We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice dorm, friendly staff. Pool.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Locca Homestay

Save Saved
You added Cafe Locca Homestay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cafe Locca Homestay
Jalan Sudamala 8 | Bali, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 85 Sanur B&B and Inns
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Nice dorm, friendly staff. Pool.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This place is a nice little get-away in Sanur. It's affordable and the dorm is updated and clean (and has air con!). (8 beds and one bathroom though, two would be nice). Nice bathroom, free lockers.

Has a nice little pool and communal area. (Wish outdoor area had a few outlets for computers). Wifi is free but spotty and sometimes pretty slow.

Location is set off the street so nice and quiet at night. Guest kitche.n and free tea/coffee.

Staff is very friendly, accommodating and honest.

Decent location too, not far from good local food/business but also western-themed ones as well geared toward tourists. It's toward the bottom of Sanur, so a bit off the "main drag" but I've walked the main drag and prefer it here.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    21
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
1
10
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pori, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Nice and clean room and beautifull garden. Showers and ac were working ok. Locca's Stuff is friendly and helpfull. Enviroment isnpeacefull, but you can easily walk to the restaurants etc. I really enjoyed my stay at Café Locca homestay!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at cafe locca in october this year, when we first saw the room and the facilities we were very impressed. Staff were friendly and helpful. It is located just around the corner from plenty of bars/restaurants and shops and about a 5 min walk to the beach. The beds were comfortable, although getting onto the top bunk was a struggle as not all of the ladders are easy to negotiate! The place was clean and very well presented. On arrival we were told that actually breakfast wasn't included, however this was not an issue for us as we found cheap places to eat, with probably a better variety, very close by. The bathroom looked amazing, with shower, bath and of a decent size, however the door had quite a gap when closed which could be awkward at times!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanur, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Great price to value relation, for as little as 10$ we had beds in nice, clean dorm room, with AC, a big bathroom with hot water, and a small terrace/patio at the pool, our beds made everyday. We also got a small breakfast. We really enjoyed the pool and the patio/garden area which is quiet and peaceful, where we could chill after a long day and we actually met some interesting people there, too!
The location allows to get anywhere in Sanur in a few minutes, the beach is within 7min walking distance. The staff is very friendly, helped us to rent the bikes and organize pick up /drop off at the airport. Nothing more to ask for!
Great place to stay. We stayed there 2 nights and then after a few days we came back for 2 more nights.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuta, Indonesia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Cafe Locca is the best place to stay on a budget in center of Sanur!
Great location, clean dorm, air conditions and swimming pool and great price!
I stay in the dorm for 2+2 nights on february and i want to back here :)
The staff are so friendly and helpful, the walking distance to the beach is not too long, maybe 8 min walk.

I would recommend it as an economical alternative for an extended stay !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirchheim bei Munich, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Rooms are clean, but very damp; however, they are overpriced; staff speaks rarely English and cannot help with getting around Bali (apart from booking tourist scams); breakfast is very poor and I was not even able to get salt for my egg although I asked in Bahasa Indonesia for it;

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrimaC0ttage, Manager at Cafe Locca Homestay, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to inform you that we just improved our breakfast,I mean we ask our trusted friends from catering to deliver breakfast for our guest,we start with tortilla/hot dog.
We also sorry that you were not happy with price,agent rate are always higher but if you have booked directly through hotel web,our net prices are between 10-20 % lower.
Room are located in garden in a shadow but overall hotel is only one year old
Thanks for your valued comments.

Pedro Lopez
Cafe Locca management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

realy bad luck for me,stay here and get bait by bed bugs,also others guest have problem like me,very stress and no body care about it,the staff not even want look in to my room,very bad service and they have to clean the room better,bathroom verry weird smell and under bed also very dirty,dont stay here...!!

Room Tip: private room maybe better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrimaC0ttage, Owner at Cafe Locca Homestay, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear guest

We are sorry to hear about your bad experience during stay in our home stay.
We already call on pest control expert to help dealing with that bed bug problem.
However as your stay in 8 bed dormitory room its difficult for us to check what people bring with them to dorm room,including some unwelcome tropical friends ;).
I hope our staff understood your concerns as they english is maybe satisfactory for small hostel but not for starred hotel,where better speaking staff usually run to.
I check under bed and I think its clean, again in multiple bed room maybe others spilt something.
Its true really bad luck for both of us!
Magda Cwik
Cafe Locca Homestay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cafe Locca Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cafe Locca Homestay

Address: Jalan Sudamala 8 | Bali, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cafe Locca Homestay,located in south Sanur,almost on a doorsteps of famous Pura Blanjong,where u can find the oldest stone inscription found in Bali,dating to AD 913(Prasati Blanjong).We are located close to beach (5 mni walk)and many restaurant or shops and best pub in Sanur-Linga Longa.Double/twin newly renovated rooms located in spacious garden and free wi-fi internet makes perfect place to stay,we also have dorm rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Cafe Locca Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cafe Locca Homestay Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Locca Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.