We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happily surprised by lovely new resort - great value for mid-range hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sri Phala Resort & Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sri Phala Resort & Villa to your Saves list
Sri Phala Resort & Villa
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Jl. By Pass Ngurah Rai No. 35, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 66 Hotels in Sanur
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Happily surprised by lovely new resort - great value for mid-range hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I picked a mid-price hotel in Ubud and, frankly, wasn't expecting much. So I was very happily surprised by the Rama Phala! It was lovely. My room was absolutely huge - more of a suite. I loved the open air bathroom (only the shower area actually has no roof - but the whole bathroom is obviously open, no air con). My room had a great balcony overlooking the pool area and rice paddies just beyond the resort. The pool area is not huge but it was serene and very comfortable. Very quiet area. The breakfast buffet was very basic (and not great) but be sure to order eggs made to order. This is not a luxury property but the grounds could fool you into thinking it is. It's an easy walk from the hotel to the Monkey Forest. There is also a shuttle to the palace. This is not one of those Ubud hotel that says it's close to town but really isn't. This hotel really is close. But the 5 minute walk way ensures it's very quiet on site. The staff was so helpful and lovely. Overall, a great value.

Room Tip: I'd ask for a room on the 2nd floor with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    128
    69
    17
    11
See reviews for
60
105
21
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

As we was told that this is an one year old resort.
So this is very new and comfortable resort.

Actually we are not planning to stay here, but other sister resort from this resort.
But when we check in for the sister resort, they told us our room was taken by other people and we have no room for that resort! We were shock but we was told that they will shift us to this resort. So we were there~

When we arrive, we were treated very kindly and a welcome drink (ginger drink- not really like it) but the staffs are nice and friendly.

Fortunately we found that this resort is good and new. its nothing complaint about.
The room is huge and new. the bed is comfy, the bathroom is a semi-open concept with bathtub and shower.

the breakfast is just normal, nothing to be surprise about. If you would like to have egg, you need to order separately for free as they never show that they have eggs available.
We took our breakfast at the poolside.

We will consider to stay here again for our next visit.

Room Tip: Deluxe room is just nice for the stay... its very clean and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Accommodation was nice we had a family unit double storey, very big, even though only two of us.

Lovely gardens,restaurant looks over pool area .The breakfast was nothing to get excited about.

Staff excellent .Its very central place you can walk to Monkey forest (worth a visit)and market.

lots restaurants around, but the pavement,s crumbling open drains underneath,so dangerous.

local market full of junk and desperate people wanting to sell.

By the way wine is very expensive as its highly taxed, but local beer OK

Room Tip: There are rooms by the pool, but for us we diden,want the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Stay for 3 nights and found out the room that I book do not have slippers bathrobe and the aircon is leaking water. Convenient to travel around from this hotel. The staffs are friendly and nice. The room are big and I like the semi open bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The ambience was simply beautiful, and the rooms were spacious.

We stayed in a 2bedroom, 2 storey apartment - perfect except that there was no kichenette. Clean and spacious, with a padi field with ducks behind.

First time, a property actua;lly looked better than in the brochures.

Breakfast was a simple affair - fine.

The pondoks (hut) outdoor was just too cool.

Lovely resort, worth a revisit.

Room Tip: Nearer the recep the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KetutSmart, General Manager at Sri Phala Resort & Villa, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear our value guest,

Thank you for your staying at Rama Phala Resort & Spa, Ubud - Bali. And on behalf of Rama Phala Management & team, I do appreciate you very much.
I do hope that you will come and stay with us again next time.

The last but not least, thank you for your review to make us growing. As you know we are still brand new and if I could say we are still a baby but need to make our selves much better in the future by more experiences.

Sincerely yours,

Ketut Sumartono
Resort Managar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

We stay in 2 bedrooms family villa which quite far from the lobby, but it's quite close to the pool. Large spacious room, clean and comfortable.
I read the reviews from other guests whereby there is WIFI in some of the rooms, but it is not available in our room. And there is a school nearby which we can hear the noice every morning before 7am.
Location of this hotel is good, walking distance to the restaurants and supermarkets. Also quite near to Monkey Forest and Ubud town.
Breakfast was quite basic, not many choices.
It's my first time staying in Ubud as i stayed in Kuta during my previous trip. It is a different experience staying in Ubud compared to Kuta.
Overall we had a pleasant 3 nights stay.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taguig City, Philippines
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Sri Phala certainly lives to the expectation of having a very Balinese-inspired place to stay, Lush Gardens, Nipa Huts, Spa-like ambiance, Indonesian Interiors and some more. Dining area is beside the pool that will totally give you that Balinese feel. Staff are very accomodating and easy to talk to as they understand english. During the night the pool illuminates which gives a very peaceful feel. There is also a business corner where a computer is located so you could check emails, surf the net etc. Wi-Fi connection is ok because guests still needs to go out in the terrace (in some rooms) or stay at the dining area (near the pool) to connect to the internet. Welcome drinks were also given when we arrived. Cable television, very comfortable beds as well as spacious rooms are also a good thing in this resort. Besides the wi-fi connection, the only thing to improve on is the accessibility to the beach which is quite far from the resort, but i don't mind this because it's not the beach that brought me to Bali but the total experience particularly the culture, traditions and vibrance of Bali, and in one way or the other Sri Phala gave it to me. If I have to go back to Bali, I will still consider staying in Sri Phala.

Room Tip: Try to swim in the pool during the night as only a few people swin during this time If requesting f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sri Phala Resort & Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sri Phala Resort & Villa

Address: Jl. By Pass Ngurah Rai No. 35, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sri Phala Resort & Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sri Phala is a tastefully furnished resort hidden away in a quite part of Sanur offering an intimate setting and the personalized service you look for in holiday resort. The ambience is restful and relaxed surrounded by tropical gardens. Every room is spacious and has a private balcony. The area of Sanur has long been a popular destination for guests seeking a stylish, laid-back beachside getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sri Phala Resort & Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sri Phala Resort And Villa
Sri Phala Resort & Villa Hotel Sanur
Sri Phala Hotel
Sri Phala Boutique Hotel
Sri Phala Resort & Villa Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sri Phala Resort & Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.