We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint & Quiet Retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kolonial House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kolonial House
Save
You added Kolonial House to your Saves list
Jalan Sekar Waru No. 20, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80227, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 100 Sanur B&B and Inns
Houston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quaint & Quiet Retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

Quaint and quiet retreat with tastefully decorated spacious rooms and soothing water features. We enjoyed sitting by the koi fish pond and swimming in the small but tranquil pool. Rooms by the pool are probably best: farther from the street with less direct sun. Breakfast is very simple: yogurt and fruit with grains. Coffee/tea is self-serve in the community kitchen amply stocked with instant noodles. Approximately 10 minutes walk from the beach and the boardwalk. Vouchers are provided for yoga on the beach by Power of Now Oasis: a very relaxing experience. There is a bar/restaurant directly across the street that stays open late and small food/fruit vendors nearby as well as spa/massage services. Retail/restaurants on the main street are a short taxi ride away. Airport pickup is provided for a reasonable fare.

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool are probably best: farther from the street with less direct sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
8
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

I spent 6 weeks at Kolonial House and I just love it. It felt like home from the first day. It's quiet and peaceful with swimming pools and a lovely koi & turtle pond. That staff are so helpful & friendly. It's located on a residential street away from the beach resort crowd and yet still walking distance to the beach where there's kiteboarding, yoga, and other activities.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014 via mobile

It's not one of those places close to the beach with hotel sun beds waiting for you in the morning and buffet style breakfast. It's a place where you really feel alone away from the crowds. You rarely see other guests and the service is invisible. Therefore you can really relax and enjoy your time.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

I stayed in Kolonial House for almost two weeks. We had a room overlooking the pool with outside kitchen and a terrace. The place is simply great. Clean, friendly, away from traffic, 10 min walking from the beach. The staff is friendly, the rooms are big, the deco is 'kolonial'. Great value for money.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Amazing, tranquil place with amazing staff! two lovely pool and lovely unique rooms. Good quiet location. The staff really looked after me so well and became like family. They are linked with an amazing yoga place on the beach called The Power of Now.

I cannot wait to return xxx

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

we have just spent 9 nights here and it was a great stay fantastic value for money. we have been coming to sanur for 29yrs in that time we try and find different accomadation each time. we stayed in room 3 which was perfect nice cold aircon fridge rain shower ,safe, dvd player so you can relax and watch the latest movies that you have just brought, there is only 6 rooms in the property some with there own kitchen we shared a communal kitchen ,you can make your own meals ,all the drinking water you want ,they give you fruit everday .lovely pool .go on net look for yourself thank you putu for looking after us we will be back

Room Tip: rooms 3,5,6.are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I absolutely loved my week long stay at Kolonial House.
The staff took excellent care of me and the whole place had a beautiful, serene vibe.
The room was just beautiful. One of the nicest rooms I have ever seen. I stayed in one of the large rooms and had my own kitchen, two bathrooms, a terrace by the pool, a huge (king) four post bed with a beatiful mosquito net, a giant TV, lovely balinese furniture, aircon and fan. I also spent one night in the small room after a few days in Lombok and even though it was substanstially smaller, it was still beautiful and definitely big enough for me.
The pool was really nice and there was a beautiful little hut to sit in and a frangipani tree dropping blossoms over the patio. The whole area was breezy and open and had lovely furniture. There are only 5-6 rooms so it had a really pleasant and intimate feel.
The location was ok. It was about 10 min walk to the beach. It is away from the main strip of Sanur, which I actually really liked. You got away from the tourist trap massage parlours and restarants into a quiet side street. But massage parlours and lots of places to eat were only a few minutes walk away when you wanted that.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kolonial House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kolonial House

Address: Jalan Sekar Waru No. 20, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80227, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kolonial House is a beautiful small boutique Guesthouse, located in a peaceful neighborhood in Sanur, just 200 meters away from the beach. Top quality facilities, with character furnishing, a large pool and gazebo create a peaceful warm atmosphere.All rooms are fully equipped with free internet access, Satellite TV, hot&cold water shower, freezer, safety box and air conditioner. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kolonial House Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kolonial House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.