We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good beach side hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prama Sanur Beach Bali

Save Saved
You added Prama Sanur Beach Bali to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Danau Tamblingan P.O. Box 3279, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia (Formerly Sanur Beach Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 64 hotels in Sanur
Cascais, Portugal
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very good beach side hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Extremely well located right on the beach and very close to the village center.
The hotel offers a shuttle service every 20 minutes to the village center and back - very very good! But one can also just walk on the main street right in front of the hotel, with lots of shops, restaurants, banks, etc .... everything is within walking distance.
Two wonderfull big swimming pools which are never too crowded.
The beach is very nice - lots of space and lots of sun beds and shades. The water is very clean and it is very good for children because it does not have big waves and it does not run too deep - only at adult waste level.
The rooms are nice and clean.
Breakfast is excellent - lots of variety of food, drinks and fruit. We tried lunch in the beach restaurant and it was not very good - lots more better options in the village.
Staff is very friendly and helpful.
It is a good base to visit the Kuta / Jimbaran / Panang Panang and of course Denpasar area of the island.
Wi-fi internet everywhere (even at the beach ...!) and good speed.

Room Tip: Rooms with view to the garden are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan M, General Manager at Prama Sanur Beach Bali, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Warm greetings from Prama Sanur Beach Bali.
Thank you for the time taken to comment on your previous stay at our hotel.
We are pleased to see that you have enjoyed our facilities and services provided. We have also taken note of those areas where we still can improve and will take the necessary steps accordingly.
We are looking forward to see you again. Please feel free to contact me at anytime, if I can be of any assistance. stefan.mueller@aerowisatahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,214 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    498
    491
    159
    47
    19
See reviews for
277
536
66
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Lincoln, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I'm not staying at this Hotel but the beachside Bamboo Bar is excellent. Completely rebuilt in 2014 the bar is absolute beach front with comfy lounges and suspended swing seats at the bar area. Staff are friendly and attentive with access to a great range of drinks, nice coffee and wood oven pizzas.
Highly recommended as a place to chill and watch the kite surfers in the trade winds during June July and August

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan M, General Manager at Prama Sanur Beach Bali, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Mr. Jim,

Warm greetings from Prama Sanur Beach Bali.
Thank you for the recent comments you made while having stayed at our property.
We are delighted to see that you have enjoyed our facilities and services provided.
Our staff and I are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Should there be anything else I can assist you with in the meantime, do not hesitate to contact me personally. stefan.mueller@aerowisatahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

stayed june 2014,,great location,good service,fantastic pools,good breakfest,beautiful gardens,close to good restaurants,and cafes,bars and shops,the beach pathis great for a morning walk or bike ride which we did

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan M, General Manager at Prama Sanur Beach Bali, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Mr. Andrew,

Warm greetings from Prama Sanur Beach Bali.
Thank you for the recent comments you made while having stayed at our property.
We are delighted to see that you have enjoyed our facilities and services provided.
Our staff and I are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Should there be anything else I can assist you with in the meantime, do not hesitate to contact me personally. stefan.mueller@aerowisatahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The hotel itself is beautiful, safe, clean. The restaurants are really good, very attentive staff. The actual room we stayed in needed TLC / renovation. It was dusty/moldy bathroom old. Did not fit in with the rest of the resort. If you don't spend a lot of time in the hotel room then it is Ok.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan M, General Manager at Prama Sanur Beach Bali, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Mrs. Beth,

