We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It will be alright in the end, and if it is not alright it is not the end (hopefully it will be)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss-Belresort Watu Jimbar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Swiss-Belresort Watu Jimbar to your Saves list
Swiss-Belresort Watu Jimbar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Danau Tamblingan No. 99A, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 67 Hotels in Sanur
johannesburg
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“It will be alright in the end, and if it is not alright it is not the end (hopefully it will be)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed at this resort for 10 nights. Overall we enjoyed our stay, but there were a couple of small irritations that i think will be sorted when the resort is fully operational.
We stayed in a deluxe pool view room. The room was ok with a nice view, small bar fridge kettle etc..The finishes are not great as there is already chunks of veneer knocked off the shelving .There is also no door to the bathroom like the other rooms, (only cubicles with opaque glass doors) which didn't bother me too much. As i was there on business and used the desk quite often, i really would have liked a chair or stool to sit on at the desk!! I had to drag the one and only heavy, low chair without a cushion from the balcony all the time. It was too big to leave in the room as there really wasn 't space. Another chair for the balcony would also have been nice, i believe they have been ordered.
I did appreciate having a lap top safe in the room, as not many hotels do.
The beds and pillows were extremely comfortable and the aircon was nice and quiet. The room was cleaned very well on a daily basis.
The breakfast was ok, not the best i've had in Sanur though. The days when there wasn't a buffet were challenging as what we ordered was not always what we got, which was very frustrating. I ordered 2 pancakes and got 6 which i couldn't eat. We ordered bacon sausage and eggs, it came in bits and drabs on small plates not altogether on one plate!! There were also many days when we were told they had no mushrooms, and bacon had to be cooked to order even when there was a buffet. Didn't notice any high chairs for babies in the dining room as parents were feeding their chidren at the table.
The pool area is fantastic with plenty sunbeds and umbrellas and a kiddies pool. There were occasions when we had to wait for pool towels. There are no toilet facilities at the pool which i found strange, i had to walk through the dining room to the loo or go to my room which isn't ideal.
I also think the shuttle to the beach should run more often, we went on the 9h30 run a couple of times and walked back as to wait until 17h00 for a ride back was too late.
Sandra at guest relations and the staff were all very friendly, and we will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watujimbar, General Manager at Swiss-Belresort Watu Jimbar, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear "JohannesburgPom"

thank you very much for your detailed reviews. Like previous reviews stated it is still early days and we work day by day, week by week to improve services and facilities.

We will share your mention with Sandra - one of our two multilingual guest relations team members. By now we also welcomed our new number two in the hotel to further improve hotel operations.

Today is our first manager's cocktail for long staying guests and our resort shop has partly opened as well now - so our guests can custom stock their minibar at fair prices.

Once again, thank yo very much for your comments and trust us - we are working hard to get the things right.

Best rates - not just during the soft opening - are always available if you book directly. Be rest assured there will be some extra goodies for direct bookings.

Bets regards

Marco & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    88
    23
    8
    3
See reviews for
32
114
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I loved my stay at Swiss-Belresort Watu Jimbar.
Staff remembered my name, and I felt extremely welcome by everyone.
The room was lovely, made in nice colors and materials and very clean.
Location was perfect in the center of Sanur. Free transport to the beach.
Pool area was awesome, and breakfast was good.
I stayed 5 nights, but could have stayed longer, and would stay there again if I come back.

