We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fire Station

The Fire Station
Jl.Danau Poso 108, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 7200, Indonesia
+62 361 285675
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 256 Restaurants in Sanur
Cuisines: Grill, Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A lively GastroPub and grill..
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Dinner was great but would recommend booking though we got lucky and got a table. Food was great though think drinks are pricey for the area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trippynick, Owner at The Fire Station, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thanks Tina..come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    104
    35
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denpasar, Indonesia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The best margarita in Sanur”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Now this has got to be my favourite restaurant in Sanur. The ambience is pub like, warm and welcoming. There's nothing pretentious about this restaurant. They have the best choice of fish dishes like mahi mahi, coral trout, and barramundi. They are all cooked to perfection. Despite the usually astronomical prices of alcohol in Bali, their wine prices are reasonable and a good variety at that. We will be back again and again. Besides, where else can I get a better margarita in Sanur?

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trippynick, Owner at The Fire Station, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Hi CTinator,

Thanks for the great review..I see you are local so I hope we become your regular cocktail stop!

See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The place to be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Went to the firestation a few times for dinner at night.....that the owners are Belgians just like me was an added bonus,The food is great,great atmosphere and good music......the best place in Sanur
Also try the Komilfo at the beach ...place by the same owners,great food again and much cheaper prices as anywhere else for brekkie...
Dont leave Sanur without eating in both places !!!!
i will be back on my next trip.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Vibe, Great Host.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Wow! Loved this place. Fantastic to see a restaurant in Bali which isn't afraid to take some chances with it's menu and finally see some variety. Reasonably priced for the quality of the food.

5 of us had 6 different dishes from the menu and all were excellent, the only comment was that the mashed potato could have been a bit tastier.

We will be back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trippynick, Owner at The Fire Station, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thanks Whinnie,

We have some new dishes coming on..including one with Black pudding!

Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

If nothing else go for the food. Pork ribs were faultless, covered in a sticky glaze and were fall off the bone tender, but still retained a fresh flavour. They had just the right amount of real wood charcoal flavour, something that's hard to find anywhere these days. Beef pie in hot weather? You betcha. This was something else too. No fat or gristle with quality ingredients served in a huge pie dish with the most delicious crust pastry. Goes down a treat with a cold Bintang. This place is lively and noisy but has great atmosphere. The only restaurant in Sanur that serves Cider, which pleased us. Even if we did notice too late, but we'll be back, again and again. One of the part owners meets you at the door and takes a genuine interest in how you enjoyed the food etc. I hope they can retain the chef, he knows his stuff. Oh yes, the chocolate mousse was also to die for and the wine selection was interesting and very reasonable per glass when you consider the quality. Deserves to be much higher up the list.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trippynick, Owner at The Fire Station, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thanks PerthSpray,

The big puff pastry on the pie always seems to put a smile on peoples faces when it arrives at the table !

The cider is brewed in Bali with imported apples by expats from the UK and is honestly one of the best and crispest I've tasted anywhere..we try to give a big a variety as possible with beers .We also serve Leffe , Hoegaarden and Grolsch ......( when we can get it!)..beers are kept sub zero too.

The wine list is rotated and Im glad you noticed its variety ..we are constantly looking at new wines.

Thanks again and come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fire Station also viewed

 

Been to The Fire Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fire Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.