We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice and private” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gangsa Private Villa by Kayumanis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Gangsa Private Villa by Kayumanis to your Saves list
The Gangsa Private Villa by Kayumanis
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Tirta Akasa 28, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80227, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“very nice and private”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed at the Gangsa for 9 nights. The stay was perfect in every way. The personnel was very kind and helpful. We did the romantic dinner night, all was very nice. The only disappointed thing was that my steak was very well done while I ask for Medium rare, my wifes mail meal was still cold and we ask for it to be reheated. My wife also did the cooking lesson, started by a visit to the vis market, followed by wonderful instructions by the Gangsa head chef. Unfortunately I got sick at day 2 so I could not participate in the cooking lessons. The girls at the massage area did a wonderful and professional job. We both enjoyed it a lot and went back 3 times. The Gangsa cookies is a must. The room was cleaned twice a day. We recommend the Gangsa to anyone who would like a nice and private holiday. Thanks to all staff for making our stay a lovely one.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ida bagus s s, Manager at The Gangsa Private Villa by Kayumanis, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Ron R.

Om swastyastu....

Warmest greetings from the village of Sanur

First and foremost we would like to thank you for taking the time to giving your details feedback on a series of your recent stay during short break visit to the island of Gods.
We fell so embarrassed to learn your comment on the state of our Food during your romantic Dinner.

We always strive to provide the highest level of product and service, but fell short in this occasion hence please accept my sincere apologies. I have shared your comment to the entire team of thegangsa private villa and spa especially to the Kitchen teams, we hope this will not happen again in the future.

Once again, thank you very much for choosing to stay in Thegangsa Private Villa and Spa during your visit to the Island of the Gods and we look forward to serving you again in the not too distant future.



warm regards,


Ida Bagus Suamba
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    33
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
48
123
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mendota Heights, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We extended our stay at the Gangsa Villas in Sanur because it was so beautiful and we were treated like royalty. Upon arriving, our airport driver - Udi - noticed that Katie's birthday was that day. He confirmed with her but said nothing more. That night when we returned to the villas, the entire staff joined in a rousing rendition of "happy birthday" and presented Ibu Katie with a special cake with her name on it! It was wondrous to be treated so well.

The grounds are quiet, although families sometimes stay in the 2 and 3 bedroom villas, the staff is exceptional, the kitchen is excellent, and the accommodations are luxurious in an understated way.

The car service was available every time we wanted to get to the beach or to shopping or to dinner and the staff was always charming and helpful with cold water and lemongrass scented towels that were chilled for our return to the car. Wonderful.

This trip was just my partner and me and our intent was to relax and see a bit of Bali. The Gangsa made that possible.

PS: we visited the Kayumanis in Ubud and it appeared more luxurious, quieter, and with closer access to the town of Ubud's shopping area. Next time: we intend to stay in BOTH!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ida bagus s s, Manager at The Gangsa Private Villa by Kayumanis, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear CoolTuneMan,

Om Swastyastu.

Warmest greetings from the priestly village of Sanur

Thank you very much for taking the time to write and giving your detailed feedback's on a series of your pleasant experience with our service and resort facilities during your short break in the Island.


We always strive to provide the highest quality of product and service, hence to receive great comments such as your is so motivating. I will certainly share your positive feeling about our resort especially to Udi our Butler and also to the entire teams.


Once again, thank you very much for choosing to stay in thegangsa Private Villa and Spa during your visit to the Island of the Gods and we look forward to serving you again in the not too distant future.

Best regards,


Ida Bagus Suamba
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Gangsa is one of those hotels which will make you feel truly cherished. The 6 days here make you truly feel at home. The ever courteous staff and chef which are eager to make your stay comfortable is simply outstanding. Myself being a Vegetarian the chef went out of his way to tweak the the menu to suit my pallet. Special thanks to the ever smiling Ms. Partini Kadek (the hotel manager) who was quick to my answer my queries over emails and even went one step further when we have to reschedule our trip owing to an unfortunate accident which my wife had just before our trip.

Gangsa truly made our Honeymoon memorable. Will definitely like to go there once again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ida bagus s s, Manager at The Gangsa Private Villa by Kayumanis, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Argentlam,

Om Swastyastu....

Warmest greeting from the village of Sanur.

I wish to thank you for taking the time to write this great review. We are so glad to know that you have had a relaxing and enjoyable stay in our resort on your last visit to the island of the Gods.

We always strive to provide the highest quality of product and service, hence to receive great comments such as your is so motivating. I will certainly share your positive feeling about our resort especially to Kadek Partini our Sales Executive and chef Sonder, and also to the entire teams.

Once again, thank you very much for choosing to stay in thegangsa Private Villa during your short break in Bali.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,


Ida Bagus Suamba
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

There are so much things to write about our experience with Gangsa.. Traveled with 2 adults and 2 kids.

Lemme start with reservation: Booking was very smooth.. They responded to all of my inquiries so I could gather all the essential information needed for our stay. Compliment to Ms. Rika..

Airport transfer: We arrived in Bali on a busy day at the airport.. I assumed thats normal in Bali. Welcomed by the "Supir" (driver) at the arrival hall.. Offered with cold drinks and delicious cookies which my daughter love very much..

Villa: It was like we stepped into another world.. we were upgraded to 2 bedroom villa "Bebende", thanks to Rika.. Villa layout was nicely arranged and organized.. Its more into "open air" concept.. But still maintaining the privacy of guest. Well kept garden and private pool (not just a plunge pool as most resorts offered). Daily changed flowers, breakfast was delicious as well as other menu.. turn down service..butler service and shuttle around Sanur is a value added point to guests. We could just stay in the villa all day long.. as much as we love the swimming and hanging out beside the pool very much..esp. my 4 yo daughter..

