We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what we want!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gangsa Private Villa by Kayumanis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Gangsa Private Villa by Kayumanis to your Saves list
The Gangsa Private Villa by Kayumanis
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Tirta Akasa 28, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80227, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Special Early BIRD DEAL!!
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
富山
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Exactly what we want!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

We stayed 3 nights in September with a 4 years old daughter. The villa itself is not so gorgeous not new but simple, spacious and well maintained that we like. There is no public pool and the reception is very small. We love the privacy in our villa. The staff is very kind and always ready to make us enjoy. We went to the beach everyday by their car. On the way to the beach, the driver (butler) gave us the useful information about Sanur, "this restaurant is famous for ice cream, that restaurant serves the good Indonesian food, you can buy good souvenir at that shop....". Yes, much better than the guidebook. The sea of Sanur is quiet and beautiful. If you like "hustle bustle ", Sanur is not the choice. If you like "chic sophisticated", Sanur is not the choice either. On the beach, bed is available for the Gangsa guests. We asked for the sand toy but unfortunately unavailable. If you are with kids, you'd better bring some sand toys. After having lunch in the casual restaurant in Sanur, we enjoyed the cosy villa in the whole afternoon.
Rebab spa is a must! The staff here is also kind. Not so expensive for the hotel spa. During out treatment, my daughter was sleeping in the sofa and fell. The therapist quickly held her in her arms, swung to let her fall asleep again so quietly not to upset us. We were so impressed not only the therapist’s techniques but also kindness.
This is our 3rd time to Bali. What we want in Bali is:
spacious, well maintained villa with a swimming pool
private, laid-back atmosphere
good, casual restaurants
smart butler, not pushy
We finally found the villa to satisfy us! We'd like to thank the staff of the Gangsa. You guys made our vacation so memorable. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agtd, General Manager at The Gangsa Private Villa by Kayumanis, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Dear Bapak & Ibu,

" Om Swastyastu"

Warm Greeting from the gangsa private villa....

Thank you very much for stayed at the gangsa and thank you for your valuable review. I had learned from your review and therefore we provide some kid toys at our beach club. Your valuable review is really helping us for a future improving of the gangsa.

We look forward to welcome you and your family back to the gangsa.

Best Regards,
Putu Agustini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    32
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
111
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

It's not cheap, but you certainly do get your money's worth here. Private when you need it to be, lots of service when you need it, and beautifully upkept buildings and gardens.

It's up a remote side-street and is quite far from the beach. However the staff will take you in a car to anywhere for free, and they have a little reserved patch of beach in Sanur, next to the Bonzai cafe.

Overall had a lovely stay.

Room Tip: didn't see any other rooms, each compound is very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agtd, General Manager at The Gangsa Private Villa by Kayumanis, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Dear Bapak and Ibu,

"Om Swastyastu"

Warm Greeting from the gangsa private villa...

Thank you very much for your review at Trip Advisor and this review will help us to promote the gangsa. We look forward to welcome you back to the gangsa.

Best regards,

Putu Agustini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights out of a 2 week holiday and our only regret was not staying longer! Pure luxury with outstanding service...nothing was ever a problem. The in villa dining beautiful and BBQ night outstanding.
I actually can't recommend the gangsa highly enough!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agtd, General Manager at The Gangsa Private Villa by Kayumanis, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Dear Bapak & Ibu,

"Om Swastyastu"

Thank you very much for stayed at the gangsa and thank you also for your valuable comment. We look forward another oppurtunity to welcome you back to the gangsa.

Best Regards,
Putu Agustini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor,canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Unfortunately, we only had 2 days at the Gangsa, but it was a very memorable stay. The compound is tucked away in a residential area of Sanur and is a well run hotel. All the staff we encountered were warm, hospitable and genuinely welcoming.

We had a wonderful massage through the spa and also had a poolside, candlelit BBQ dinner at our villa. Both services were excellent . The shuttle to the beach is efficient and will always be back at the beach to pick you up at the time that you ask. There is an attendant on the beach to help with anything and offers water when needed. He can also call the hotel to change your shuttle pick up should you choose.

Our 2 teen girls loved the villa pool and the day bed by the pool. We have no complaints with The Gangsa other than we wished we had stayed a few more days.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agtd, General Manager at The Gangsa Private Villa by Kayumanis, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Dear Bapak & Ibu,

Om Swastyastu.....

Thank you very much for your comment and we look forward another oppurtunity to welcome you back to the gangsa.

Regards,

the gangsa private villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We have just returned from the most magical holiday at The Gangsa Villas, Sanur. We have stayed in many places throughout the world but nothing compares with the quality of food, service and accommodation provided at The Gangsa. Nothing was too much trouble for the wonderful staff and we really felt like part of the family. The only problem was having to leave!!! We will definitely be back.
Scott & Erica NZ

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agtd, General Manager at The Gangsa Private Villa by Kayumanis, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Dear Bapak & Ibu,

Warm greeting from the gangsa private villa ...

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcome you back to the gangsa.

Stay health and see you

Regards,
the gangsa private villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

From the moment we walked through the door and into the Gangsa compound we were treated like royalty. Everyone was polite and welcoming. On our walk through the beautiful grounds we were told we had been upgraded to a three bedroom villa. When we walked through the next gate we were taken into a compound that wasn't a lot smaller than our property at home (or that's how it seemed). We had three large rooms with clean and unique bathrooms that were open air and two with outside showers.
There was a wall-less lounge and dining area and an adjoining kitchen all joined by paths and bridge over a pond. We also had a 7 metre lap pool and a raised queen sun bed. All of this for our family of 4. Meals could be ordered and they arrived at the specified time and our table laid and meal put out for us to just sit and enjoy. We couldn't fault any aspect of the service.
There was a free car and driver available to take us to the local area and we could ring to be picked up when we needed to return. This was also available to go to Kuta or Seminyak but only at certain times.
We found it amazing that the compound we had was so private and quiet considering everything that was going on around us.
It was a real find and we are looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

A very memorable and lovely 4D3N stay at The Gangsa 1 bedroom Villa. The villa is very well-kept, clean and very spacious(300 sqmter). Tropical greens, quite and private surrounding. Consists of only 11 villas. Jegogan is the name of our villa, and is located right to the end, which is very private. The villa comes with a pool, double stories, an open air dinning and living area. All staffs are very professional, polite and always comes with warm , great smile; and they are very attentive to guest. Love the 24 hours butler service. Very memorable sun rise breakfast at the beach.
Very highly recommend for a full service villa.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gangsa Private Villa by Kayumanis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gangsa Private Villa by Kayumanis

Address: Jalan Tirta Akasa 28, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80227, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#3 Family Hotel in Sanur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gangsa Private Villa by Kayumanis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The term 'gangsa', refers to the keyed instrument that plays resonant melodies in a traditional Balinese orchestra. The choice of name is a conscious effort to preserve the island's unique culture trough tourism. As one of Bali's original all-villa properties, the gangsa is hidden away down a quiet back lane in the revered priestly village of Sanur and is only a 2km journey from a white sandy beachfront. It is resplendent of a traditional community composed of 11 private villa units featuring 1, 2 & 3 bedrooms. Each spaciously appointed villa is secluded within a charming landscaped compound highlighted by a personal swimming pool and Balinese lounging pavilion that exposes the delights of tropical outdoor living. The interior decor concept is inspired by the artistic heritage of the Balinese people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Splendia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your The Gangsa Private Villa by Kayumanis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gangsa Hotel Sanur
The Gangsa Private Villa By Kayumanis Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gangsa Private Villa by Kayumanis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.