Warm greetings from Prama Sanur Beach Bali.
Thank you for the time taken to comment on your previous stay at our hotel.
We are pleased to see that you have enjoyed our facilities and services provided. We have also taken note of those areas where we still can improve and will take the necessary steps accordingly.
We are looking forward to see you again. Please feel free to contact me at anytime, if I can be of any assistance. stefan.mueller@aerowisatahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed at this for four nights in May with our four year old daughter.
This hotel is well located but in definite need of some TLC. Compared to other hotels in the same price bracket nearby, this hotel is dated and in need of updating.
The rooms are a good size but again, very old fashioned - although they were nice and clean.
As it is situated right in on the beach it is well located to explore Sanur and there are a lot of restaurants nearby.
The pool area was very clean, although the pool itself had crack tiles on the floor which lead to some cut feet.
By far, the best thing about this hotel was the food. The breakfast buffet was outstanding with an unbelievable variety of dishes.
As with everywhere in Bali, the staff were friendly and couldn't do enough for you.
Overall, a good hotel, with nothing particularly wrong with it, just overdue a refurbishment.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed here for 7 nights in June 2014. We are frequent visitors to Bali and sleepy Sanur is our favourite spot to stay. This hotel is at the quieter southern end of Sanur Beach, but still has plenty of spas, restaurants and shops close by both on JL Cemara and the beach path that runs the entire length of Sanur beach. The hotel provides a regular shuttle up to Nth Sanur and back every 20 mins or so.
The hotel is large, and honestly a little dated. However, the rooms and grounds are well kept, clean and functional. As long as you are not looking for cutting edge design, this hotel will fulfil all your needs. This hotel should really rate 4 stars, but when compared to the 5 star Puri Santiran just next door (where we stay often), you essentially get the exact same experience with just a little less polish, but with a significant $ saving.
It's absolutely worth spending a little extra to secure a sea view room on the 4th floor - the outlook is lovely and quite a rare occurrence in Bali without spending a mint!
The new Bamboo Bar on the beach is a really cool recent addition, and hopefully a sign of further redevelopment to come.
If staying here, eating within the hotel is good, and the Italian restaurant is probably the best offering. The beachside wood fired Pizza Bar is a great and cheap option for pool side lunches.
Outside of the hotel, we recommend dining at The Fire Station which is just down the road and serves a great contemporary menu, cocktails and wine at reasonable prices and a cool atmosphere. Also Paon serves great Indonesian just outside the hotel and The Cat & Fiddle pub again just outside do both great Indonesian and Western food. If you want to spoil yourself a little, the Mezzanine restaurant next door at Puri Santrian has a great Asian fusion menu but it's pricey. Also try 3 Monkeys if you are up in Northern Sanur for a high end meal.
Overall, the location and service are the stars here.
Hopefully the recent rebranding to Prama will see some upgrades, but in the meantime, this hotel is a very safe bet for a good holiday experience at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room on the 4th floor for a great outlook across the pool to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan M, General Manager at Prama Sanur Beach Bali, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Mr. Scott,

Warm greetings from Prama Sanur Beach Bali.
Thank you for the time taken to comment on your previous stay at our hotel.
We are pleased to see that you have enjoyed our facilities and services provided. We have also taken note of those areas where we still can improve and will take the necessary steps accordingly.
We are looking forward to see you again. Please feel free to contact me at anytime, if I can be of any assistance. stefan.mueller@aerowisatahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel a couple times in the past 15 months. It used to be a decent value for being on Sanur Beach. It is no longer a good value. They have renovated most of their rooms but they still seem like they haven't been renovated since the 1980's. The grounds are nice and the location is good. The pools are in need of renovation (many tiles are cracked and grout is old). The reception/check-in process is very slow and the lobby is old/dated and not welcoming. There were very few front-desk staff that were particularly friendly.

They have a number of activities which are nice. They have bikes to rent and enough lounge chairs for everyone.

The restaurants are average and very overpriced. I HIGHLY suggest walking toward the water and taking a left on the path. There are a number of GREAT restaurants for a VERY good price. My favorite is the one with the white chairs and the one just past that (with brown chairs). These restaurants are open for lunch and dinner and you'd be silly not to eat there (GREAT food for a good price RIGHT on the beach).

Breakfast is quite good. It is a very large buffet and there is something for everyone. Very happy with the breakfast.

They are re-branding themselves as a 5-star resort (recently changed their name to "Prama Sanur Beach Hotel" I have stayed at many 5-star hotels/resorts. Technically, this might qualify as a 5-star resort, but it has the feel of a 2 or 3-star property. Make no mistake, there are MUCH better options for a comparable price (check Puri Santrian just a couple doors down).

If you have kids--this is the place for you! The kids will like it. The many kids we have seen & heard there seem to be having a great time.

My wife and I travel around the world (mostly South and Southeast Asia) year-round. We stay in 80-100 hotels per year. We also tour many more hotels for our guests & tours (about 300 per year). We generally seek out hotels that are highly rated on TripAdvisor and Agoda so my reviews are naturally skewed toward the high end. My reviews are generally based on overall value (how much you get for what you pay). We generally stay in low mid-range hotels but have stayed in everything from hostels to luxury 5-star accommodations. If I give a 4 or 5 star rating you can rest assured it’s a nice hotel. It goes without saying that I have received nothing for submitting this review.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prama Sanur Beach Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prama Sanur Beach Bali

Address: Jl. Danau Tamblingan P.O. Box 3279, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia (Formerly Sanur Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#10 Family Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Prama Sanur Beach Bali 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 4 star plus Hotel, with two large pools located right by the beach. Magnificent lush gardens and Hotel grounds with ample choice of restaurants & shops in Resort as well as just a stroll away.Suitable for the entire family from kids to grandpa... just 30 minutes from the International airport. There is so much activity and things to do in lovely Sanur, the preferred address in Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Prama Sanur Beach Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Hotel Sanur
Beach Sanur
Prama Sanur Beach Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prama Sanur Beach Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.