We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location & staff - average rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Puri Kelapa Garden Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Puri Kelapa Garden Cottages to your Saves list
Puri Kelapa Garden Cottages
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Segara Ayu No. 1 Sanur, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 66 Hotels in Sanur
Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good location & staff - average rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Last year was the third time that I stayed in this hotel when visiting Bali with my family. It's a very nice and family + backpackers friendly hotel located very close to Sanur Beach. All rooms are located in separate bungalows and the property is very much private and has a very nice garden. The rooms are more Indonesian standard but when staying here with the family this didn't bother me at all (you are not paying for a five star hotel so this is understandable).
Some of the staff are also working there for a (very) long time so they even recognize you which is also very nice.
This is an ideal hotel for families who don't want to be bothered with the very busy Kuta Indonesian nightlife but just want to relax and rest. (And Kuta is only a 30 minute drive away and taxis are very cheap.)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    74
    31
    7
    1
See reviews for
20
55
23
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for our last night before travelling back to the UK. It was really clean, comfortable and was set in beautiful gardens with a really lovely pool. The welcome from the reception team was superb and everyone was helpful and friendly.
The bathrooms could do with a bit of a touch up here and there but the air conditioned room and bed were clean, comfortable and a good size.
Mama who looks after the bar was just delightful and we found all the staff there to be really lovely.
Breakfast was fine. The staff there were the least friendly but lunch was excellent and really good value.
Across the road is Lily Spa where Ulla and Ite do amazing massages and facials at prices that are too good to miss. The whole family. My husband and our two girls had treatment and the total cost was around £30 for us all. Brilliant value for over 6 hours of spa treats!
Agung who has a taxi and is based across the road offers an amazing driver service at R450,000 for 7 hours and R150,000 for an airport trip.
So, if you're looking for a place that is a little haven and offers really good value and a great base you couldn't do better.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Only stayed one night with family of 5 in two rooms. Reception was helpfull to arrange transport to the airport when we left. Rooms were clean and in average condition with minimal features. There was no real 'service' at the pool if you wanted a beer or food you had to go to reception r find a staff member. Overall reasonable value for money for one night.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We've stayed here at least half a dozen times put up with the tired old towels , pillows like sleeping on a sack of potatoes etc but sadly decided this was our last . Love the pool and the gardens and they way the cottages are placed some very private . We organised transport to be picked up from the airport and all went well until we arrived back to the hotel . Most bali hotels on arriving you get a big beaming smile and an hello or welcome and a welcome cold towel and a drink as they rush to gather your bags , but not here , we had to lug our heavy bags up the several stairs to check in and this is where it disappointed me the most . They had no idea what rooms we were meant to be in , 3 guys all talking to each other trying to figure it out , even after showing our printed confirmation letter and knowing what cottages I had booked , got replies of some with single beds . I don't know if the left hand knew what the right hand was doing I was less than happy at 11:00 pm we all just wanted to crash . I considered just packing up and going elsewhere .
I had some newbies with us , I was so embarrassed as I had organised this trip , seriously it was a joke . The next morning they said to the ' newbies ' when are you paying ? This was crazy as they had already paid through their travel agent who booked their part of the trip they had to ring australia to get them email the details again . All in all extremely poor management I kept asking where was kadek who I had booked through but never saw him the whole time . So new accomodation next time for us
As I said I've always stayed here but no more .

Room Tip: Don't bother go where they're happy to have your business
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

This hotel is in a good location in Sanur. Just a few minutes walk to the famous Sanur beach and if you rent a bike from the hotel it is easy to see other parts of Sanur by bike. The pool in the hotel is a very good place to relax and take a nap in a hot afternoon. My room was tidy and cozy, but the only let down was the bathroom. It needed major upgrade. Internet in the hotel was very good. Over all I found this is a good budget hotel for anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Very bad mold smell in the room which gave me a bad cough, very hard to sleep. Mattress seemed old and it was uncomfortable. Large ants crawling around on the floor as I was shown to the room, and the staff didn't even make a move to do anything about it. I stayed in two different rooms with similar experiences in both. The first night in an upstairs room, the door was very thin and low quality, not even real wood. The second night was on the ground floor. In that room, locking the door from the inside was a simple sliding bolt (they said "Balinese style") which was not very secure. I would never stay here again. Sure, the gardens and pool are pretty, but not worth sacrificing one's health and safety.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kadekbudhaya, Administrator at Puri Kelapa Garden Cottages, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing us which sometimes it's the only way we know what needs to be improved on. Our room service department is working on the odor and general cleanliness of all rooms.
We apologize for your unpleasant stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The hotel is well located in Sanur area,the garden is beautifully landscaped and well suited the hotel´`s appearance, the rooms are a bit worm out,the pool is lovely located in the middle of the hotel, the staff is friendly and always willing cooperation.
I can also recommend the hotel`s resturant,where the food is very tasty.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Puri Kelapa Garden Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Kelapa Garden Cottages

Address: Jl. Segara Ayu No. 1 Sanur, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Puri Kelapa Garden Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puri Kelapa Garden Cottages is a hidden away home, away from home. Quietly tucked away in the mid of green surrounding, Puri Kelapa is Serene & Peaceful. It is located at the heart of the traditional village of Sanur with approximately 45 minutes’ drive from airport, 15 minutes’ drive from the capital city of Bali & 5 minutes’ walk to Sanur famous sunrise beach & market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Puri Kelapa Garden Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Kelapa Garden Cottages Hotel Sanur
Puri Kelapa Garden Hotel
Puri Kelapa Garden Cottages Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puri Kelapa Garden Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.