We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eating in a matchbox” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Warung Kecil

Warung Kecil
Jalan Duyung no 1, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia
+62361 2020002
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 256 Restaurants in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $5
Cuisines: Sandwiches, Fusion, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Perth
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Eating in a matchbox”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Be advised. After walking 3 very hot kilometers and finding a tiny stark deli-type eatery (you couldn't call it a restaurant) with Bain-Marie food we were somewhat disappointed. Especially when there was no room left anyway. We cannot understand how this could have possibly rated number 3 on Trip Advisor. All I can say is that the food must be absolutely unbelievable, but at a cursory glance it certainly didn't ring any bells for us. Most of the food was gone at midday and it looked a day old and dried up. There was no room at the inn and about a 30 minute wait, so the food was never tested. Inside there is barely room for 10 people and there is nothing special about the decor. Off the top off my head I can think of at least 15 places I'd have rather been.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noviegehlen, Owner at Warung Kecil, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Perth Spray,
Thank you very much for taking time to write us a review even though it is not a good one.
Warung Kecil named after its condition.
WARUNG means a simple eating place, a basic food stall, or a simple and basic shop selling everyday needs mostly fresh food.
KECIL means Small
Warung Kecil means a small, basic, and simple eating place.
That "Bain Marie" food normally ready around 11;30a.m and sold out around 2;00p.m. And as you said its sold out fast, so dont worry, they are not even a day old.
You are right that there is nothing special about Warung Kecil, We are just basic warung, selling fresh food. But seems our simplicity and honest food attract a lot of crowd.
Come early next time, or come for a relax afternoon coffee when the hungry crowds are gone. and hopefully you can write us a different story.
Have a pleasant stay in Sanur and hope to see you one day.

Novie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    87
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Denpasae
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Cheap, cozy, delicious. It's just perfect. Free wifi and full AC inside. Second to none. And i have to mention their service is great! In love with this cafe

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food on a budget”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Decided to give this place a try after reading some stellar reviews on TA, my group was not disappointed and this was one of our best meals during the trip! The curry noodle is a must try and loved my stir fry beef. Saw the next table ordering paninis and it looked really good. We also had their cakes and a meal for 4 persons just 220 000rp! Lovely :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaandam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just lovely food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Great entourage in a nice restaurant. Delicious juices and smoothies. Especially the "Very Berry" & "Crazy Berry" were great. Could not get enough of the "Black Pepper Beef Panini." But the dinner dishes are fine. We had the indonesian curry noodle. It was tasty and spicy. At least if you like spicy.
Actually, we have discovered the place too late. We had seen the reviews and it was next to our hotel. It is a small and intimate place to be. Absolutely not expensive and you definitely get quality for your money! An absolute must for your visit to Sanur. Perhaps some searching, it is in a side street. We had no problem without a reservation to eat there. Friendly staff and quick service! We visited it 3 times in 5 day's, 1 dinner and 2 lunch.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“GREAT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Having tried in november 2012 when just opened the food and place has not changed still excellent,better choice of food now .food excellent ,clean ,why do people moan.... as a older couple its nice to find a CAFE type place in sanur...good luck with your new venture and hope to see you in 2014 visited 5 times in november 2013 even on our last night....

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warung Kecil also viewed

 

Been to Warung Kecil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warung Kecil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.