We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and tired hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Swastika Bungalows

Save Saved
You added Swastika Bungalows to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swastika Bungalows
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Danau Tamblingan 128, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 63 hotels in Sanur
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
318 helpful votes 318 helpful votes
“Old and tired hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

When I first arrived at this hotel I thought it very rundown and old,and while this is true the accommodation is very cheap and you really do get what you pay for
I didn't like the pool it was overcrowded and not clean,then one day I got lost coming from the foyer and stumbled across another pool I had not realized the hotel was so large and had two pools,
This pool was lovely hardly anyone swimming in it and it was Cristal clear
from then on we swam every day it was great
The room was very old and definitely need doing up,around the taps in the bathroom there was quite bit of rust and erosion which didn't look to good,and I imagine that was the reason it didn't look clean
The size of the rooms where very big and the beds comfortable
At breakfast had a small choice but it was adequate,eggs any style ,fruit juices noodles,rice and black rice pudding,fresh fruit salad
The position of the hotel was great ,shopping all around and to get to the beach we simply crossed the road and went through one of the other hotels grounds
Staff were lovely and nothing was to much trouble
If you are looking for a very basic hotel,cheap,old and neglected this is it

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    105
    46
    18
    8
See reviews for
45
83
45
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

We spent four nights here. The room was a bit basic but the swimming pool is always clean and inviting. The included breakfast is good but doesn't change much- it gets a bit boring by day three. A great location as a base to explore Sanur from and the staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

Liked the gardens and pools. Located down a short lane and is off the main road so is quiet.......BUT...woke up on the second night of our stay, a rustling noise, turned on the light - a rat. Got rid of it out the door, back to sleep to similar noise...the biggest, hoariest muther****** cockroach I have ever seen (and I used to have a pest control / fumigation business). This bugger laughed at our mossie repellant and just grinned at us. Flicked him outside with my towel along with his friend the millipede (who tried to sneak in thru the open door). I can understand the bugs 'cos its the tropics and there's garden everywhere but the rat is inexcusable. We bought some aerosol insecticide the next day and sprayed around the door, came back from dinner and found a dead frog inside the doorway - bugger - I like frogs. Lesson - if you're on the ground floor (our room No: 49) stuff a towel under the door at night. Otherwise - aircon worked. Bathroom really dirty and bedding gray and threadbare. The staff was nice, the breakfast was OK and you get a voucher for a 20% discount for meals at the Swastika restaurant down the road - and we did like the restaurant - especially happy hour cocktails.
I'd maybe go back if I could get an upstairs room.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

Stayed here in June 2010 for the second time (last time 9 years ago) and love the place. Great people, full breakfast every morning, pool lovely and plants have grown so. Very tropical. Prefer Sanur to the mad pace of Kuta & Legian. Shopping great, beach close.
Bedding changed every day and room cleaned. TV, air con & phone, what more would you want!. For a very reasonable price you can spend the rest of your money on shopping!! Would head for Swastika next time we travel to Bali. Transport at the door and local night market interesting. Catch a green van with no doors which will take you there. Hardys supermarket close.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

when this was orig built i bet it was lovely , but as things have broken over the last 20-30 years or whatever , or got old , all they have done is mend and patch it up on a shoestring budget . everything is repaired . tiles , paths , windows , doors , speakers , sunbeds , bathrooms , beds - all absolutely nasty and botched together in the cheapest way possible .

i know people say quite easily 'this is the worst place ive stayed in' , but this is true for me .

the bedside lights are made from plastic bits of drain pipes you use plumbing in bathrooms - so cheap and nasty . unreal !! its like grown up meccano set with drainpipe

the childs pool has no filter and was full of stagnant water and dead insects .

the paths are not illuminated , broken and dangerous - when the power goes out which it did each nite while others had power , they have no torches or anything to help .

the dirt , mold and filth in the bathroom was absolutely RANK . URGHHHH . see pics . the walls are repainted the most vile of green colours - to help try and disguise the filth and mold, eeeeh . infact this is by far the worst bathroom ive ever known .... visit paradise and have RUSTY BARBED WIRE and BROKEN GLASS on top of your outside bathroom wall !!!!!

no kettle , tv crap , fridge didnt cool , no cable , phone crackly , no air con , fan had about 18 layers of grot in it . nobody ever cleans this place . god where do i begin

the main front doors with [no lie] a 8-10" gap cos they dont close and people can take things from at will ??? they will not close from inside or out - madness . i saw a rat one nite outside our door and i swear it had just come out of our room , honestly the gap is that big a cat or small dog could even get thru . there is no room safe , it just was not secure we carried laptop passports and cards and everything with us at all times .

would you like window vents where people can see in your room directly onto your bed from staircases etc , and other peoples rooms that overlook the outside of your outside open roofless bathroom so people can see you shower and use the toilet outside . urghhhh its just wrong .

FILTHY DIRTY SKANKY SQUALOR take a look at pictures - blue toilet , minging beige cistern and a green seat WTF ?? yuk this is like something from a 3rd world slum . you get better stuff from a skip or the rubbish tip .

the toilet and tiles where so dirty you felt like you wanted to hover not sit . excuse me while i hurl . bleurghhhhh

location is pretty good , but we used it for 3 days then couldnt wait to leave . i have to say never have i seen such a disgrace in all my life , it was embarrassing . QATAR airlines put us in this hotel we didnt book it so bad marks for qatar airlines too .

there are lots of nice places in bali - this is not one . youve been warned . check my pics .

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

Swastika has cheap comfortable rooms at the northern end of the main stretch at Sanur. The free wifi is great and particularly popular with the middle-aged German and Aussie clientele who all seem to have brought their laptops. You get 20% off at their restaurant so you have no reason to leave the site, not least because there is nothing happening in Sanur. If you want to stay somewhere dull and do dull things in a dull town, stay at Swastika because it's cheap and clean.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

I am not sure Bali is my place for a restful holiday but it's great to sight see. This hotel attracts an older crowd of long stay 'snowbirds' but it's green and lush and clean. It's basic, but the morning breakfast is OK. It's also cheap, so you get what you pay for.

On the main shopping drag through Sanur, It's well placed. beach is maybe 10 mins walk tops.

Lots of restaurants nearby.

Don't think the Swastika means anything bad, it was a symbol of the Buddhist movement and still is before being hijacked (and changed a litlte ) by the Nazis.... Some there thought it was related to that...duh.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Swastika Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swastika Bungalows

Address: Danau Tamblingan 128, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Swastika Bungalows 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, AsiaRooms, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Swastika Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swastika Bungalows Hotel Sanur
Swastika Hotel Sanur
Swastika Bungalows Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swastika Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.