We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value - excellent beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prama Sanur Beach Bali

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Prama Sanur Beach Bali to your Saves list
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Danau Tamblingan P.O. Box 3279, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia (Formerly Sanur Beach Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 67 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Good value - excellent beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is a nice old hotel that is crying to be renovated. If you are elderly, loud Dutch pensioners, you'd feel right at home. Lovely well kept beach. Big garden with minimum of vegetation compared to all surrounding hotels' magnificent landscaped gardens. B'fast OK, but monotonous and boring. Very friendly staff like every where on the Island. Try to stay on the top two floors with Sea View toward the ends.

Room Tip: Best rooms are on floors 3 & 4 - Sea Views toward the end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    578
    204
    62
    26
See reviews for
333
647
79
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Just a wonderful stay really felt like a paradise place, all staff are pleasant and friendly. Yummy breakfast every morning, cozy restaurant and pool.
Great location close to everything. lovely ppl and atmosphere.
Wonderful staff made our stay feel like home.We will return for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a deluxe room which was a good size and comfortable. If you are a non smoker make sure you request a nonsmoking room as other rooms have a strong smoke odour and even the corridor to the lobby smells of cigarette smoke. Pool is large and clean but needs a bit a maintenance. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Some good places to eat & drink just outside the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, Netherlands
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed at the Sanur Beach Hotel for 9 days over New Year, which was our second visit over the past 8 months. Once again our stay was very enjoyable, the staff staff were all very friendly and helpful. The big rooms are clean and comfortable. The variety of the breakfast buffet is real huge and food is excellent. Great location with a nice garden, 2 pools, and all new beach beds..
We can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is my 2nd stay at this property and I am glad I came back. New furniture in the main restaurant, a cleaner smoother flow at the breakfast buffet stations and new pool and beach lounge chairs. The service was excellent as usual, whereas with a property that has been here for this long you would expect to find sleepy/stubborn senior staff. Everyone greeted you with a smile and even addressed me by my name. The food has been excellent throughout. Taste and presentation and certainly not scrimping on portion sizes. The rooms are clean, everything works and there's excellent fast free wi fi. The grounds are clean and peaceful. The hidden duck pond area is an excellent photo venue, a new spa was being built, and all around just lush gardens.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Not into breathtaking views, cozy rooms and warm friendly staff to assist you? Then this isnt the hotel for you.

I enjoyed every moment of my stay at this hotel. Great location, beautiful views, friendly and helpful staff. The value was exceptional. I'll definitely book another stay again. Very close to excellent restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Sask.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

It was our first time at a Resort Hotel so I have nothing to compare it to. This first experience was perfect.

We stayed at the Sanur Beach Hotel for a week. Upon arrival we were immediately met by warm and friendly staff who treated us like royalty.

1. Excellent location to the ocean. When they say “Beach Hotel”, they really meant it. The only thing separating the hotel compound and the ocean was a walking path.

2. It was much larger than expected. Two large swimming pools, tennis courts, many gardens, four restaurants and even a play room for children.

3. The rooms were large with a reasonably sized balcony/w table and chairs which overlooked the garden. Some rooms overlooked the swimming area and restaurants.

4. A well-stocked mini bar with inexpensive prices (in CAD: Pop and Beer - $2, Peanuts - $1.50, Chocolate Bars - $2, etc.). Two large complimentary bottles of water each day. You will need this as Bali is very hot.

5. Adjustable shower head for the tall people. The highest point would be around 6.5ft. Our room only had a shower, which we were fine with. There are some rooms with bath/shower combination but I believe they are in the Suites. I notice that some reviews indicated that the bathroom was small. I did not find this the case at all.

6. Best buffet breakfast/brunch ever. Incredible selection from American style to local fare. I found with the layout, even during the busy times, there were reasonable amount of space to move around and get what you need.

7. I couldn’t say enough about the friendly service. From the servers, doormen, front desk to housekeeping. During our departure a housekeeping staff was down the hall in preparation to clean a room. By the fact, that we had suitcases he knew we were leaving. He did not hesitate to come over to say good-bye.

8. Large closet with lots of shelving for clothes.

9. Four restaurants: The Tirta Poolside is an open-air restaurant that is used for the breakfast buffet. There’s nothing like having breakfast with the ocean beside you.

Basilico Italian Pavilion & Bar - We had our first evening meal here and it was excellent. Large portions of Calzone and Lasagna, wine and beer for around $35. This same meal in my hometown would have been double in price.

We never made it to the other two restaurants so I could not comment on them.

10. If you are on a budget, there are many small local restaurants along the ocean if you take the walking path in either direction of the hotel. A good size meal will run about $5 to $7.

11. Even though Hardy’s is close enough to walk, there is a complimentary bus that will take you there.

12. Free WiFi and working fine.

13. The electrical system maybe a bit tricky. In order to turn the lights on and bring power into the room, you need to insert your hotel card into a box located right beside the door. However, you can still charge any batteries overnight (cellphone, camera, etc). Leave the card in the box and switch the light off by the main controls located beside the bed. As some may find this a negative, I look it as a positive. This conservation energy saving technique prevents people from leaving the lights on in their room when they are not there.

14. A bank in the hotel for those who want to make change to smaller bills (only open from Mon to Fri). There is a MoneyExchanger right by the entrance however, they will not exchange for smaller bills. We came across this issue as we needed some smaller bills for tipping. Since we arrived in the evening, we felt bad for not having any money to leave our baggage handler. There is also an ATM at the entrance of the road leading to the hotel. Located on the right-hand side immediately after the security gate when leaving the hotel.

If I was to return Bali, I would stay here again. I was disappointed in reading some reviews who have this place at a one or two star rating. It's too bad the emphasis was placed in small negative details as to overall experience.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for a room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Prama Sanur Beach Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prama Sanur Beach Bali

Address: Jl. Danau Tamblingan P.O. Box 3279, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia (Formerly Sanur Beach Hotel)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sanur
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#10 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#12 Family Hotel in Sanur
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Prama Sanur Beach Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 5 star Hotel, with two large pools located right by the beach. Magnificent lush gardens and Hotel grounds with ample choice of restaurants & shops in Resort as well as just a stroll away.Suitable for the entire family from kids to grandpa... Just 20 minutes from the International airport. There is so much activity and things to do in lovely Sanur, the preferred address in Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Prama Sanur Beach Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Hotel Sanur
Beach Sanur
Prama Sanur Beach Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prama Sanur Beach Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.