We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aleesha Villas & Deluxe Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Aleesha Villas & Deluxe Suites to your Saves list
Aleesha Villas & Deluxe Suites
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Jalan Kesari II, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 101 Sanur B&B and Inns
Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed in a 1 bedroom villa, which was clean, well equipped and peaceful. The staff were extremely warm and friendly. It was a nice touch to have breakfast served in the villa every day and being able to enjoy in-villa spa treatments (extra cost, but very cheap), was an added bonus. The property is tucked away on a residential street and the town is a 10 minute walk away, where there are several restaurants, shops and a couple of supermarkets.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    10
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
21
65
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed in one of the suites and it was absolutely perfect. The suites (I think there are about 7) are positioned around the pool in the centre to create a really cosy and comfortable atmosphere. The resort is also tucked away in a back street so it feels alot more authentic and boutique than those huge beach side resorts. The room was very beautiful and spacious- amazing value for money. We have been to Bali on numerous occasions and this was my favourite place that I have every stayed so far.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I recently had a great stay with my wife and daughter in a deluxe suite around the pool and we had friends in other suites and a villa. I highly recommend this place. The service is the best in Bali, the rooms are lovely and spacious and there is an intimate feel about the place as opposed to a big hotel. Sanur has everything you need without some of the bustle. We had a party catered by Aleesha in the villa for my 50th and the staff decorated the villa and set it up with lights and tables and the food was very good. I even got a birthday cake and the staff sang 'happy birthday'. All at a reasonable price. I'd be very happy to stay there again and you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: The villas are more private but the deluxe suites are excellent and surround a beautiful pool. Eithe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had a very pleasant and nice stay. Rooms at the pool were terrific and big in space. Beautiful bathrooms were also a big positive thing. Service was very good and pleasant. The free massage was a nice gift for us and we used it wel, massage at the pool: really nice!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I just came back from 4 nights in Aleesha. We stayed in a one bedroom villa and had a great time.

Our villa was cleaned everyday. Breakfast, spa, dinner (all in-villa) were all served at the timings we requested. Our airport transfers were also arranged perfectly. A clear sign of a highly efficient team at work.

Evie, Toya and their team were full of smiles throughout our stay there, both to us and other guests. Their service is truly exceptional and one of the best we have encountered among hotel staff.

The location is slightly out of the way but it's still a short 5-10 mins walk away from the main street where you find many cafes and restaurants. It might get a bit dark along the alley at night but we felt safe everytime we walked back to the villa (just be careful of the sudden dog barks). Toya always offered their complimentary shuttle to the beach but we preferred to walk. Nonetheless, the service is available for those who want it.

An excellent stay. As mentioned to Evie and Toya when we departed yesterday, we would consider bringing our entire families to Aleesha in the future. Especially when their new villas are up and running!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This was our first visit to Bali and Aleesha. It was a lengthy process choosing where to stay in a new country, but thanks to tripadvisor we made a good choice. Aleesha Villas & Deluxe Suites is an oasis in bustling Sanur. The property is beautifully landscaped and well-kept considering the challenges that must come with the climate. There are five villas and nine suites, a relatively small property that felt just right. Our villa was clean, spacious, and comfortable. It was amazing to have our own pool, which was the perfect size and temperature. Waking up the first day and opening the sliding doors to the pool was awesome. The staff were all very sweet and helpful. I didn't understand why they were described as discreet until we were there, and then I truly appreciated it.

We chose the Indonesian breakfast each day, which was delicious. Some days it was brought to us prepared, and some days cooked for us in our villa. We also took breakfast at the cafe one morning. The breakfast options include eggs, omelette, pancakes, nasi goreng (fried rice with egg), and mie goreng (fried noodles with egg). All come with toast, fruit, and coffee or tea. We also had lunch at Cafe Aleesha one day and found the food to be quite good.

Aleesha's driver was waiting for us at the airport (arranged in advance and highly recommended). If you are new to Bali or Sanur, I would recommend arriving in daylight hours. Our flight was delayed, and we didn't get to Aleesha until 9pm. The cafe was closed and, since it was dark and we were unfamiliar with the surroundings, we didn't get into town and therefore missed dinner. The next morning, the driver took us into Sanur so we could see the way. It's an easy walk to the main street and the beach; just make sure to pay attention to traffic as it is a one-lane road. There are some lovely properties along the walk. If you are looking for a beachfront property you will have to look elsewhere, but if you are looking to relax in a beautiful setting and don't need to be on the beach, Aleesha is perfect.

The town and beach at Sanur were fun, but we spent most of our leisure time at our private pool and at the main pool. The grounds at Aleesha are so nice we didn't feel the need to leave. On two days, the staff booked us a car and driver. It was nice to have this taken care of and to ensure we had a licensed driver, but I might recommend doing research and hiring your own driver, for two reasons. First, we paid a little more this way (although we were told that this was due to recent price hikes on petrol; you may be able to negotiate if you book directly). Second, the driver seemed to have an agenda. We knew where we wanted to go, but he suggested other stops along the way. On the first day, we agreed to one of these before we saw that he was just looking to take us to somewhere we would spend money and he would receive commission (batik, gold and silver smiths, woodworking, etc). We fell for this and were disappointed. We declined his next several suggestions, which seemed to irritate him. But given the awful traffic in Bali and our limited time there (only five nights), we felt we did not have time to waste. We had heard so many good things about the drivers and were therefore disappointed by this experience. However, we don't hold this against Aleesha. If you hire a driver, you should know where you want to go and where you don't want to go.

