We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“With some much on offer in Bali, Segara village needs to up its game” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Segara Village Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Segara Village Hotel to your Saves list
Segara Village Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Segara Ayu | Denpasar, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80030 , Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 67 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“With some much on offer in Bali, Segara village needs to up its game”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

The grounds of this hotel, as mentioned in many reviews, are really lovely. However one does not sleep in the grounds and the average rooms are very disappointing. They are small, with poor fixtures. Another thing to take into consideration is that the resort appears to target an older clientele and may not be to the taste of those seeking a more energised Bali experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    264
    86
    38
    20
See reviews for
178
357
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shepparton, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

A beautiful start to our Bali holiday for our family of 5 with 3 teenagers. Segara village staff and facilities are awesome, excellent value. Loved every minute of our stay for 5 nights, we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again excellent poolside accomodation with plenty to do for everyone.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

The minute we arrived at the hotel we all felt relaxed and as if we had landed in paradise.
The staff were all very helpful and attentive with nothing being too much trouble.
The rooms are extremely spacious with a really large bathroom. The gardens and grounds are beautiful and lead down to the beach. The food is good with themed evenings: Balinese and Salsa to name just a couple. We would certainly go back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: There is no need for any tips as all the rooms are very good, while being quite different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

The hotel's location is excellent = next to the Ocean. However Sanur's beach, in my opinion, is not the best in Bali. The sand was dirty and the water as well...it was not as idilic as we imagined.
The common areas are amazing! It is an outdoor hotel with rooms, huts and apartments. The front desk and the concierge are very cozy huts.
We got a nice room, not luxurious, but it was ok and clean. There was a honewmoon-cake waiting for us in the room and also some fruit, chocolate and mineral water.
The breakfast was very improvable, the food was not bad but... you could have breakfast watching the Ocean!
We had dinner twice. The tables were on the beach sand. The food was great with life music, one night with a Balinese show and the other one a lady playing a piano and another lady singing. The only con about dinner I would say the price, it was super expensive for being Bali!
There was free wifi in all the hotel's areas, some of them the signal was very poor.
The pool area was cool and clean.
The beer's rate was sooo expensive, special comparing with the supermarket next to the hotel whose rate was more than the half hotel's price!
They arranged a very good taxi driver for us.
We booked a tour to the north of the island through the concierge, who was our personal tour guide. My husband planned the tour with him, informing what we wanted to visit. It was ok, but the before returning to the hotel, we stopped to a silver shop and a wood craft shop which rates were higher than in Europe!!!!
The hotel's workers were very kind.
We loved the lush garden where you could fine typical Indonesian trees full of beautiful flowers. And at night it was full of small frogs!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We have just got back from Bali and we had the most wonderful and best vacation ever... The Hotel Staff at Segara Village were par excellence!! Nothing and i mean nothing was an issue for them. The rooms were kept clean and the food was the best we ever had. Congratulations to Kharisma the Gen. Manager and all the staff. I will be going back.
The Gardens and the infinity pool was pure heaven.
Mr& Mrs Jiwany

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Although it rained for most of our time here, it was a well equipped hotel based on the beach so there was lots to do. Within walking distance of shops and restaurants the hotel was in a perfect place to explore the rest of Bali, either by bike, car or boat. The staff were very polite and helpful.

The cottages were always clean and whatever you asked for they sorted it for you. Three pools to use and clean towels when you wanted them.

Do try the street food, it was some of the tastiest food I have eaten anywhere and for 2 plates it cost £1.50 !! excellent.

The Balinese people are a happy bunch, always smiling and willing to help. A lovely Island and would recommend a trip here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Have just got back from a 2 week holiday around Bali with 2 teenagers (16yrs). We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, and loved this place. It ticked all the boxes for us, comfortable, Balinese feel, a variety of international guests (not 100% Aussies like some hotels), walking distance to shops, cafes, restaurants, beachfront, water activities right on hand and nice infinity pool facing the beach. Kids could wander around by themselves inside and out of the hotel to shop or swim or wonder down for a juice or smoothie. Everything is very close, including Luhtus coffee shop and Kayu Manis (a bit of a walk, not far). Whilst the hotel does not have its own beach activities, they are available right outside the hotel on the beach and the kids had a ball on surf ski's out on the surf break. The staff at this hotel are exceptional, nothing is too much trouble and we were impressed by the level of service. There is a lovely boardwalk along the length of Sanur beach, right at the front of the hotel. We often wandered down to shop and eat or bike ride. The breakfast is very good too.....oh and the hotel is set in beautiful Balinese gardens.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 cottages opposite the tennis court. Not far from pools , breakfast and the front of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Segara Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Segara Village Hotel

Address: Jalan Segara Ayu | Denpasar, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80030 , Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
#6 Family Hotel in Sanur
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#8 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Segara Village Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well established beachfront resort in northern Sanur will shortly complete a major renovation to re-position to four star plus rating. Five distinct village room areas, each with its own layout and character are set amidst 6 hectares of lush tropical gardens. Two swimming pools and an array of recreational activities provide ample opportunity for pure relaxation or an activity - oriented holiday for adults and children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Segara Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Segara Village Resort
Segara Village Sanur
Segara Village Hotel Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Segara Village Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.