We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Segara Village Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Segara Village Hotel to your Saves list
Segara Village Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Segara Ayu | Denpasar, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80030 , Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 66 Hotels in Sanur
adelaide
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Location location location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed at Segara for 4 nights as part of a tour of Bali, we have stayed at the hotel once before and booked it as security as we knew it would be fantastic and it was. We had a great family room and indulged in the fantastic facilities and cuisine. The location right on the beach is fantastic and opens up the opportunity to walk to the many beachside restaurants and shops. Tootsies was our favourite beachside restaurant and is only 20metres from the hotel, fantastic value with meals from $3 and super cheap drinks. Tootsies also have a fixed price shop next door with all the usual goodies ($2.50 for sunglasses and $3 wallets and bags) even a hardened haggler like myself could not beat these prices at the many other shops. Massages are available on the beach for $6 per hour but you can get the same prices at the little spa's with the comfort of air com and clean towels. Tootsies have a little spa 2 mins walk from the hotel where I had a 30min back and shoulder massage every day for $3, pure heaven. Having travelled extensively around Bali I strongly recomend Segara Village, Sanur is so much more relaxed and upmarket than kuta, Legian, Seminyak etc and the locals are far more relaxed and freindly in their sales approach ( mainly ladies and not gangs of edgy young men like in Kuta). Also the hotel tour desk are very helpful and are happy to negotiate prices with tour operators on your behalf, on this visit we hired a private car through the hotel for $50 for the full day, this included the driver and an English speaking guide. We went to the tree top adventure in the botanic gardens which is in the mountains in the north of the Island, this is an absoulute must do for families with kids over 10 and really cheap (around $15),the kids love it but terrifying for fat dads like me with a fear of heights. We then drove through the villages and rice terraces and stopped at Ubud. This is significantly cheaper than any of the tours and has the convenience of only going where you want.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    251
    80
    33
    19
See reviews for
161
324
18
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ryde, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

The Segara Village Hotel is set in lovely grounds right next to a beach with hotel sunbeds, and more than one swimming pool to choose from. The staff are friendly and we enjoyed the breakfasts. However, our room was disappointingly small and the bathroom was not good. The shower curtain on the bath was very tired looking and the bath didn't drain out properly. Although this was dealt with promptly, the problem reoccurred twice, leaving me to suspect that it was ongoing. The large open air Reception area was very attractive but could have done with some fans to move the air around a bit at the check in desk when it was overwhelmingly humid.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We've just enjoyed a another family holiday in Bali! The staff at the Segara are extremely helpful. We could not actually stay at the hotel this time as the adjoining rooms were being renovated however we did stay at a hotel recommended by the staff at Segara and we spent most of our time at the Segara as we had family staying there and have stayed there before. The breakfast staff were great and loved the kids as much as the kids loved them. The bar/pool service staff were more than happy for us to keep a tab going and settle at the end of the day which made life very easy. I would highly recommend making yourself know to Mate who looks after guest relations as he takes a personal interest in making your stay the best possible experience, for example their was a few Mosquitos around one night so he bought us some repellent, he always chatted and kept an eye on the kids and generally couldn't do enough for us.
Love this place and can't wait to get back next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Just returned from our first stay at Segara Village and loved it. The gardens are beautiful, well looked after and very lush. We booked a cottage room and upon arrival the room we were given was very small, it was clean and well presented by very small, but a word with the guest relations manager had us moved to a larger room within 30mins! very impressed.

The staff were lovely, nothing was too much trouble and we were greeted with a smile and hello's from everyone we met.

With 3 swimming pools there was plenty of opportunity to cool down and loads of sunbeds. I particularly liked the natural pool near reception, it was so lovely to swim in.

The complimentary afternoon tea was very welcome and a lovely idea. All in all I couldn't fault the hotel and look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from Segara Village Hotel
We always stay at the Segara Club
we love how Segara Club now have exclusive use of the Beach Bar for breakfast daily
We have stayed many time but always with family, this is our 1st time alone and must say the service and food was second to none
absolutely PERFECT in every way
We were spoilt and treated like VIP's and this just doesn't happen these days
We had a 5 course Valentine dinner that was just amazing and thanks to the great Chef and wait staff particularly Made who waited on us the whole night.
Guest relations were there at every breakfast and cocktail hour to ensure our stay was enjoyable and to make sure that we needed for nothing as they are so helpful, concerning and caring, thanks to Nyoman, Dayu, Suryarti and Made.
Also a big thanks to all bar staff who continued to look after us everyday
we even had the pleasure of meeting a lot of the management team who took time out to come and meet the guests just amazing that they find the time
Sorry if I have missed anyone
Really looking forward to coming back in June with 12 of the family and we will have to see if we can get back before the end of the year!!! YES ITS THAT GOOD

Room Tip: Make sure you book Segara Club Village much quieter and private plus free breakfast and cocktails e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lock
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

My husband and I have just stayed at the Segara, it is a very beautiful place to stay. We were impressed with the staff, the fantastic gardens and the swimming pools. Our rooms weren't large but we didn't spend much time in them anyway. We would love to stay here again .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

The grounds of this hotel, as mentioned in many reviews, are really lovely. However one does not sleep in the grounds and the average rooms are very disappointing. They are small, with poor fixtures. Another thing to take into consideration is that the resort appears to target an older clientele and may not be to the taste of those seeking a more energised Bali experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Segara Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Segara Village Hotel

Address: Jalan Segara Ayu | Denpasar, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80030 , Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#7 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#7 Family Hotel in Sanur
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Segara Village Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well established beachfront resort in northern Sanur will shortly complete a major renovation to re-position to four star plus rating. Five distinct village room areas, each with its own layout and character are set amidst 6 hectares of lush tropical gardens. Two swimming pools and an array of recreational activities provide ample opportunity for pure relaxation or an activity - oriented holiday for adults and children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, AsiaRooms, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Segara Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Segara Village Resort
Segara Village Sanur
Segara Village Hotel Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Segara Village Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.