We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sanur getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prama Sanur Beach Bali

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Prama Sanur Beach Bali to your Saves list
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Danau Tamblingan P.O. Box 3279, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia (Formerly Sanur Beach Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 67 Hotels in Sanur
sydney
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“sanur getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have just returned fom Bali after spending 13 nights, 6 starting at the Sanur Beach Resort.
I just happened to email SBR a week before we left to check on our booking and to make sure that we could get an interconnecting room for the ocean view rooms. I had a mild heart attack when a reply came from the SBR saying that they do not have interconnecting rooms at all, which is contrary to what our travel agent told us. So to cut a long process short the SBR changed our booking so that we could have interconnecting rooms for my husband and I and our 2 kids. What a relief contacting them and them sorting it out so quickly- thanks SBR.
As there was 12 of us staying at the resort the checkin was a bit long and for some reason we didn't even get someone to show us to our rooms, the person at the checkin counter just pointed us in the direction of our rooms. Luckily our baggage man came along when we were getting a bit lost and he pointed us in the right direction.
I would have thought that with so many of us they could have spared us a person to come with us to our rooms, so that was a bit disappointing.
Our 2 interconnecting rooms were clean and tidy and we also had a very old hairdrier attached to the wall which has been spoken about in other reviews. i didn't come to spend the whole time in the bathroom so used it sparingly when needed.
The resort is beautiful with their whole set-up and its obvious that presentation is a high priority.
We were alittle annoyed though with the sweeping person commencing their day at 6am which tended to wake us all up. We did ask at reception if they could perhaps sweep abit later but the next morning at 6am they were there- at least you knew what time it was when you heard him in the morning as they do not provide digital clocks in the rooms.
Our mattress was very firm and we were a bit worried about sleeping on it but we found we woke up with no problems, in fact my husband thought his bad back had improved because of it.
Each day housekeeping provided 2 bottles of water and restocked tea and coffee but there was a few days when we had to ring and ask for more tea and sugar as they did forget, which they promptly sent to us.
1 other negative about the room was that our shower had very poor water pressure, but others in our party had good pressure so it may have been a one off.
Breakfast was very extensive and all the staff were very friendly and could not do enough for you.
We loved that we could just walk out to the boardwalk and go in either direction to either shop or eat.
1 day we hired some bikes 2 doors up on the boardwalk to the left and cycled down further to tootsies to shop and have lunch. It was an easy ride and people are very accommodating to you
when you ring your bell. My 9 year old fell off a few times and he would have had at least 5 balinese people rushing to help him up- that was great!
There are some great restaurants in Sanur from all cuisines- we had great chinese, italian and of course balinese.
The pools were great also and our kids enjoyed playing basketball in the pool. They also enjoyed playing the lifesized chess board.
My sister-in law and I tried the day spa which was nice, not cheap though and my 3 hour treatment only went for 2 1/2 hours.
The hawkers are there once you go onto the beach but you mostly only have to say no once and they move on but they will come back each day.
There were lots of watersports on offer but they were a bit pricey. My husband did sailing for an hour and it cost him $30 aus. We saw some parasailing being done but they only went up one end of the beach and back, it seemed to only last 5 minutes.
I was a little worried about the smoking factor at the resort but they have designated smoking sections in the restaurants and our rooms didn't seem to be affected by any previous smoking occupants, so that was a huge relief.
If we were to go to Sanur again I would consider staying at this resort again as it is in a great spot with lots of good restaurants and shopping and it's not as crazy as Kuta.
There is a little mini mart just outside the resort to stock up on essentials if needed. There is also a Commonwealth Bank atm at the Trophy bar which was handy but you do get charged $2 international handling fee from them even if you are their customer here back in oz.
A suggestion would be for the resort to have a hewsletter sliped under your door each day to let you know what was going on in the resort as it is a big resort and sometimes you miss out on things that have been on.

Thanks for an enjoyable first time in Bali Sanur Beach Resort.

Room Tip: check with the resort about rooms if you aren't sure or your travel agent doesn't know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    538
    180
    51
    26
See reviews for
304
598
72
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

trip for family holiday.
check in was so smooth, so was the check out process as well..
everything is perfect!
started from the room (clean & neat), staffs (so friendly of them) , location, food and beverage..
everything seems compiled in one word: excellent! :)
definetelly will come back there! :D

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Didn't enjoy this hotel at all starting with my check-in. Reception staff weren't friendly or genuine. Seemed stuck-up almost if you can say that in Bali.

Room was ok but probably smallish if anything. The bathroom and decor in general quite dated.
Need a hotel towel for the beach/pool however the hut where they provide them is always a trek.

