We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SO DISAPPOINTING” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bumi Ayu Bungalows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bumi Ayu Bungalows to your Saves list
Bumi Ayu Bungalows
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Bumi Ayu no: 8X | P.O. Box. 3511, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80571 , Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 67 Hotels in Sanur
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“SO DISAPPOINTING”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I am well aware that everyone's travelling experience will be different, and that each of us has a different perception of what we expect when we travel.
Bumi Ayu bungalows had been suggested to me by a regular visitor to Bali, so I was very disappointed upon arrival. The room I was allocated was, quite frankly, absolutely AWFUL. It was in the old section, the furniture was very old and unappealing, and it had a bad, strong odour. It was a room connected by a flimsy door to the next room, perhaps more suited to a family. There was a gap of 1 and a 1/2 inches under the door and I could hear every noise, every movement of the guest next door. If she had her TV on, I couldn't sleep. If she had her light on, it lit up my room. I did ask to be moved, but nothing else was available. The décor was, well, ghastly. A horrible old large grey print hanging on the wall was the feature. The wall-hung television was so small that I needed binoculars to see it.
The air-conditioner was loud and rattled all night. The kettle in the room took over 10 minutes to boil, and one tea bag and one coffee sachet was provided.
I fought off hordes of mosquitos all night, no spray was provided.
And if I finally did get to sleep, at 7am each morning I was woken by staff pushing laundry trolleys along a path immediately behind my room. Bang. Crash.
The bathroom was a disgrace. It was outdated and smelt.
Bottled water is not provided. Instead a foul tasting water is filled into a jug, presumably for drinking water. No thanks.
Dozens of mangy cats roam the property, a health hazard in itself.
No guest computer is provided, perhaps they don't realise that not everyone chooses to travel with a laptop.
Breakfast was the bare minimum. Not a buffet style, but a choice from the menu, and hardly enough to satisfy even the smallest appetite. Thank God for the Lilla Warung around the corner.
I thought staff were, at best, indifferent, and at worst, unfriendly and inefficient.
Phone calls are charged at outrageous prices.
There are much better properties in the immediate area at a much better rate.
I couldn't get out of there quickly enough.
Oh, and I am still waiting for my 'fruit on arrival'!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bumiayu, Manager at Bumi Ayu Bungalows, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear our Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for staying with us, we are so sorry to hear that you have not been satisfied with our Services and standards.

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your review with us. You can be sure that all your comments have be taken into consideration by the management.

We are regretful to read that we have failed to reach your expectation.

Regarding your comments about the trolley, some immediate actions have been taken in our operation in order to resolve this issue. As for the amenities, television and in the rooms, it is based upon our room category standardization.

With the old style rooms and furniture we tried to maintain the Bali architectural related to the Balinese culture and traditions.

Welcome fruits can be provides on request to our housekeeping or front office department.

Once again please accept my sincere apologies for your negative encounter with us.
There are rooms for improvement, and your thought is a lesson for us to improve.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    94
    40
    11
    7
See reviews for
49
96
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I recently had a week at Bumi Ayu with a girl friend. We both left husbands at home and went to discover Bali , my friends first visit. I love Sanur as food and shopping great without the hassle and cost of Kuta ans Seminyak. Hotel was in great position , one street back from main drag but well lit road. We felt safe walking at night. Rooms were clean and spacious and breakfast was more than perfect. Often too many choices
Only criticism would be bathrooms a little tired but what you would expect for three star. The local wahrung called Villa, s is a must try. Basically staff efficient and obliging Great place to stay

Room Tip: We like ground floor units
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bumiayu, Manager at Bumi Ayu Bungalows, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you very much for sharing with us your comments and for choosing Bumi Ayu Bungalows.

We are glad to read that overall you have enjoy your stay with us and that our hotels could meet you requirements.

Once again thank you very much for your comments as our guests point view are the most precious source of information in order to always improve our service for future developments.

We are looking forward to welcoming you during your next stay

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Excellent stay.
Beautiful exotic and manicured gardens.
Beautiful, clean and safe swimming pool.
Massage was not available when requested.
Great value meals.
Great service, staff very helpful and smiling.
Fruits on arrival (but had to request it at my second stay).
Free afternoon tea by the pool (wrong time advertised on the brochure).
No surprise at check in or check out.

Room Tip: All rooms seem OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bumiayu, Manager at Bumi Ayu Bungalows, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear our Valued Guests,

Thank you very much for sharing with us your comments and for choosing Bumi Ayu Bungalows.

We are glad to read that overall you have enjoy your stay with us and that our hotels could meet you requirements. We are very happy to have you as part of Bumi Ayu family.

Once again thank you very much for your comments as our guests point view are the most precious source of information in order to always improve our service for future developments.