Room Tip: The deluxe room with pool view has sun on the balcony all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watujimbar, General Manager at Swiss-Belresort Watu Jimbar, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear "Miss-World-dk"
thank you for a fantastic review. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us.
Please contact us directly should you plan a next trip to Bali. Our plunge pool rooms are not much longer available via online agents and we will sell them directly only ;-)
Have a nice day
Marco & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed in this hotel our 2 last nights in Bali and Sanur,hoping to get some luxury before we leave.Now I can say,we did,but it didn't work so nice at first.We booked a jacuzzy room,so when we arrived,were taken to the 5th floor..so ugly view,noise and sight of nearby construction,room small and seemed the jacuzzy had already some damage on bottom.We refused to take the room,as its not a holiday to have a noise around and so ugly.Then we were given another room,
a pool view,but no double bed.OK,we thought.When arrived- no pool view but a bar and restaurant view,the 1st floor,no privacy,anybody can look at your room from the restaurant or passing by,the pool was just to look to the left.Not happy!Then the management upgraded us to a nice large room with pool access on the ground floor and that was really nice touch of them and there we were really happy.The little pool out of the room is like a small river and
a lot of plants around,nice to swim early morning or evening.The room was very big but it seems the rooms are very different as we saw the jacuzzy room was small and some other people have complained about small rooms.AC worked very well and silent,you can control your own.What was really strange that the bathroom doesn't have any door and can you imagine if the toilet has some smell ,everything comes into your room.Luckily it didn't.The disaign of shower also strange,the water remains on floor and your legs are in water
when showering.The water doesn't go away so fast,too small way.What the disaigners think when they make such plans?This hotel shows signs of very bad constructing quality,it doesn't depend on staff,but I wonder how such international brand allows so bad quality and opens?
It looks already old hotel.
The people who work there are very kind and really helpful,they deserve only the best comments!
Breakfast was nothing special,just average.But we didn't find good breakfast anywhere in Bali hotels.I mostly eat omelett(good),one morning croissants were old and hard,the other morning warm and fresh.It shows that the quality is not equal.Pancakes not my taste.Juices very bad and chemical like everywhere in Bali if not freshly made,I think this hotel should offer it for clients at least,as many others did!Very bad choice of fruits,not season,as they say.But the only good was papaya,melon and pineapple not eatable(hard,not ready,but they put it anyway),no bananas even,though bananas are everywhere and I don't think they are expensive.I tried also some other things but I didn't like.Coffee was OK.
The main pool is awesome as people said already.I really enjoyed.The idea to have sunbeds in water very good.The pool is the nicest part of the hotel.The hotel itself seems too big for Sanur and ugly looking,impersonal.
The beach area is far.The shuttle service really is not usable,as the timetable is not possible to use-in the morning at 9.30,then the next only at 2 pm..?When on holidays,you don't want to be in hurry and to go to the beach should be better at 11am or so..coming back also nothing.Better should use it when needed,not so many people in hotel that time,or at least more frequent.We walked but it was quite far and we didn't exactly know where it was.We were not given any vouchers and didn't even know we needed one,till we arrived to the beach club.But good people there,they didn't mind and we got our beds.The beach is not nice at all,as everywhere in Sanur,we were disappointed.A lot of carbidge and the water not so clean.
We were extremely thankful to the management who allowed us a late check out,as our plane was leaving in the evening,so we could rest before long way home and take shower.Thank you very much!
But at check out was still a small bad experience,as they had put on our bill coffee which we never ordered and then it took about 10-15 minutes to check out the problem!Our car was already waiting and it made me really upset,because if I haven't made a mistake,then let this to be responsabile who has,not to waste my time!Finally solved and OK.
So,the impressions are overall good because of the nice people working there and who made our stay nice!But also some negatives,to improve better.Mostly the construction problems,but it can't be solved by the staff.The price was still OK,so use it and if you are not satisfied with your room,tell to the staff and I'm sure they will find you the better one.

Room Tip: Rooms with pool access are bigger and nicer,to use your own pool is a good bonus.Avoid jacuzzy,as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watujimbar, General Manager at Swiss-Belresort Watu Jimbar, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear "ailibre"

thank you very much for your detailed feedback. We shared your comments with our hotel team and project teams.

We do what we can do rectify all issues on the site and get them write and focus on our service delivery. Breakfast is of biggest importance and we will definitely address the juice and fruit issues in our rotation plan.

We wish you happy travels and hope to welcome you soon back.

