We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Spanish Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Serenity Spanish Bar & Restaurant

Serenity Spanish Bar & Restaurant
Jalan Bypass Ngurah Rai 27 A, Sanur, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
Improve this listing
Ranked #166 of 256 Restaurants in Sanur
Cuisines: Spanish
Restaurant details
Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“One of the best Spanish Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Although the architecture of the restaurant is quite horrible from the outside, you will feel different atmosphere once you step inside. They served the best Sangria ever, so refreshing and great compared to other Spanish restaurant. The tapas are delicious too.

I don't understand why people don't like their paella dishes, most of them said the rice is sticky and burn to the pan, but that is actually exactly how a paella should be. Serenity serves only the real spanish cuisine in town. the socarrat (the toasted rice) is perfectly cooked and i will definitely come back for that every time i go to sanur. oh and the cigar club on the second floor is a plus.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    8
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The service was impeccable. I'm so sorry to say that the food was average, at best.
We ordered the Spanish prawns, potato and sardines for entree, they were ok. We had the seafood paella to share as our main. Found 2 long hairs in it. Politely told the lovely waitress and she said the manager would like to offer us a free tea or coffee. The Paella was dismal. It was soggy and tasted quite bad. I feel so sad that it wasn't nice. I was really looking forward to it. The worst part, upon finishing the meal, we had a pen and paper given to us to write a testimonial! The service was very good, that's all though. Disappointing to say the least.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“one of the best Spanish food in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

well, quiet expensive of course but they served it very well. it's absolutely one of the best paella ever that i have ever tried. Please also mention that they have a very good dessert. Tasted really nice in my tounge :) however, quiet expensive still, but still ok for romantic dinner

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant near Sanur”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This place was recommended by our hotel butler and he was kind to make the reservation for us. It was quite near about 10 minute drive from Sanur Paradise Hotel. We were seated outdoor area under the stars. The place was windy and garden was green and beautiful. Starter was grilled squids, potato salad, Spanish Ham and Chorizo. Chorizo was a bit saltish. But when put in between bread it was good. Tuna was half cooked with onions. Sangria was strong, we had few rounds and at the end we were quite tipsy.
Paella rice was good. The rice was cooked with mix seafood and chicken. I liked the burn part.
Service was polite and warm. We had a nice dinner

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Tapas and Sangria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is something I write about. This place serve nice Tapas and they have few different types of Sangrias. We had red sangria, Summer Sangria and cucumber sangria. The Patatas Bravas was delicious. The sauce was a bit spicy but went well with the potato. Grilled squid was very simple but yummy. The most memorable dish was the Paella. It was flavourful and tasty. The rice was cooked with seafood, fish and chicken. Rice was cooked well with the seafood and all the flavours had in the rice.
We had Churroz was decently done but wasn't too oily or fluffy. Came with warm chocolate sauce and it was a good combination. Service was good and we gave left a tip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Serenity Spanish Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Serenity Spanish Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serenity Spanish Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.