We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So So” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Puri Kelapa Garden Cottages

Save Saved
You added Puri Kelapa Garden Cottages to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Puri Kelapa Garden Cottages
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Segara Ayu No. 1 Sanur, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 63 hotels in Sanur
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“So So”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

They call it garden cottages but actually only some of them are cottages and I believe all the same price. We had two rooms next to each other on the upper level and they where ok. They need updating and the beds are worn out. The rooms were also very noisy, I could hear my parents in law talking in their room next door and visa versa. So maybe it would have been better to have a room above each other, depending on how much you value your privacy from your in laws. I would prefer a downstairs room all together because of the patio. It is a little more spacious than the balcony upstairs. We had a very big and stubborn cockroach in our room which at one point walked over my boyfriends head in the middle of the night. Not so pleasant but we are in the tropics. The pool area is nice, breakfast good and varied.

We found the woman (hostess?) from the restaurant a little annoying. Very pushy and not genuine. We never had dinner there because of this.

The staff to us was a little indifferent. When we left we mentioned the cockroach so they could remove it for the next guest but they really did not seem to care. We asked for a scooter rental and after one call she told us to just go to the street and rent one. Our laundry got lost and also in that case they seemed indifferent. Just not a very good click, not rude but not really interested either.

Location is good, on the far side of Sanurs main street and close to the beach.

People call it cheap but I dont agree. All and all I think for this price you can find much better places.

Room Tip: If you like privacy choose a upstairs room, if you like a nice place to sit outside choose a downsta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    59
    27
    6
    1
See reviews for
14
47
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This was a stopover stay so I can't comment on staff performance. The room I was given was opposite the pool and pretty tired, probably one of the original rooms at the resort.

It was reasonably clean, however the bath/shower was a bit grubby, and the towels were appalling, they really need to be replaced. There was no TV in the room.

The grounds are lovely, the pool clean, and you can get a massage at the pool, however at 150rp I would (and did) go elsewhere for a great massage at 60rp.

They have good bikes for hire, a free lending library and wifi for 10,000rp for the week. I was pretty certain it had free wifi, but was told I had to pay.

Overall this hotel is ok, the room I was given was fairly average, I've stayed in better, and worse for the same price.

Room Tip: Close to the pool was ok, although it may get noisy. You may want to request a newer room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tilburg
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We visited Puri Kelapa for the 4th time in 5 years. We like to stay there for a couple a days. One of the reasons is the very reasonable price
at $40 per night. Other good things about the hotel is the service. The complete staff is committed to ensure that you have a pleasant stay. This together
with the garden and the pool is the main draw for us. If it's not too crowded, the swimming pool is an ideal place to chill and get some rest.
It is also evident that Puri Kelapa is trying to make more name. The new sign and the new brochures show that they intend to professionalize their business.
Nowadays you can also rent bikes at the reception and they have just opened a brand new Warung (try the delicious Tom Ka or Tom Yam soup!).
The visitors are mainly Aussies and Dutch people. Apart from the occasional dutch loudmouths no problem here.

The rooms however need a huge upgrading. From the televisions to the showercurtains, Puri Kelapa needs to improve. Dirty stains on sheets and showercurtains
, ants in the room, televisions with antenna's, poor pillows, dirty closets are not acceptable. I agree that the wifi is not fast, but that is a problem for whole Bali.
Because of these reasons and the fact that other newer hotels pop up that provide cleaner rooms at the same price, I am not sure that we will return. Don't
get me wrong: we obviously love this place as Puri has a special place in our heart. However they mus't drastically improve the rooms for modern travellers.
Hope they do it!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

stylish decoration with indonesia traditional artwork mixed in a nicely arranged tropical garden. hot and strong shower especially appreciated by divers after soaking in cold water to wait for molar molar. easily accessible and at the suburb of town centre full of high ended hotels.
peaceful and quiet to stay in the resort, but at the same time can have fun outdoor in few minutes.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarvar, Hungary
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

An atmospheric balinese hotel in a big, beautiful tropical garden.
The beach is close, it's a good starting point for tours also.
I spent 7 nights here. Wide, nicely furnished balinese room, with freezer, tv, air conditioning. Comfortable balcony. The bathroom is big, but probably need some renovation. The bathtub is in a slightly rough condition. Most of the rooms have a view of the well keept, wonderful looking garden and the pool. Sunbeds with matresses are available.
Quiet, safe, and well-groomed area, suitable for a longer stay too.
The breakfast is not a buffet, but you can order from the menu. The food is delicious, but not as much as you might want, even for those with a smaller appetite. You can book a massage for a good price in the hotel.
Price/value is OK.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

To sum things up - stay here if what you want is a basic comfortable and clean room to stay in with brilliant staff.

We enjoyed our stay at Puri Kelapa and strongly recommend this hotel. It's not a 5 star hotel. The rooms are basic, clean and comfortable. We enjoyed our time at the pool and found all staff to be very kind, friendly and helpful. The bed we had was extremely comfortable. Another guest told us that they had reported a spring sticking out of their mattress to the management and the mattress was replaced with a brand new one that day even though they could have just turned the mattress over. This is a good sign that management care about the hotel.
The hotel is 2 - 5 minutes walk from Sanur Beach and even closer to the taxi rank. It is an easy walk to bars and restaurants and has a nice pool area. Most afternoons, Nyoman (staff member) is never far from you if you need anything.
Prices for accommodation are very reasonable as are food and drinks.
The hotel is slowly having all rooms renovated, which does not disturb guests.
The hotel can book tours or drivers and also has a massage and spa service.

We met numerous guests who stay up to 6 times a year and the hotel values all of it's guests.

Room Tip: Rooms are being refurbished, this will not inconvenience you. All rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I've been there for 5 nights with my girlfriend. Prices are ok, the garden is nice, the position of the hotel is nice too. Unfortunately I had to kill 3 very big and fast running cockroaches. One of them had yellow points on its back and was on the bathroom wall close to my toothbrush... The rooms are clean so I don't understand how this is possible.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Puri Kelapa Garden Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Kelapa Garden Cottages

Address: Jl. Segara Ayu No. 1 Sanur, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Puri Kelapa Garden Cottages 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puri Kelapa Garden Cottages is a hidden away home, away from home. Quietly tucked away in the mid of green surrounding, Puri Kelapa is Serene & Peaceful. It is located at the heart of the traditional village of Sanur with approximately 45 minutes’ drive from airport, 15 minutes’ drive from the capital city of Bali & 5 minutes’ walk to Sanur famous sunrise beach & market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Puri Kelapa Garden Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Kelapa Garden Cottages Hotel Sanur
Puri Kelapa Garden Hotel
Puri Kelapa Garden Cottages Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puri Kelapa Garden Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.