Best regards
Marco & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We are regular travelers to Sanur and generally stay at the same place. However this time thought we would try this very new and impressive looking hotel. It is an amazing sight to come up the driveway and once in reception look out over the beautiful pool area. However once we got to our room everything that looked so promising suddenly changed. The room with the private pool was nothing like we had expected. The pool is not private, the rooms are so tiny you immediately feel claustrophobic. The little bar fridge was so small but that didn't matter as it didn't work. The aircon didn't work. To be fair they attended to these things within minutes however we still could not settle in the room due to the size. We went to the front desk and told them we just weren't happy with the room and they immediately upgraded us. This other room was so much bigger it felt so much better. However the floors in the room seem to have about 3 different subtle levels and within minutes we both had stubbed our toe. I sat on the day bed and the legs came off. The private pool again was not private and the deck area near the pool only 1 chair to sit on. This was only out there as the room was still so small the chair wouldn't fit in the room. As with most of these reviews we were speechless to find no bathroom door. We thought about it for a little while and knew we wouldn't be happy so checked out of the hotel. They did offer to upgrade us again however by this time we had already booked into our regular hotel and paid for our last few nights.

I have emailed the manager, who to his credit, emailed me back within a day and was very sorry that we didn't enjoy our stay and would have a look at our booking to see if he could offer us a credit or refund. He did contact me again a few days later and said even though we had booked through a booking agency on line (a well known one off Tripadvisor) he would instruct them to refund our money in full. He is under no obligation whatsoever to do this and I was very impressed with this promise. However this was in May and despite contacting the booking agency myself, we have heard nothing more from either party.

To sum up this hotel is spectacular to look at, the facilities around the hotel are wonderful, the staff very good and helpful, however the 2 rooms we have been in were very small, just not well planned and with the things like loose legs on furniture, uneven floor levels in the room, no bathroom door, The rates offered are very good but I will not stay again on either of the 2 further trips this year.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watujimbar, General Manager at Swiss-Belresort Watu Jimbar, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear "Valerie F"

thank you for your post here in tripadvisor. As you shared it we are in contact with you to sort things out. We walk the talk and will find a solution. Banking can be a rather time consuming and
complicated things here in Indonesia and take longer than elsewhere.

As stated we will find a solution and I am in email contact with you. Best thing is to book hotels direct since less parties involved. Our rates are all flexible and not restricted like on some sites.

Once again a big thank you and we are talking.

Best regards
Marco & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This was our fourth trip back to Sanur and thought we would try the brand new Swiss-Belresort. The hotel has really good potential and will no doubt get to the standard of other longer serving hotels in time, however it is still experiencing some teething problems at present.

The service is below par compared to other Bali hotels. Check in was relatively quick and easy however lacked some of the little personalised touches of other resorts. The staff were welcoming however and our check in and out went smoothly. Service in the restaurant and around the pool was significantly lacking however. For example the pool bar attendant disappeared from the bar during happy hour and never came back. We were keen to enjoy some cocktails in the pool and take advantage of the happy hour however there was no one in the bar area for the last half hour of the happy hour which was disappointing. It was also difficult to get towels and I have recommended to the hotel to have a towel station so that it is easier to get a pool towel. We also experienced limited service in the restaurant where we needed to flag someone down to give them our room number at breakfast (anyone could have wandered in and helped themselves it seems) whereas other hotel restaurants have someone who greets you and seats you almost immediately.

We stayed in a Jacuzzi Grand Deluxe Room which was a drawcard for us. Our room was on the third floor and faced the outside of the hotel. As the Jacuzzi is on the balcony it overlooked the surrounding neighbourhood which didn't feel very private. We didn't feel it was appropriate to dress down to bathers to use the Jacuzzi in full view of local families having their dinner in the windows across the road. Subsequently we didn't use the Jacuzzi. I would recommend some outdoor blinds or the like for the balcony to increase privacy in those situations.

Our balcony door was also broken on arrival and the room attendant could not open it. He had to get maintenance to open it for us and then it wouldn't lock again. We were advised that this would be fixed the next day but it never was. I saw someone else struggling with their balcony door around the pool so possibly this is a design flaw.

It is also worth noting that the bathrooms are a little odd. There is no door to the bathroom, rather there are 2 cubicles (one for the toilet and one for the shower) on either side of the vanity. The shower has frosted glass blocking it off from the rest of the room. The glass isn't frosted all the way to the edge however and you could partially see someone in the shower from the bed. It was ok for us as we were travelling in a couple however if you were after more privacy whilst you showered this would be an issue. Also I didn't like the way the toilet was just a cubicle as it felt a little too exposed to the rest of the room. It would be better if it had a door that went all the way from the roof to the floor making it more of a room in itself to increase privacy.

