We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Warung Kayu Api – Balinese & International Cuisine

Warung Kayu Api – Balinese & International Cuisine
Jalan By Pass Ngurah Rai 95, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80227, Indonesia (Formerly Warung Kayu Api & Surya)
+62 62361285984
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 243 Restaurants in Sanur
Price range: $3 - $20
Cuisines: Indonesian, International, Pizza & Pasta, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: With its strategic location along Jalan By Pass Ngurah Rai in Sanur, Bali, Warung Kayu Api is an ideal place to eat, meet friends and business partners or just to relax with a good cup of coffee or a cocktail – all this whilst enjoying amazing views across the adjacent golf course. At the separate Warung Surya at the front, guests will find Bali's most famous dishes, such as Babi Guling (suckling pig), Nasi Ayam and Nasi Bebek Betutu (chicken and duck in Balinese spices), whilst the lunch and dinner menus offer pasta, pizza, sandwiches & snacks, giant skewers, steaks from the char-grill and much more. There is also a 14-seat, air-conditioned private dining or meeting room on the upper floor and the bar provides cocktails, wine and other refreshments.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Sensational.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Warung Kayu Api is a lovely place to spend some time over dinner.
The first (upper) floor is the place to be as a refreshing cool breeze from the adjacent golf course makes its way through the open restaurant all evening making any fans superfluous.
It was just about empty when we rocked up, probably because of it's relative isolation from the more popular main drag of Sanur. This is a shame as it serves high quality Balinese and international cuisine at extremely good prices.

I always know a good menu when it takes me more than ten minutes to decide. Lots of good choices everywhere. I could have gone for just about anything which of course means that I'll just have to come back again to try and work my way through the menu.
I eventually settled on the pan seared scallops and the share jumbo seafood platter. The others had bruschettas and tandoori prawn skewers.
Very generous serves, well prepared and beautifully presented.
Even though we couldn't possibly squeeze a dessert in, one look at the display cabinet made a mockery of that idea. I thought I was going to burst.
Beers were cold, coffees were great. I couldn't fault anything.

As our meal drew to a close, Margit the owner made herself known which is always nice. Our waitress all evening was delightful, well trained and reminded me of the Bali of old when one was an 'honoured guest'. (I love it when they call me 'bapak').

Price v quality, this place has got to be one of the best in the whole of Bali.

Warung Kayu Api is now a firm favourite and a definite 'must do' everytime I'm in Sanur.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayuApi, Owner at Warung Kayu Api – Balinese & International Cuisine, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear guest,

It was a pleasure having met you personally during your dinner at Warung Kayu Api recently and we really appreciate your extensive observations and descriptions. I'm sure it will help many other guests who are looking for a place to eat in Sanur. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    15
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Just like old-time Bali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Well, OK - like Bali 30 years ago, when we first found this part of paradise.

I remember so well the babi guling, ayam and bebek betutu that we found at the old eateries like Agung and Sue (or, "The King and I" as my friend Susan used to call it), which are no more. Sure, there are many good choices nowadays with brilliant food, but not so many offering traditional dishes of great quality.

Warung Kayu Api is way up there for brilliantly executed traditional Balinese food, superbly presented and at ridiculously low prices, even for Bali.

The restaurant is decidedly upmarket in layout, furnishings and its position overlooking the lush golf course. The leaflet I souvenired states that it offers Balinese and international cuisine. But, dining with several friends who have long enjoyed the holiday joys of Sanur and surrounds, we were overwhelmed by yearnings for the gastronomic delights of yesteryear and all focused immediately on the pork and duck.

My suckling pig (babi guling) came with a bowl of highly spiced chicken soup with some unidentifiable but delicious inclusions such as banana trunk. The dish itself was served in variations including shredded pork, satay, sausage and steamed pork in banana leaf, topped with a piece of the best crackling ever served, accompanied by rice and vegetables.

Other friends shared the bebek betutu, a slow roasted duck with Balinese spices that also came with soup and its own selection of magical salads, steamed dumplings, vegetables and rice.

The service was perfect - expert and attentive but not in the slightest intrusive. And the prices were obscenely modest.

I am already thinking about getting back to Sanur sooner rather than later, to enjoy the long cherished pleasures of Bali - and much more of Warung Kayu Api's cuisine and ambience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayuApi, Owner at Warung Kayu Api – Balinese & International Cuisine, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for dining at Warung Kayu Api recently, and I think we probably met during your visit. We very much appreciate your positive comments and detailed observations. We look forward to seeing you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great value for money for rustic good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is a double story large western style restaurant situated in the vicinity of a golf course, serving good, rustic international and balinese cuisine. It's owners are a husband and wife team , she is German , he is Indonesian and Chef of the restaurant.
We were a group of 8 for dinner there. Everyone was happy with the service, quality and overall taste of the food ordered. Our meat and fish dishes were served on skewers hanging down over a contraption of hot coals. The speciality of the house is the babi guling ( suckling pig) ) which we unfortunately did not have the chance to try.The menu also offers simple fare like pizzas and pastas. Food portions are generous, so come hungry and the very good news for diners.....the.prices are extremely reasonable. This restaurant was awarded the certificate of excellence for 2014. Certainly worth visiting.

Our bill for the evening: Rupias
Campari x 2 100.000
Soda x2 20.000
Mineral water x1 7.000
Beer Bintang small 21.000
Pepes Fish (main) 85.000
Garden Salad x2 110.000
Spaghetti Agl. Ol x2 140.000
Pizza Alle Quattro (small) 90.000
total 661.815 = approximately USD 57

* Inclusive of PBI 60.000
Service Charge 28.000

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayuApi, Owner at Warung Kayu Api – Balinese & International Cuisine, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
It was great meeting you and your party during your visit, and we really appreciate your encouraging comments. Especially for taking the time to list some of our prices. Look forward to seeing you once again during your next trip to Bali.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Friendly service..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Reasonable prices,excellent range of meals,prompt service,friendly faces especially young wayan.nice view overlooking golf course.would highly recommend..
Andrew and ann from melbourne aust..

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayuApi, Owner at Warung Kayu Api – Balinese & International Cuisine, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Andrew and Ann,
Thank you very much for your great comments and Wayan is very happy you mentioned him, but so is the whole team. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“AMAZING GOOD.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

It is one very beautiful restaurant. On the first floor you have a fantastic vieuw. You see the golf-area from Bali Beach. Very quit en peaceful. Also the people in the restaurant are super friendly. And ofcourse the food is so very good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayuApi, Owner at Warung Kayu Api – Balinese & International Cuisine, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Ms Sheila,
Thanks a lot for your great comments. Shame that I missed you. Hope you will have time to come over once again. Also, appreciate very much your recommendation to some other guests. Hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warung Kayu Api – Balinese & International Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Warung Kayu Api – Balinese & International Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warung Kayu Api – Balinese & International Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.