We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sativa Sanur Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sativa Sanur Cottages to your Saves list
Sativa Sanur Cottages
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Danau Tamblingan 45, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80031, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 65 Hotels in Sanur
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Whilst driving to this location, it was not expected to be anything special. In a taxi from the airport to the resort was very disappointing and therefore, made us think we had made a very wrong decision on going to Bali. However, this hotel was set back from everywhere else and enclosed away from the nastier elements. The rooms were reasonable but bathrooms a little dated, but this was maybe trying to keep its authenticity. We had to move after the first night as the air conditioning broke down. The pool and pool area was immaculate, but the roof of the hotel hid the sun from about 5pm onwards.It was apparent it was not the best hotel in the locality, after seeing others in the area over the next few days, but it was situated in walking distance to a number of bars and restaurants. The beach was about ten minutes walk away and again was disappointing as it was mainly inhabited with fishing boats and was rather dirty. However, walking along the new looking esplanade walkway, it became much more pleasant and again, leading to very nice beach bars and restaurants on one side and hotels on the other. Reasonably priced too. A good location for trips, sightseeing, bars etc.

Room Tip: All are pool views, none are sea views, so no problems overlooking a decent view from your balcony/t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    65
    36
    5
    3
See reviews for
33
63
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We have stayed here twice in the last 10 months with our three children and booked two adjoining rooms. The first time we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and I'm happy to say we enjoyed our second stay even more. The rooms are very spacious and spotlessly cleaned every day. There is only one negative and that is the television is not flat screen (not a drama at all, but would be great if they upgrade). The pool is lovely and we were very well looked after by the pool staff who always made sure our towels were dry and we had sun loungers near our room. Best of all, they made sure our guests (relatives who visited us there) had towels as well. We have been to Bali many times and have found many hidden gems of hotels. This is one of them.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Firstly before you take in to account any negative reviews on this property - check out the rates you are paying at this hotel. This is an great mid range 'value for money' property. Yes it is a bit tired in the room department and yes the televisions are not flat screen but the pool area is great, the gardens are beautiful the hotel is small and you get that personal feel, also gives you a camaraderie with your fellow guests.
They offer room service, happy hour at a swim up bar and 24 hour reception.
The staff are friendly and the balconies are great. We were a family of 4 (2 x teenagers) and we enjoyed the Sativa thoroughly. It is about a 5 minute walk from the beach, but it has restaurants and market shopping within 100m. We hired bicycles from the hotel and figured we had the best of both worlds, beach, shops and restaurants.
This is not a 5 star resort, nor does it claim to be !! It is a great value for money property which offered holiday treats - great pool, room service, pool bar, free inhouse movies - the money I saved here we spent on dolphin swimming and 4wd motor bikes.... I have been to Bali 7 times and would stay at Sativa again if I returned to Sanur.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

we stayed here for a week in July. 2 adults and one Child. We had the deluxe upstairs room.
The aircon was loud (sounded like a freight train all night). Room was Dirty and the bathroom was really REALLY Dirty. The smell was awful in there so i ended upp buying an air-refreshener for the bathroom. Cockroach or mouse in the bathroom one evening..what ever it was, it hid under the sink!
The restaurant was ok for breakfast, dont eat the bbq buffé it was terrible. Hardly anything happening at the hotel. Mostly duch people staying there.
Staff trying to hassel you for transport, even the restaurant staff and the guys cleaning our room...
I wouldnt stay there again, nothing in the area really. A few ok restaurants tho. Beach is a long walk away, and you go thru hell to get by all the Hawkers on your way to a decent stretch of beach. Just ignore them, but its quite annoying after a while. ATMs nearby.
Quite Dirty in the area.

Room Tip: Dont take the standard rooms the dont have any balconys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed there for a week and really enjoyed it.Only intended to stay for three days.Its my second time but my wife was happy to extend our stay.It is in a great location , close to the beach and restaurants.Its small and quiet.The price is reasonable and the staff are friendly.Nice pool.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We booked with Travel Republic and paid £49.00 per night including breakfast
Check in went smooth ,we requested an upstairs room and this was not a problem.
The Hotel is in south Sanur next door to Flapjacks Sports bar accessed via a lane set well away from the road so it was nice and quiet.
The Hotel has around 50 rooms consisting of 2 story huts set around a pool.
Our room was spacious and clean with a TV small empty fridge plenty of wardrobe space,no safety deposit box ( available small box at reception ) no kettle .Drinking water daily ,bedding and towels changed daily.
The bed was comfy and we also had a small sofa.
The bathroom was small with almost all of the space taken up with a huge bath with a shower head over it,this needs ripping out and replacing with just a shower.
A very good breakfast served buffet style in the restaurant near the pool.
Lots of choice including a couple of chefs to cook eggs or pancakes as required.
Good coffee really could not fault the breakfast our only gripe was smoking was allowed.
Plenty of sun beds around the pool with towels available.
Pool bar prices reasonable especially at happy hour.
We never had a problem with mosses at all.
The beach is a 10 minute walk away.
All in all a good value Hotel just a little tired and we did not like having to pay for WiFi even though it was only 10,000.00 rp an hour I think they would be better to factor this in with the price.
I really do prefer North Sanur but if wanted to stay at the South end I would return to Sativa Cottages .

Room Tip: We liked the upstairs rooms overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth, australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This was our first time staying in Sanur. We went for the Sativa Cottages after reading good reviews on trip advisor, also as this was a last minute trip to Bali we decided to go for a more budget property than we normally would. I also chose the Sativa over another budget property I had contacted, due to the polite response over the phone and quick replies we received to our emails. ( One of the properties i contacted the Australian owner actually rudely answerd the phone and then hung up on me when I asked if he could hear me ok ) I was pleasantly suprised by the Sativa. Whilst it could do with a bit of TLC in some areas on the whole it was clean, tidy, and the staff were very welcoming. Our room was upstairs which I think I preferred over downstairs rooms. We were 2 adults and 2 young children, they allowed us all in the 1 room with 2 rollaway beds and there was more than adequate room for us all. Had our stay been longer than 3 nights I probably would have preferred more space. The bathroom was fine, yes the grout was a bit ageing and not sparkling but it was clean and thats all you need.
Pool area was good, and the food and drink prices were great, Breakfast met our needs, usual egg station, pancakes, fruit, noodles, toast. More than enough and when it was included in the $70 a night price I really cant complain.
Massage prices were good at 100,000 rph for an hour and a half
We were the only australian guests staying, everyone else seemed to be Dutch or German and there were no other families with kids there so that was the only downside for us as no one for our kids to play with. Again as we were only there 3 nights it didnt really matter too much
I'd probably stay in a different part of Sanur next time, as for me this was just a little too far from the beach area, but taxis were cheap and easy to get. But I would definitely recommend the Sativa for those wanting a reasonably priced hotel offering peace and quiet

Room Tip: We chose upstairs as they had a bit of a breeze (when there was one) and overlooked the whole pool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sativa Sanur Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sativa Sanur Cottages

Address: Danau Tamblingan 45, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80031, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sativa Sanur Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, AsiaRooms, Otel, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Sativa Sanur Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sativa Sanur Cottages Hotel Sanur
Sativa Sanur Hotel
Sativa Sanur Cottages Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sativa Sanur Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.