On the upside the hotel's lagoon pool is outstanding! It is one of the most beautiful pools I've seen. It is spacious and there is plenty of poolside seating which is comfortable and relaxing. There is a sectioned off area which is shallow enough for children. The pool chairs which sat in the water were serene and calming. I would return to this hotel just for the pool.

The hotel's free wifi is also the best wifi I have used in Bali. It was fast and efficient.

Still a way to go here but there is a lot of potential. I hope the hotel can continue to improve and iron out some of those teething problems into the future.

Room Tip: I wouldn't bother with the Jacuzzi Grant Deluxe rooms as the Jacuzzi on the balcony isn't ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watujimbar, General Manager at Swiss-Belresort Watu Jimbar, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear "JemPete05"

big thanks for the compliments about the free WIFI quality and other encouraging inputs. We are working hard to and constantly reviewing our standards and facilities in order to fully open and improve the guest experience.

For best deals please contact us at resvsrwj@swiss-belhotel.com

We wish you happy trips and hope to welcome you back.

Marco & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Decided to have a 3 day stay here due to the opening specials. Warm welcome by friendly reception staff.

I had chosen a jacuzzi room. The room itself was nice and large although the air conditioning meant the door kept slamming shut. This appeared to be a common problem judging the other slams I heard. Like the comments by others, I believe the designers have made a big mistake in having the balcony jacuzzi on the outside of the building looking out to the town. No privacy. Chairs in the room / balcony could be more comfortable. One very annoying issue was the soap not staying on the soap dish in the bathroom hand basin when wet. Something very little, but oh so frustrating.

The design of the building meant that there was a strong breeze running along the inside of the hotel around the pool and restaurant. This was great in keeping the temperature down to more comfortable levels, but also prevented the burners for hot breakfast food in staying hot. The sausages were cold - not even warm. Not a lot of choice either.

Other than this, the staff were always friendly and helpful. There are just a few things to tidy up on.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watujimbar, General Manager at Swiss-Belresort Watu Jimbar, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear "DavoPerth29"

thanks for sharing your comments about your experience. While we listen to guests to improve facilities we also planing to implement a weekly activity program not limited to cooking class, towel animal folding class, pool trial dive, etc.

We do hope we can welcome you back when we are in full swing. For general information, since Ramadan is approaching all main work will be completed by 28.6 and all building/corridors are fully open now. This will certainly help us to bring reduce the dust and all other construction related to a operational hotel level.

Best regards
Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We really enjoyed our time at the Swiss-Belresort Watu Jimbar. Helpful friendly staff, amazing pool areas and gardens. New resort soft opening great rate. Breakfast is good. Great location. Not on the Beach but this isn't a problem. We hired bikes. Perfect! We would come back.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watujimbar, General Manager at Swiss-Belresort Watu Jimbar, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear "Robynfrombroome"

nice to get such inspiring feedback about our staff and team. We always share guests comments on a daily basis with the team to underline the importance of the guest experience the transparency of the new media landscape.

Many of our guests now rent bikes from a nearby vendor and it is indeed the best way to explore unique Sanur.

If you plan a next stay with us please contact our team to get simply the best deal out there.
Pak Wid and his reservations team can be reached at resvsrwj@swiss-belhotel.com or via skype at reservation.srwj ;-)

Best regards
Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swiss-Belresort Watu Jimbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Belresort Watu Jimbar

Address: Jl. Danau Tamblingan No. 99A, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss-Belresort Watu Jimbar 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free quality WIFI is our standard! Swiss-Belresort Watu Jimbar is a 4-star international resort located in Sanur, Bali. Sanur's beautiful sandy beach is only a five-minute walk from the resort and we are close to a variety of restaurants, shops, entertainment venues and tourist attractions. Kuta and Legian are a just 20 minute drive away, while Ngurah Rai International Airport is a 20-minute drive. Watu Jimbar Resort offers a wonderful experience by providing attentive and friendly service for guests' comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Swiss-Belresort Watu Jimbar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Belresort Watu Jimbar Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss-Belresort Watu Jimbar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.