Service: was excellent.. Well trained staffs.. Which never fail to greet and pamper us.. We were surprised with a cake for our wedding anniversary celebration. That was a nice touch from the Gangsa.

Rebab Spa: Worth every cents we spent.. They got our kids (baby sitter service) taken care of during the 2 hours treatment.

Overall: We had really great time at The Gangsa and I would really recommend anyone to anyone esp. for honeymooners and even who is travelling with family members..

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ida bagus s s, Manager at The Gangsa Private Villa by Kayumanis, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Shahfawee H,

Om Swastyastu.

Warmest greetings from the priestly village of Sanur

Thank you very much for taking the time to write and giving your detailed feedback's on a series of your pleasant experience with our service and resort facilities during your short break in the Island.


We always strive to provide the highest quality of product and service, hence to receive great comments such as your is so motivating. I will certainly share your positive feeling about our resort especially to Rika our Reservation and also to the entire teams.

Once again, thank you very much for choosing to stay in thegangsa Private Villa and Spa during your visit to the Island of the Gods and we look forward to serving you again in the not too distant future.

Best regards,


Ida Bagus Suamba
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

I arrived very early, around 7-8am in the morning. After the long and exhausting flight, I fell asleep in the hotel lounge. At around 10 am in the morning, hotel staff approached and informed me that they could check me in early. We also got an upgrade to two-bedroom villa since one-bed are all out.

The up-on-request hotel shuttle to Sanur is very convenient. The staffs are very nice and friendly. It feels like they can do just about anything you ask them to do. I would highly recommend this place to honeymooner and families.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ida bagus s s, Manager at The Gangsa Private Villa by Kayumanis, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Jojolena,

Om Swastyastu....

Warmest greetings from the priestly village of sanur....

Thank you very much very for taking the time to write your very positive review. I am very happy to learn that you have had an enjoyable and relaxing stay in our resort.,receiving a good review such yours is very motivating for us and teams.

Once again, thank you very much for choosing to stay in our resort during your holiday in the Island of the Gods and we look forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future.

Best regards,


IB Suamba
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundijong WA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

My wife and I stayed for 7 nights, April 25 to May 2 in Gander villa. It was all perfect from Airport pickup to checkout. Staff are great and service is perfect. Villa location is not a worry, as they will drop you off and pick you up anywhere in Sanur. Great service from your butler and all the staff. So friendly and happy. Food is good, villa is good, pool, big, clean and perfect temp. Plenty of hot water for shower or bath, A/c in bedroom set at 22C perfect for sleeping. We loved our stay and would highly recommend Gangsa Villa. Thank you Gangsa Villa for a great stay and 30th wedding Anniversary!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ida bagus s s, Manager at The Gangsa Private Villa by Kayumanis, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
dear Bq544,

Om Swastyastu.....

Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review, we are very happy to learn that you have had an enjoyable and relaxing stay on your last visit to the gangsa private villa.

We always strive to provide the highest quality of product and service, hence your positive comment on our performance is very motivating.

Again, thank you so much and I look forward to your next visit and to welcoming you to the gangsa private villa


Best regards,


IB Suamba
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed at Gangsa for 2 nigths over the Easter weekend. Our flight arrived late at midnight and we got pick up from the hotel. Since then on, we was so impressed by their incomparable service of staff. We got upgraded to be a three-room pool villa (Ceng Ceng) which is indescribable. Since this is a short stay, so we decided to hang out almost all day at the resort. At the villa we stayed, it gave us the feeling of staying at private sanctuary (like you are living in a different world). This is a PERFECT place for honeymoon. We love it there and will try to go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ida bagus s s, Manager at The Gangsa Private Villa by Kayumanis, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Caprithai,

Om Swatyastu......

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your great review about your stay in our resort. I glad to learn that you enjoyed your relaxing and memorable stay with us.

We always strive and improve our product and service to make the best experience to all our respected guest., hence to receive a great complement such as yours is very motivating.

Once again thank you for choosing to stay in the gangsa Private Villa and we look forward to serving you again in the nearest future.

Best regards,


IB Suamba
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
1.0 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 68 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
0.8 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#12 of 68 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 stars 1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
0.7 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#11 of 68 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 stars 1,540 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#6 of 68 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gangsa Private Villa by Kayumanis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gangsa Private Villa by Kayumanis

Address: Jalan Tirta Akasa 28, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80227, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#3 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#3 Family Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gangsa Private Villa by Kayumanis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The term 'gangsa', refers to the keyed instrument that plays resonant melodies in a traditional Balinese orchestra. The choice of name is a conscious effort to preserve the island's unique culture trough tourism. As one of Bali's original all-villa properties, the gangsa is hidden away down a quiet back lane in the revered priestly village of Sanur and is only a 2km journey from a white sandy beachfront. It is resplendent of a traditional community composed of 11 private villa units featuring 1, 2 & 3 bedrooms. Each spaciously appointed villa is secluded within a charming landscaped compound highlighted by a personal swimming pool and Balinese lounging pavilion that exposes the delights of tropical outdoor living. The interior decor concept is inspired by the artistic heritage of the Balinese people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and EasyToBook so you can book your The Gangsa Private Villa by Kayumanis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gangsa Hotel Sanur
The Gangsa Private Villa By Kayumanis Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gangsa Private Villa by Kayumanis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.