We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another day in paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Segara Village Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Segara Village Hotel to your Saves list
Segara Village Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Segara Ayu | Denpasar, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80030 , Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 66 Hotels in Sanur
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Another day in paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel makes available all the necessary elements for a wonderful vacation. The hotel itself has excellent furnished rooms, we stayed in a bungalow, the weather was lovely, the staff were always helpful to the point of meeting our every need, the food was nice and the cocktails were refreshing. In addition the hotel guests made our holiday also memorable.

The hotel location was positioned near complimentary cafes, restaraunts, markets and bars.

My wife and I are very grateful to the staff and hotel for making our holiday such a great success. We have been to Bali four times and will be returning to segarra village when we return in December 2014.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    251
    80
    33
    19
See reviews for
161
324
18
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We've stayed at Segara Resort for the past six years, and are always sorry to leave after a month of idyllic relaxation. It's not that we havent looked at other accommodation in Sanur - this year we were invited to view the Hilton Hotel, and also the new Regent Hotel, which is gorgeously fitted out and six star, but one could be at any resort in any country - and this is the secret of Segara. For us it is the essence of Bali, with its beautiful gardens, quirky sculpture which really merits a close look to catch the Bali sense of humour, and first and foremost, the Balinese staff who have the happiest smiles in the world and who look after their guests' every wish. It really shows that it is a family-owned resort, in the care taken to ensure everyone has a wonderful holiday. One of their best ideas are their Guest Relations staff, who know everyone by name and are always there to cater to every request.

We were upgraded to a bungalow which was well appointed and faultlessly serviced - and a great bed! Breakfasts are good and the restaurant at night improving every year. Sorry to say the Japanese Restaurant was not up to scratch this year with not too pristine fish and prawns, but will still give it another go. The bar area is a great place to have a drink and listen to the music and entertainment.

We know the market girls can be a bit annoying, but they are truly interested in where you are going - what you are doing - where do you come from etc etc. This is an Indonesian trait, and it doesnt hurt to answer them nicely and politely say that you are not shopping today. They have so little and in comparison, we have so much.

Don't know why we came home.......can't wait for next year.

Room Tip: We've stayed in a cottage most times and have been perfectly happy, but with the upgrade to a bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Let me preface these thoughts, by saying the staff were one of the best that we have encountered, and the grounds were fantastic.

The rooms were okay, our bathroom was like a furnace, but the most disappointing aspect was the bed, it was like lying on concrete, they tried to help, but it still did not remedy the situation, the room size was small, but bright.

The breakfast area was like eating in a cafeteria, with limited buffet selection, as compared to many other hotels we have stayed at, with the same rating.

After staying at other hotels this definitely over priced.

Room Tip: If you get a room where the bathroom faces the afternoon sun, leave the blinds closed all day, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Good service in this nice hotel. Despite being beginning of August and everything crowded, we had not the same impression in this nice hotel. Good value for money and nice stay if you want to go to Sanur in Bali.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Got back yesterday from 10 days staying at Segara Village with my family and couldn't fault it. The staff were so friendly and helpful, and the grounds are stunning. All of the staff work incredibly hard and are a credit to their family owners. The rooms were spotless and stylish and the food was practically a la carte. Thank you for a wonderful holiday!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed at Segara Village for our honeymoon. We loved it! As soon as we arrived we were in paradise. The hotel staff are so friendly and cannot do enough for you - as we found out in Bali generally. The chef is amazing, he is so talented and even came to chat to us one evening. The bar manager Eddie is brilliant too and gave us a special honeymoon cocktail. We liked nearby Luthu's coffee shop for breakfast, and Little Birds Warung is worth a visit. Also, if you want a change from Indonesian food for an evening, Massimo's Italian Restaurant further down the town is fantastic and has a brilliant atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Segara Village Hotel is set in large beautiful grounds, each fallen leaf collected off the lawns daily by the gardeners! The 90 year old owner who lives on site walks sedately in his beautiful robes every morning through the well spaced private chalet type buildings to his private temple near to reception. The hotel is still run by family members and you realize how proud they are and this shows through every aspect of the hotel. Polite, helpful and cheerful staff. We were in room 410 for 2 weeks. Cleverly built rooms, your bedroom/bathroom etc is up steps and underneath is a large private patio with huge sofa. I had read on Trip Advisor before we went that someone had been given a free upgrade but room was facing a wall. We too were offered this room and although room was great and wall had plants growing up, we wanted a view as there for two weeks. It would be fine if you are only staying a couple of nights. We found a bar next road to hotel,White Sands, for tv sport and welcoming new Australian owner. Kayu Manis restaurant for wonderful high class food not to miss. Small market near to Sagara is ok but women traders drive you mad. Offer less than half they ask for! So Segara Village Hotel is a great place to stay, on beach and well situated for shops and central road for restaurants and shops. If you just want a small BnB try Sindu Guest House newly renovated by Australian owner.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Segara Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Segara Village Hotel

Address: Jalan Segara Ayu | Denpasar, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80030 , Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
#7 Family Hotel in Sanur
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#7 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Segara Village Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well established beachfront resort in northern Sanur will shortly complete a major renovation to re-position to four star plus rating. Five distinct village room areas, each with its own layout and character are set amidst 6 hectares of lush tropical gardens. Two swimming pools and an array of recreational activities provide ample opportunity for pure relaxation or an activity - oriented holiday for adults and children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, AsiaRooms, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Segara Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Segara Village Resort
Segara Village Sanur
Segara Village Hotel Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Segara Village Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.