We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Great Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Besakih Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Besakih Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Besakih Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Danau Tamblingan 45 | PO BOX 3306, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 63 hotels in Sanur
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a Great Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This hotel is fantastically located, with so many good resturants within walking distance it is amazing. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to have a great holiday as it had an excellent atmosphere and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    106
    57
    16
    11
See reviews for
70
103
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Forster, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

After reading all the reviews I was concerned about staying at this hotel, but once there it was fantastic, our standard rooms were not tired at all, very clean with plenty of room. We ate at the restaurant for all our meals which were really yummy and the position on the beach can't be beat. Staff fantastic, yes lots of oldies but we chatted to a lot and they were really nice, the kids did experience a couple of grumps in the pool but we had the best time ever, would definitely recommend this hotel, compared to our 3 star hotels in australia, the Besaki runs rings around them.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Tired rooms make this hotel a little disappointing. However the location was absolutely fantastic. The pools were lovely and so were the gardens. Breakfast was standard but fine. Not much information was given when we checked in but overall the staff were friendly. Older clientele (we are 27 and 32(. You get what you pay with this hotel awesome location and pretty common areas, this is a great choice as long as you don't spend much time in your room.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We booked at Besakih as we had to vacate Ubud quickly for medical reasons. The standard rooms are well equipped with tea facilities, air-con, TV, safe etc. They also have more private rooms at the side and rear of the resort.
The standard rooms are in the form of a 2 story block and the footpath is right outside the ground floor units. This was not intrusive but it did make for a friendly environment as many guests chatted with each other.

Room Tip: The bungalows at the front of the property are more private if this is what you want, although we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We chose this hotel for its location and price. Great location, very close to restaurants and right on the beach. Free wifi at hotel reception or beach restaurant, but wifi doesn't work from your room. I always sat at pool area to use it or on beach in front of hotel. Basic standard twin room, fairly old. Swam in the clear water at the beach, as the pools were too cold and too much chlorine in the large pool. Smaller pool cleaner and better. Pretty gardens.
No room safe, only at reception.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This was our second visit to Sanur although the last was 12 years ago and our first at Besakih. We stayed in a standard bungalow for 10 days and the room was very clean with frequent changes of linen. Staff were very friendly and helpful. This hotel is ideally situated for the restaurants and shoppimg both on the street outside the hotel and along the beach front. Hardys supermarket, clothing and souvenirs (3 floors) were a fast 10 min walk to the south. Beauty salon across the road at the restauarant was very good. The Ameican breakfast at the hotel restaurant was more than adequate although you had to request cereal (only cornflakes) and brown bread toast. Some of the loungers at the pool are in the shade however there were plenty of loungers on the beach area as part of the hotel. We would have no hesitation staying again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bateau Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

This was our first stay in Sanur for 7 nights as we normally stay in Kuta ( I've been to Bali about 30 times ) and I must say we ( mixed family group of 5 ) loved it. It certainly is alot quieter than Kuta, which drove us abit stir crazy after awhile, we fixed that with a taxi ride over to Kuta for the day. Our young shopaholics loved it but then craved more ( we stayed over in Kuta for the last 17 days of our trip, that fixed them )
Originally I chose Peneeda Hotel and was swayed by a few people on this forum to look at Besakih, so I would like to thank everyone for their input as we loved our stay at Besakih and during our stay walked down to Peneeda and it is a little far from the action for my liking.
Our room was great, spacious, clean and the bed was very comfy. Yes it is a little dated, but for what we paid, we were more than happy. It was quiet sound proof and also nice and dark at night.
The only downside which also in the end didn't really bother us is that there is no safety deposit box in your room, it is in the office. I didn't feel that my money and documents were not secure enough, it's just I'm used to having a S.B in my room. It's more convenience than anything. They are smallish too.
The staff were all wonderful from front office, restaurant to cleaning.
It was lovely eating a very basic breakfast on the beach each morning and I consumed quiet a few nice cocktails at the bar.
It was nice to have the beach so close to the hotel and there was always sun loungers available to lie on. The water was very clean, although there were some form of lice in the water mainly where there was seaweed floating and even though we felt little electric shock type stings we didn't get any welts from them. We did go back in a few times too and it didn't seem to worry too many people. Strange.... The pool was nice to float around in, but it didn't, at that time of the year get too much sun on it ( which would be good for some ) it was a little colder than I would of liked, but also I like my pools warm. I also found our pool in Kuta quiet cold this year too. The gardens through out are just gorgeous.
I loved the beach walk and found Besakih was extremely central to everywhere. Bennos and sindhu beach markets not far and a circle K close by and it was a nice shady walk too. The hawkers in Sanur have nothing on the Kuta and Legian hawkers so they didn't worry us at all and no one at all worries you on the beach out front of Besakih.
I also found the hotel quiet secure, but the streets are so quiet at night I can't imagine too much goes wrong in Sanur. You do occasionally hear a little music from the bar across the road in the early evening, but it never kept us awake
Out on the street the hotel is surrounded by some fabulous restaurants, eating is exceptional in Sanur. The Village, Ratatouille, The Wicked Parrot, RIB and the best of all Starry House a Chinese restaurant towards Hardy's. It doesn't look much from outside, but the food and service are the best. Agung one of the waitresses there is so friendly and could not do enough for us, she received a very handsome tip from us...
Last but not least was our driver who is based at Besakih just as you walk out to the street Dewa we used him a couple of times and he is great, a little hard to understand but a very accommodating man.
I would most definitely stay there again....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Besakih Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Besakih Beach Resort

Address: Danau Tamblingan 45 | PO BOX 3306, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Besakih Beach Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Besakih Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Besakih Beach Hotel Sanur
Besakih Beach Sanur
Besakih Beach Resort Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Besakih Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.