We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location with a fantastic garden and nice pool with beach access” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Besakih Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Besakih Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Besakih Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Danau Tamblingan 45 | PO BOX 3306, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 64 hotels in Sanur
salt lake savusavu
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous location with a fantastic garden and nice pool with beach access”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Really like this hotel you can't eat it for the money.the gardens are wonderful and the pool is great. The beach access enables you to have free beach chairs and they have a cafe on the beach too. The rooms are old style but comfortable

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    110
    59
    19
    11
See reviews for
74
108
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This was my second stay here and unfortunately the last. On arrival everything was great. Then our airconditioner didnot work. Yes we changed rooms after 2days and alot of discussion. The cleanliness of the room and especially the bathroom is terrible after bleaching the toilet ect it was marginally better. Within the first week our shower drain was blocked and we reported it several times to be told yes we have fixed it. The basin sink my husband ended up unblocking it himself,the stuff that came out of it was enough to make you dry reach!! As for the clean bed linen that was a joke, especially on our second last night we go to get into our freshly changed sheets to find it covered in sand, small leaves and a few dead bugs!!! I reported this to the manager also telling him about the drains which were still had not fixed. I then had 6 of them follow me back to our room to see what the problem was. I showed him the stuff out of the sink drain and then the blocked shower which they finally put the plunger over it sucked a coulpe of times (It fixed now ) was the reply. Once again after using the shower it was still blocked and shrugged off again!!!
Then on our last day you could not swim in the main pool as it was off. A very nice couple which we met up with over there and have also been staying here for several years reported this to the manger. The managers reply was that they knew about it and that the filter was broken, but not enough money to fix it, our friend said that at the end of the day it's not good enough as we are paying for facilities we can't use. To all of our disbelief the managers response was " If you don't like it go and stay at another hotel"
We will be finding another hotel as there are several hotels alongside the Besakih which are the same advertised price and offer alot more for your money!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I'll start with the pros.
Besakih Beach Resort is in the perfect location along the beach. The pool is one of the best overlooking the boardwalk onto the beach. It was so easy to walk out onto the street and you had restaurants and day spas and shops all around you. Only 10 min walk to Hardey's shops. Only 10 minutes walk in the other direction to the night market (which I highly recommend you try for a cheap meal). The staff are very friendly, although it was hard to get a beer occasionally at the pool bar. We travelled with our 7 month old daughter and everyone just loved her and stopped to say hello constantly. They provided us with a free cot. They are certainly very accommodating of babies.
There are many regulars who visit the Besakih several times a year (mainly Aussies). We met quite a few of them and everyone is so nice and friendly. They all welcomed us with open arms and we always had a great chat with them all at the pool. If you want a social holiday to meet people then this is the place for you.
The gardens are lovely too.

The cons. The rooms really need updating. They are very average compared with other places we have stayed at in Bali. The TV reception was not great and there is no WIFI in the rooms (I know you must be asking why we are watching TV or going on the Internet on our holiday but don't forget we had a 7 month old baby who took regular naps and went to bed early too). You could only access WIFI in the pool or front lobby areas.

Overall, I'd definitely stay here again. The pros outweighed the cons massively. Recommended.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Lincoln, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

After having been to Bali several times before ths was our first stay in Sanur. We decided to stay at the Besakih beause of the location and the reviews. We were met at reception by Sri and found her very efficient and quite helpful.

The layout of the grounds is quite nice with 2 pools, one with a swim up bar. They are not big pools but do the job well . This suited us as we dont like the big resort feel. The restaurant faces the beach with some dining on the beach. The beer is cold and the food is tasty and cheap enough. Breakfast was cooked well and the coffee very good.

The rooms are big enough and clean. The only criticism is that in the bathrooms there is obvious signs of age. Tiles replaced and the grout is not a good match. Bit of grime in some corners, however overall not too bad.

The location is excellent. Just walk out the front and you are on the beach front walk way. This is much better than the Tanjung Benoa / Nusa Dua one. For the most part it is flat and tree covered. There are lots of good places to eat and some markets nearby. Hardys shopping mall is a 10 minute walk.

Overall we liked it and would definitely stay here again

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Having stayed at the Besakih for a number of years it is time to move on for better value for money. We found that although the rooms are clean, location and pool great with the staff very friendly the maintenance has been lacking and whilst there we viewed other places to see what is on offer and was quiet surprised, hence the writing of this review. we decided that the Tamukami Hotel was cheaper and the bungalow suite absolutely beautiful you still had easy access to the beach via the sands if that is where you wish to be. The Sindhu beach markets are even closer and don't forget to visit Jeny (shop 29) for your fixed price no hassle shopping. Besakih restaurnt food was much to be desired but there are so many great eats out there like Ribs, Mona Lisa, Alise's for superb food at great prices.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the front as the laser bar music is very loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here during Nyepi, mid March. This hotel is really beautiful, with lovely tropical gardens, and in the right location. It's right on the beach and very close to restaurants, Hardy's Shopping Centre, laundries, Mini Marts etc. The Besakih gardens kept my young toddler and preschooler amused with their scattered fish ponds, turtles, lizards, statues and the resident cat and dog. The pool is great, very clean, and has a separate area for the young kids. Plenty of sunbeds, whether it be poolside or on the beach. Also the pool is in a sunny location, as the sun swings round there are nice shaded areas too, so it's great for anyone. We stayed in a superior stand alone bungalow, which was spacious and very clean. Even though we were right next to the reception and driveway, it was very quiet inside the room. The friendly cleaning staff did a great job, our rooms cleaned everyday, and tea/coffee replenished. Pool towels were supplied, and if we needed them swapped over for clean ones, all we needed to do was ask. Only negative was the restaurant staff, who were snobby and their table service was zero. We found this very strange as all the other staff were very nice and welcoming. The breakfast was great, fresh and hot. They had nasi goreng, mie goreng, toast, pancakes, fruit, juice, and cakes. No water is supplied, but shops are close by.

Room Tip: Superior Stand Alone Bungalows or Standard Upstairs Rooms towards the back of the hotel. All rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We were nervous after negative earlier reviews, but have come home full of praise for this beautiful old lady. The gardens are lush and tropical and the rooms clean and fully serviced every day.
The staff are very sweet and friendly and offer five star service.
The pools are awesome and we spent a lot of time lazing and indulging in ice cold Bintangs. We met lots of awesome people around the pool, of all different nationalities.
Lots of shopping and restaurants close by, and the massage/nail ladies on the beach were lovely.
We're going back later this year and Besakih is our destination.

Room Tip: We stayed in stand alone bungalow, which was quieter and a bit more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Besakih Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Besakih Beach Resort

Address: Danau Tamblingan 45 | PO BOX 3306, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Besakih Beach Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Besakih Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Besakih Beach Hotel Sanur
Besakih Beach Sanur
Besakih Beach Resort Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Besakih Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.