This brings me to something about Bali that I also didn't expect. On several occasions, people tried to take advantage of us (taxi drivers and vendors mostly). I had heard that the people are what make Bali so special. This was true of the staff at Aleesha, but not necessarily of the people in general. We are fortunate that we were able to take such an amazing vacation, and we worked hard for it and saved up for it. We realize how truly lucky we are. That does not mean that we should be over-charged for trinkets and taxi fare. I was expecting more of the quiet spirituality and less of the in-your-face hawking. Again, the staff at Aleesha were all amazing and I am only referring to some people outside of Aleesha.You should gauge how much something should cost and whether you're willing to pay what's being asked for it. You can also negotiate. As for taxis, if you take one make sure that you are going with the metered fare. Also, they have a minimum of 20,000 or 25,000 rupiah if you call ahead for the taxi, and fares within Sanur are usually less than this. ATMs are pretty readily available. I would recommend having cash as most places that take credit cards do so with a 2.5% charge (including Aleesha). Small bills are very important (10,000 or less) but also kind of hard to come by. We tried to break our 50,000 bills whenever possible so we would have change. Many restaurants include service charge. We tipped drivers and the women who did our massages, and we left a tip for the staff at the end (no idea if this is the best way to go about it, and not totally sure what the correct amount should be).

But back to Aleesha. We were so glad to have two days to just hang around Sanur and enjoy being at our villa. I would recommend having at least two, but more if possible, days to do this. We got massages twice by the pool. I can't speak for the suites, but the villa is a lovely and restful setting. When you walk in, there is an outdoor area with a kitchen, dining table, living area, pool with lounge chairs, outdoor toilet, and outdoor shower (which we used exclusively). There are two sets of sliding doors leading inside, one by the pool going into the bedroom, and one connecting the outside and inside living areas (love seat and chairs). The bathroom inside is huge, with two sinks, a giant tub, a standalone shower with rain head, and a toilet. Behind the bed are two closets and a vanity. One thing we would have liked is more light to be able to see in the mirror better. There is a TV we never turned on, and a cd player. The inside air conditioning is adequate. There are mosquito repellent supplies under the kitchen sink, but one of the most important things I can recommend is to be prepared yourself. We had a small supply of repellent with us, and we used it all. The mosquitoes were everywhere! After suffering the first night, we took advantage of the supplies and we started making sure lights were off inside and the sliding doors stayed shut. It was much better after that, but if you are prone to being bitten, you should bring yourself an arsenal of deet. :)

Some restaurants have air conditioned rooms, but most are largely open-air. We had a really good meal on the beach in Sanur at a place called Izakaya. We also ate at Three Monkeys Sanur, which was very good (prawn laksa!), and Kayu Manis, which was good but less authentic than I expected. One day for lunch we went to Warung Babi Guling Sanur to try the famous babi guling. Only go there if you have a strong stomach and are willing to eat something without knowing what it is. :) Also in Sanur we went to Rasa Senang, which was pretty good. In Ubud we ate at Mozaic, which was very good and very expensive. One night we went for sunset dinner at Jimbaran Bay, and this was lovely. Our driver took us to his preferred restaurant without asking us, which initially annoyed us but it turned out to be a good pick. It seems you can't go wrong with any of these restaurants as long as there are other people there. We also visited Tanah Lot, which was gorgeous (and crowded), the monkey forest, rice fields, and a temple complex above Ubud with many steps (beautiful). The attractions all have small entrance fees. Even getting to the restaurants in Jimbaran cost us! The traffic was really discouraging to sightseeing, although I could stare out the window all day since there are many beautiful and interesting things to look at in Bali. We had heard the traffic was bad, but we were blown away but just how bad it is.

Anything we needed, we asked the staff and they arranged for us with a smile (including a birthday cake). Evie also left flowers for my partner's birthday. It was a very sweet touch. All in all, Aleesha exceeded our expectations. If we return to Bali, we may want to stay in Ubud for some of the time, but we would definitely return to Aleesha and our lovely Villa Diana. Thanks to Evie and the whole staff for taking good care of us and welcoming us so warmly. I would highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: We had Villa D, which had some mid-day sun, two lounge chairs by the pool, and a nice, private locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have stayed at Aleesha several times now, just myself and my wife and also with our five kids. The staff are absoulutly sensational and would do anything for us. In our most recent visit to Bali, just myself and my wife we thought we might of needed a bit of Kuta action so we stayed in Kuta for 4 nights before going to Sanur. Never again. The holiday seemed to only start when we where back at Aleesha, it was like going home. We stayed in the Studio rooms for the first time and they are sensational, you cant compare them to any hotel room i have ever stayed in. With four steps into the pool and surrounded by the lush gardens was very peaceful. We will never stay anywhere else in Bali except Aleesha and look forward to many more holidays there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aleesha Villas & Deluxe Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aleesha Villas & Deluxe Suites

Address: Jalan Kesari II, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aleesha Villas & Deluxe Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aleesha Villas in Sanur is the perfect oasis within the holiday paradise of Bali. Tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the outside world, Aleesha Villas compliments the holiday needs of all travellers, offering a range of holiday experiences and packages designed to indulge your every need. Boasting accommodation ranging from tastefully designed and skillfully finished ever so chic one-bedroom suites overlooking the stunning infinity pool with views over the rice fields. Or to the sublime and exclusive one and two bedroom walled private pool villas offering total privacy and seclusion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Aleesha Villas & Deluxe Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aleesha Villas & Deluxe Suites Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aleesha Villas & Deluxe Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.