roll when I asked for it, but constantly had to take care that it didn't get wet since it lacked a mount.

The place is indeed cheap and it can make me overlook the general poor maintenance of the rooms and a small uninspiring included breakfast. But it kind of ruin the relaxedness and joy of a holiday to have a fear of finding cockroaches every time you walked to a bathroom.

Room Tip: Get a bugspray and spray the bathroom – especially the window – with a lot to avoid Cockroaches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

If you want a value for money place to relax, then this is the place to stay in Sanur.
The rooms are clean and spacious - some redecoration needed. Good swimming pool. Nice gardens. The only downside, the inclusive breakfasts are not good.

Room Tip: Go for the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We spent a few days in Sukun Cottage, the hotel is very nice with balinese style bungalows around a nice pool. The garden is full of amazing flowers, nice place to relax. The breakfast is very delicious, and the beach is around 5 min walks. Would recommend this place for families and couples too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Go past the reception area and you will see a hidden paradise in Sanur Bali. I really like the concept and the design - it makes you feel immersed in your Balinese vacation. The best thing about the design is that you have your own "mini villa" which I think is quite huge for the price you are paying. However I would like to point out that the rooms are not well kept. It needs renovation - for example, the bathroom has molds on the window screen, rust on the corners of the sink, and the walls need some painting since the paint is chipping off. The comforter also has stains. We just stayed for 2 nights and we never stayed in the hotel during the day, so it's fine. If you plan to laze around the hotel all day it might not be a very good experience. For the price and design I would say it is still worth it.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.8 mi away
Sanur Seaview Hotel
Sanur Seaview Hotel
#49 of 68 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
1.0 mi away
Prima Cottage
Prima Cottage
#46 of 68 in Sanur
3.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ari Putri Hotel
Ari Putri Hotel
#25 of 68 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Swastika Bungalows
Swastika Bungalows
#24 of 68 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
0.7 mi away
Puri Mesari
Puri Mesari
#17 of 68 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
1.4 mi away
Puri Mango Hotel
Puri Mango Hotel
#39 of 68 in Sanur
3.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sukun Bali Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sukun Bali Cottages

Address: Jalan Danau Poso 102 | Bali, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 68 Hotels in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sukun Bali Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sukun Bali Cottages strategically located in Sanur, one of the most well known as tourist destination in Bali. 5 minutes walk to the famous beach of Sanur Beach, short distances walk to the international cuisines restaurants, 15 minutes from and to the airport and an easy access from and to other tourist destinations such as Ubud, Sukawati, Nusa Dua and Kuta.The 22 rooms divided into 12 cottages are lies on 5,000 m2 of land with a lush tropical garden surrounding the cottages. Nicely designed swimming pool on centre of the cottages, Wi-fi connection thru surrounding area and many more facilities to satisfy our ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sukun Bali Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sukun Bali Cottages Hotel Sanur
Sukun Bali Cottages Sanur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sukun Bali Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.