The drivers that service the hotel are a rip off. They wanted 5 times the cost for a trip I knew the price for.

I had a scooter and I had to park myself which was another trek fro the door. No one offered to park for me.

Lastly I asked to extend my stay only to be told they're fully booked. Fair enough. Except I could have then booked a room via three separate sites: agoda.com, hotels.com and bookings.com.
For a 4 star hotel, there are far better in Sanur.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Just returned home after staying in Sanur for 8 days. We had the best time there. The hotel staff are very friendly and cant do enough for you. The room was very comfortable, the bed was fantastic, I like a hard mattress. The buffet breakfast was fantastic as was the meal and show on the Saturday night. We enjoyed drinks in the Bamboo bar. The prices in the hotel for food and drink was very reasonable. Will definitely return to this hotel for future holidays.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the pools and gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Grove, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We just returned from Bali and our wonderful time at the Sanur Beach Hotel. We stayed for 6 nts in July and 9 nts in Aug/Sep. Our first stay at the SBH was in 2002 and we had a very enjoyable time. We tried a couple of other hotels to be close to some friends....but we have converted our friends to stay with us at the SBH and we will all continue to do so.. Our first visits to SBH we booked Deluxe Ocean Veiw room which were very nice but our last few visits we decided to treat ourselves to a Junior Suite. All the rooms have balconies, pleasantly furnished and decorated and --- CLEAN ---. The property is beautifully landscaped with 2 large pools + childrens pools. The beach area is huge, and just like to pool is very well maintained. Since our visit in 2011 the hotel has doubled the lounge chairs and umbrellas in the pool and beach areas. The food and drink service in both areas is excellent. SBH has 4 restaurants serving Italian, Mexican, Continental & Balinese dishes. There is an open air dinner ( Buffet style ) with Balinese Dancers or other entertainment. My favorite -- the enormous breakfast buffet or you can have food cooked to order while you watch.
All the food breakfast , lunch and dinner are excellent & should satisfy anyone's desire. SBH is only 1/2 HR from the airport and many shops are within walking distance. The hotel also provides a free shuttle to Hardy's, a large market/department store. It departs & returns 2 times every hour. I did discover on our last trip, out of need, there is a full time doctor & nurse on the hotel property. The staff at the hotel are the most friendly & helpful people. You can approch any person at any time, and with a smile they will always make every effort to fullfil any reasonable request. We will be returning to the Saunur Beach Hotel in April and Nov 2013 and we are looking forward to more wonderful experiences.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We were booked in here by our travel agent for 3 nights at the end of 25 days of two back-to-back tours in Indonesia. The whole place is very impressive – at the quieter southern end of Sanur Beach with very nice gardens and two swimming pools, and across the pedestrian walkway to the beach. At low tide you could just about walk out as far as the reef and at high tide the water is only about chest height for 100m. Reception (and all other) staff very helpful and friendly. Our package included an excellent breakfast with everything you could possibly need and more – Indonesian and western food, fresh omelettes/eggs, array of fruits, cereal, bread – and good coffee. There is something in the way of entertainment with food on most nights.
The room was very good and spacious with a balcony and tea/coffee making facilities, large flat-screen TV, free in-room wi-fi, with large shower room. We opted for a beach view room which overlooked the larger of the two pools and across to the beach. There is an on-site branch of a local bank and at the end of the driveway are ATMs and a minimart.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have just returned from another wonderful holiday at Sanur Beach Hotel. From the ist moment we arrived the staff were very friendly & helpful. The surrounding gardens R magnificent & improving. We stayed in Beach View rooms & found them very comfortable. There R 2 large pools leading onto the beach & gives U a lovely breeze both day & night. Wonderful & hearty breakfast served beside the beach with a wonderful variety 2 serve all tastes. Hotel is very close 2 all services & outdoor restaurants. Sanur is a wonderful envioroment 4 Families & allows 4 a very relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms Overlooking Garden or beach R lovely rooms. Rooms above ground level R quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prama Sanur Beach Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prama Sanur Beach Bali

Address: Jl. Danau Tamblingan P.O. Box 3279, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia (Formerly Sanur Beach Hotel)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sanur
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#10 Family Hotel in Sanur
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Prama Sanur Beach Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 4 star plus Hotel, with two large pools located right by the beach. Magnificent lush gardens and Hotel grounds with ample choice of restaurants & shops in Resort as well as just a stroll away.Suitable for the entire family from kids to grandpa... just 30 minutes from the International airport. There is so much activity and things to do in lovely Sanur, the preferred address in Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Prama Sanur Beach Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Hotel Sanur
Beach Sanur
Prama Sanur Beach Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prama Sanur Beach Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.