We are looking forward to welcoming you during your next stay

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Recently returned from our Bali vacation and REALLY enjoyed our trip. Bumi Ayu was very central in Sanur and while it is not one of the flashest upmarket resorts, it is good value for money. It has been owned by the same family for 20+ years and has a great feel. The pool area is the hub of this resort and this area is well maintained and very clean. The superior rooms are basic and in need of a face lift but they were adequate to our needs and the bed was comfortable so what else do you really need from your room when the only time you really spend in it is to sleep. Staff were very friendly and always greeted you each day with a smile.
Overall, very pleased with our choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room by the pool. Great to walk out in the morning and jump straight into the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bumiayu, Manager at Bumi Ayu Bungalows, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Paul

Thank you very much for your comments, and for all the great support.

You can be sure that your comments have been share to all our staff and it has been a great source of motivation for them.

Your comments were a great motivation in order for us to be always positively serving our values guests.

So once again thank you for taking the time to share your comments with and for all the great support.

Looking forward to welcoming back very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Recently revisited after 2 years. Stayed in superior bungalow .20 and parents had 19' beautiful rooms. Staff as great as ever. Menu better than last time. Ate in twice but so many neary eateries. A must is I. Lane way Lilly's wearing...awesome.
One criticism is lack of poolside chairs and umbrellas. Some people insist on leaving towels on chairs to reserve them, then proceed to go shopping...just a small gripe. Otherwise great place central to shops, sightseeing, eateries etc. went on Bounty sunset dinner cruise. Great night. Loving Beach worth visit. Amed is peaceful and lovely

Room Tip: Poolside bungalows are lovely with beaut verandahs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bumiayu, Manager at Bumi Ayu Bungalows, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Tina,

Thank you very much for sharing with us your comments and for choosing Bumi Ayu Bungalows.

We are glad you have enjoy your stay with us and that our hotels could meet you requirements.
Happy to serve you as always.

Once again thank you very much for your comments as our guests point view are the most precious source of information in order to always improve our service for future developments.

We are looking forward to welcoming you during your next stay

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed in July 2013 with our three children. We have been to Bali many times but this was our first stay at Bumi Ayu. What a pleasant surprise. The rooms were huge and the pool area welcoming and friendly. The breakfast was such an unexpected bonus, plenty of fresh fruit, juices to order and lovely pastries. The food we ordered around the pool every lunch time was exceptional (lumpia/nasi goreng among the best we have ever had). The rooms are serviced daily to the highest standard by lovely staff. The rate we paid for our two week stay was too good to be true and we have booked to stay again in December. We have read some negative reviews about Bumi but really couldn't fault it whatsoever (and we are very picky). Make sure you try Lilla Warung just around the corner for dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bumiayu, Manager at Bumi Ayu Bungalows, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Karen,

Thank you very much for sharing with us your comments and for choosing Bumi Ayu Bungalows.

We are happy you have enjoy your stay with us and that our hotels could meet you expectation.

Once again thank you very much for your comments as our guests point view are the most precious source of information in order to always improve our service for future developments.

We are looking forward to welcoming you during your next stay

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We spent 11 nights at Bumi Ayu and had a great time. Location is perfect - far enough away from the crowds but close enough for convenience. Rooms are spacious, however bed was very hard. Breakfasts very good value, and happy hour bintangs by the pool a great way to spend the afternoon. Staff were helpful. Met a lot of seasoned travellers to Bali that told us we were lucky to have stumbled onto this gem on our first trip. We will go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bumiayu, Manager at Bumi Ayu Bungalows, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Our Valued Guest,

Thank You for spending your time to share the experienced you have at Bumi Ayu Bungalows during your Holiday at Bali.

It's been a satisfaction to understand that overall you are satisfied and had a good time during your stay with us.

Again Thank You for sharing the experience with us and Hope your next stay with us will be as great as the previous one. We are looking forward to see you back in our humble property.

Regards,
Artha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bumi Ayu Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bumi Ayu Bungalows

Address: Jalan Bumi Ayu no: 8X | P.O. Box. 3511, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80571 , Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 67 Hotels in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bumi Ayu Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bumi Ayu Bungalows designed in a comfortable Balinese style which is surrounded by beautiful lush tropical gardens. This beach-front bungalow style hotel offers many great modern hotel features, including a large swimming pool with kiddies pool and Pondok Bar, Coffee Shop, and Kubu Restaurant serves up various yum-for-tongue cuisines for both breakfast, luncheon, and dinner.Bumi Ayu Bungalows rooms are designed in bungalow style. All rooms are fully air-conditioned & completed with private living room, IDD phone, refrigerator, safety deposit box, and satellite TV, while the bathroom is equipped with bathtub and shower with hot and cold running waters within.Facilities available: daily laundry and room services, postal service, money-changer, babysitting, medical facilities, parking area, lobby lounge, tour information, and the on-request transports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Bumi Ayu Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bumi Ayu Bungalows Hotel Sanur
Bumi Ayu Hotel
Bumi Ayu Sanur
Bumi Ayu Bungalows Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bumi Ayu Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.