We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place to stay, but not for youngsters like me” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Swastika Bungalows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Swastika Bungalows to your Saves list
Swastika Bungalows
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Danau Tamblingan 128, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 67 Hotels in Sanur
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“nice place to stay, but not for youngsters like me”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Swastika Bungalows really is a gorgeous, nature/jungle like place to stay. Everyone loves their own little hotel or bungalow filled with natural surroundings. However if you’re 30 or under, I don’t recommend you staying here as the crowd and visitors are not the party-goers you were expecting. It’s definitely for the older, retirement and mature-age couple destination. I stayed here with a friend and we loved the natural interior and design and comfortable beds, however it just didn’t feel that good knowing that we were probably the youngest guest that ever stayed there, making it a little bit awkward. Despite this, the staff are great and the there’s a bar pool which everyone loves.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    134
    57
    18
    8
See reviews for
69
107
53
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

A friend of us had recommended the Swatika Bungalows to us so we decided to stay here while in Sanur.

Together with my partner and my mother,I'm staying here for over a week now, and have checked out some better hotels in the same price range in the meanwhile.My partner and I considered moving but decided to stay because my mum was ok with the place.

The good:
-location
-very friendly and helpful front desk staff
-nice garden
-spacious rooms
-book exchange
-cheap & pleasant massage in the spa

The bad:
-rather simple breakfast,which wasn't so bad if simple dishes like nasi goreng and the fried noodles had an actual flavor.
-the bathroom and the hotel in general are not well maintained
-old towels
- hard mattresses.We are staying in a standard room but even so,who wants a painful back?
-old rusty pool beds
-obviously old bathrooms

If what u look for is a place that allows you to relax and is affordable for most tourists, then the Swastika isn't a bad choice Although there are hotels/bungalows with much higher standards in about the same price range.

Having said all of the above,even though it's not my first choice it's a pleasant enough place to stay.


  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illawarra
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Am currently staying at Swastika again, this is the third time, and it is a pleasant experience.
Three pools to choose from, hidden private corners in lush gardens and really friendly and helpful staff.
Yes in the budget section it is a bit worn, the rooms are a little tired but very spacious, they are clean and you have everything you need. Top floors are great as you sit amongst the treetops and get a lovely breeze.
They are starting some room renovations shortly so all the older rooms are getting their flacelift!
Moneywise it is great, if you are looking for simple budget rooms in a well run hotel this is it!
I usually book through Webjet as they often have good special rates.
A Deluxe part is through a little path to the back of the hotel where a big pool awaits you. If you want more comfort and luxury, those rooms are new and very nice.
Breakfast is basic, but you have fruit, bread, jams, eggs any way you want, pancakes and sweets.
If you want friendliness, cleanliness and value for money in a hotel, I recommend Swastika Bungalows!

Room Tip: Top floors are good, but some renovations are commencing, so make sure you ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We arrived the 10th April from driveway looks a bit dodgy but once there was very impressed.we stayed in deluxe rooms they were excellent very clean the staff were wonderful as was the pool bar where the bintangs were always cold&the lunches gr8 4 $3.50 aus.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights - it was my first visit. You go down a drive way to get to the property and reach a very ordinary reception with no parking facilities which can get a bit hectic. I arrived at night, and taken through a garden path on what seemed like a long walk to reach my room - a detached bungalow.
The room was huge with 2 double beds, seperate bathroom with bath. I was thrilled to be in a spacious room with a large bathroom, however in the day light it was a little different! In daylight it was very very tired and in need of an update. The bathroom was clean but also tired and in desperate need of a makeover. The TV reception was poor, theres a small fridge, no tea/coffee making but you do get bottled water.The pool is quite nice but lacks staff service.
What I discovered next day was the surprise-this property has a beautiful renovation hidden out the back. Its like walking into a whole different place! A gorgeous new pool, lovely new villas and a whole different feel - a real hidden treasure.

Room Tip: It will cost you a little more but stay in the new villas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I have been holidaying in Bali since 1981 and am sorry to say I have never stayed on the Sanur side. This trip I booked us into Swastika Bungalows for 3 nights to test the water so to speak. I am very please to say that we thoroughly enjoyed the quiet, relaxing and easy pace of Sanur.
Swastika Bungalows have been around for ever and I have friends that have been staying there for years. The property is well located on Jalan Danau Tamblingan , one street back from the beach front which is an easy walk with a number of access roads.
The original bungalows have been upgraded and the new deluxe wing is at the back of the property. The gardens are beautiful, well kept and extensive which breaks up the bungalows into sections for additional privacy. Bonus of three pools and the new one has a swim up bar.
Loved the deluxe rooms. They are big, clean with very efficient air conditioning. The king size bed was comfortable and firm. A big veranda sitting area with comfortable chairs, huge main room – bedroom and sitting area with flat screen TV. This leads into the dressing room with wardrobe, storage shelves, fridge and the hand basin. The bathroom has a separate shower and bath which would easily accommodate a tall person. Love the separate shower.
Excellent choice for breakfast, fresh fruit platters and your choice of cooked breakfast, pastries, etc. The staff are very friendly and helpful. All in all a very pleasant start to our holiday. I will be staying at Swastika again next trip. Happy to recommend this property.

Room Tip: Recommend you pay the extra and upgrade to the new deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

i have stayed 8 times and booked again 1 week only this time over easter 2013 staff are fantastic . I have stayed in both older and the new rooms you get what u pay for . I was very happy mr Bram could swing a room 4 me at short notice over new year for 2 weeks . Most suited mature or younger famlies . kuta 4 party people

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swastika Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swastika Bungalows

Address: Danau Tamblingan 128, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swastika Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Swastika Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swastika Bungalows Hotel Sanur
Swastika Hotel Sanur
Swastika Bungalows Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swastika Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.