We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful small resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Klumpu Bali Resort

Save Saved
You added Klumpu Bali Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Klumpu Bali Resort
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Jalan Kesari 16B | Bali, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Massage Tour Dinner!
Ranked #3 of 88 Sanur B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful small resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

What a surprise to find this little gem hidden in the middle of houses.
The staff was very welcoming and friendly over our entire stay. Everybody was helpful and just lovely. We got a room very early to stay in it until our room was ready by 2 pm. Great gesture!
The small complex of villas were located around the pool. This was just beautiful, if- and now it comes - no noisy kids were jumping all the days into the pool.
We were unlucky to have a family staying with 3 kids, who occupied the WHOLE swimmingpool ALL day. Other guest were disturbed by it as well. So we all planned to be in the resort when this family went on a trip. And on other days, we either endured the kids or went out on our own excursions. The management tried to talk to the family and it helped a little. This is certainly not the fault of the resort. But my opinion is, the resort is too small to have young children staying there, who think, it is THEIR playground. It spoiles the calm and nice atmosphere. Suggest resort should have a child policy with no children under 12 years of age.
Everything else was just great!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dayu991, Manager at Klumpu Bali Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. It was a delight reading through your review and learning that you enjoyed your stay.

I am regret to hear that the children where more noisy then usual. We are looking for a solution to keep the calm and nice atmosphere intact. We will keep your suggestions in mind to find a solution for both families as couples in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Grove, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I stayed at the Klumpu Resort with my family only 2 nights ago - this was the final resort after travelling around Bali for 2 1/2 weeks. It was the best way to end our journey! The resort is brand new so all facilities are immaculate. It is set back down a long lane off the main shopping strip in Sanur making it the quietest room we had on our holiday! It was like a tropical oasis with lush gardens, gorgeous villas, and a wonderful pool and sun chairs. The resort is small with about 10 individual villas making it a quiet and peaceful place to relax, yet if you want shopping or the beach you don't have far to walk. My kids are teenagers, and they loved it here. We swam in the pool, ate, and read books between shopping sprees. The staff and level of service was outstanding- friendly and helpful, and they went out of their way to assist us with any requests. We ate breakfast and dinner here both days, and I must say the meals were delicious, beautifully presented, and the prices comparable or cheaper than most of the restaurants we had dined in elsewhere. The chocolate sundaes were divine! Overall, I can't fault the place. We had a late flight (near midnight) and they allowed us to stay in our room at no charge till 7 pm...wow, you don't see that kindness very often these days. Thank you to all the gorgeous staff of this resort who made our stay so enjoyable... a perfect ending to a great holiday!

Room Tip: In the resort we heard no outside noise...can't believe we were in the middle of Sanur. I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dayu991, Manager at Klumpu Bali Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
It was such an honor to have read an amazing review on TripAdvisor. A very big thank you for sharing your experience.

We try to be flexible to our guests so if we can help or assist you in any way we will try to accomplish that. I will pass your wonderful review to our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Just spent 2 weeks at Klumpu Bali Resort , from arrival to departure was made most welcome by every member of the staff , the villas the old lumbung style were very unique and very classy and comfortable , the gardens and lay out of the resort is lovely and well kept , the location of Klumpu is in an ideal spot couple of minutes walk to the Main Street in Sanur and another short stroll to the beach , the breakfast and service is very good , and the lunch and dinner meals cooked and served in the small restaurant were excellent and as good as anywhere in Sanur . Will be returning to Klumpu in the very near future .

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dayu991, Manager at Klumpu Bali Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Let me take this opportunity to express my sincere gratitude for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We are all very happy to know that we have provided you with great hotel experience.

On behalf of the team, I would like to thank you for choosing our resort in Sanur and we welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Loved staying at Klumpu, so quiet and relaxing, not really a place for noisy guests. Beautiful garden and pristine pool, wonderful, attentive and friendly staff. The bungalows are great and very well fitted out, plenty of good cafes and restaurants nearby. Would love to go back next time I'm in Bali.

Room Tip: We liked being in room 104, a bit more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dayu991, Manager at Klumpu Bali Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for this wonderful feedback from your recent visit at Klumpu Bali Resort. I am delighted to hear that different aspects of our services and surroundings made such a positive impression on you, during your stay.

We are looking forward to welcome you for a return visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

This area of Bali has little to offer and Bali on the whole is not great but if you are visiting then this accomodation manages to turn a small plot of
land down a scruffy back street into a beautiful oasis of luxury and calm. Rooms were immaculate and well finished. Pool was small but garden was lovely. Service was good. If this place was on a secluded beach it would be a real gem but that just isn't Bali.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dayu991, Manager at Klumpu Bali Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the effort to write a review on tripadvisor, especially our villa, facilities and service provided during your recent stay with us. I will share this with my team, who will feel very appreciated and motivated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baguio
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We booked this hotel via their web site specifically because of its pictures and reviews on trip advisor, plus it's location near enough to the beach. We never got around to going to the beach or exploring the other areas near the hotel, though. Klumpu was so comfortable and restful for us. My two young kids age 8 and 12 totally enjoyed themselves at the pool while their older sister relaxed at the well landscaped gardens. I enjoyed the hotel's elegant and tasteful architecture and decor; it was like staying at a place straight out of Architectural Digest Magazine.

