We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to have a bite of lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Warung Kecil

Warung Kecil
Jalan Duyung no 1, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia
+62361 2020002
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 256 Restaurants in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $5
Cuisines: Sandwiches, Fusion, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Perth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to have a bite of lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

a lovely little restaurant with a lovely feel. It is very small but the quality of food and cleanliness was exceptional. Pinky, one of the waitresses, is fun to have around and we enjoyed some good laughs with her. If you are looking for a healthy alternative in Sanur, this would be the place to go.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    87
    10
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“excellent taste and unique menus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I was looking at kayumanis resto few days ago, but too bad the place was full booked. Then I look by using tripadvisor and find warung kecil fortunately in my way going home. The place is small but cozy and the services are very good. I ordered the special menu there (panini, beetroot salad, and lemongras chicken) and i really delighted for the taste of beetroot salad. One of the best mixedsalad I've ever tasted. The other food is delicious too. This tiny place offered us good food and healthy drink which is suitable for everyone who look for healthy and good taste at the same time. Well done guys! Will come back again and bring my friends there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
“Delicious healthy food and incredibly good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Best find in Sanur at great prices. Tried wheatgrass for the first time and surprisingly ok especially with the slice of apple. The smoothies are great as are the different curries.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Big on what counts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Warung Kecil: Kecil may mean little but this place was big on what counts. I would recommend this little establishment to anyone who wants good simple food and great service. The only problem is; only four tables inside (capacity for 10-12 people) and two tables for two outside. Don’t let this put you off give it a try and you’ll be the next praising this little (kecil) warung.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

After reading all the great reviews we went here for lunch and was disappointed. Being small, it was full, which was good but very noisy. There are no soft furnishings to 'soak' up the noise which echoed. The warung was very warm inside despite the air conditioning. A table soon became available. The menu was not large and when we ordered the chicken meals we were told that they weren't available until the evening and that we could only order a panini or salad. Enough said, we were disappointed and left. Maybe we caught it on a bad day but we won't return. There are so many other great eating places in Sanur.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noviegehlen, Owner at Warung Kecil, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
I am so sorry to know that you were very disappointed with our Warung Kecil.
Warung Kecil means a small eating place, at it is indeed a very small place. The echo is one of the problem that we are working on, we are planning to put more soft furnishing and try to find out any other option on how to deal with the echo. As well as the AC, we immediately contacted our Ac technician to check our AC, and to service it.

Regarding the menu, indeed we have a very small menu, but we are very confident with our menu. For lunch we have nasi campur (rice with side dishes) on the display as well as panini and salad.
The chicken you want which is lemongrass chicken is in our dinner menu. It is already stated on the menu that the dinner menu only served from 6;30 p.m onward.

I hope you will be back someday and try some of our food. 70+ reviews on tripadvisor indicate that despite of being small, our customers enjoy their time and food at warung kecil.

warm regard
Novie Gehlen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warung Kecil also viewed

 

Been to Warung Kecil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warung Kecil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.