The hotel's plus points don't end there. Their welcome fruit basket was truly generous and included a whole pineapple, a bunch of bananas, as well as other fresh fruits. Their welcome drink and cold towels were refreshing. Aside from the hotel's free breakfast, they also had free afternoon tea which included small but yummy Indonesian rice cakes.

Food at their restaurant had generous portions, tasted good too. Room service was quick.

The loft room we stayed in was very clean, spacious and comfortable. There was a queen bed at the ground floor, 3 beds at the loft area which could be accessed through steep stairs. There was a mini kitchen complete with utensils. Provided were in roof safe, toiletries. Water pressure at the shower was strong and steady. Towels were thick and new. There was also free unlimited drinking water.

Staff was warm, friendly and very helpful. One of the pretty receptionsists lent me her cellphone when I needed to make a call, and even brought her phone to our room when she received a call for me. Telephones in the rooms have yet to be installed.

Of all the hotels in Bali we stayed at (we stayed in 4), Klumpu is the one that brings a sincere smile to my face. At check-out, they gave me a token engraved with their logo and a special greeting. I deeply appreciate this thoughtful and touching memento of this wonderful time we had in Bali.

Room Tip: All the rooms are okay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dayu991, Manager at Klumpu Bali Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind review about Klumpu Bali Resort. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our resort. We do our very best to make it an enjoyable stay for our guests. We hope our token has a nice place in your home so you can think back at Klumpu Bali Resort with a smile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heerlen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We arrived after a 20 hour flight at 22.00pm. Only a nice man of the nightshift was in the resort and he checked us in. We were told we could use the pool until 22.30pm (so I did!). The car who picked us up was not comparable with the rest of the resort by the way (not comfortable) but the car we rented a day later was very nice. The tour and the driver were very nice. Only the stop for lunch (LA restaurant?) was very 'touristic' but the view was nice.
The pool is big enough to swim laps and there are enough sunbeds. Unfortunately there were 3 families staying with six small children and they were very noisy during the day. Because the sun beds are directly next to the pool (and the children are jumping in the pool) they splashed everything. Children are children so there should be rules and signs at the pool 'no jumping' and 'no climbing on the fountain'. Also a maximum of 2 children or only allow adults in the resort would be a solutions. Luckily we just stayed 2 days but there were other couples staying a lot longer and six children in a small resort is not really a romantic hideaway....
The room (and resort) is very clean, spacious and beautiful designed. We loved the small details in the room: very tasteful! The bathroom looks also very nice but because I am not so tall found the rain-shower to high (low water pressure) and sometimes there was an unpleasant smell in the bathroom. I ordered a glass of the red Balinese house wine (wine is very expensive in Indonesia) and did not liked it at all. The day after I tried a glass of white and another red but all tasted not good. The resort should switch to another brand of wine because this kind of wine dos not matched with this kind of resort ($173 per night). The mattress on the bed is good so we slept very well!
Breakfast is also tasteful and you can choose between Indonesian or Western breakfast. Lunch was also very nice. There are a lot of nice restaurants just around the corner: Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, cheep and expensive. We kept it simple at "the coconut three" and had a typical Indonesian dinner with sate and nice wine.
Overall we had a nice stay at Klumpu and love to go back but the resort has to work at some points to match the concept 'a quiet retreat were all your senses can be pampered'.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dayu991, Manager at Klumpu Bali Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for your extended review of our resort. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Klumpu Bali Resort. Unfortunately we did have to use a driver from outside of Klumpu to pick you up, one of our cars has been broken at that time. We recently bought 2 new Daihatsu Luxio Minivans to match the quality of transportation as our resort. Meanwhile we changed our wine list to some imported Australian wines. As you mentioned alcohol is very expensive so we always look for quality to reasonable prices. You are welcome back anytime in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Klumpu Bali Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klumpu Bali Resort

Address: Jalan Kesari 16B | Bali, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Klumpu Bali Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic, Decorative, Convenient & Charming… Klumpu Bali Resort is not just a resort, but a second home re-imagined in a beautiful exotic dream. Perfect for both couples and families as well for those looking for a small romantic resort getaway, ideally located in the heart of Sanur. 8 Charming villa’s are completely hand crafted by local wood workers and represent the traditional lumbung style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Klumpu Bali Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klumpu Bali Resort Sanur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Klumpu Bali Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.