We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will probably end up as one of the best hotels in Bali” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali to your Saves list
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Kusuma Sari No. 8 | Sanur Beach, Bali, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80227, Indonesia (Formerly Regent Sanur)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Will probably end up as one of the best hotels in Bali”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Regent Bali was still in its soft opening phase when we went and we were told we were one of their first ever guests. The staff was incredibly accommodating and the service was great. You get your own butler so that you end up having one person you get to know who arranges everything and anything you need. The amount of stuff they offer complimentary was very generous. Breakfast included, morning drink included, car to and from the airport with wifi on it included, wifi around all the hotel grounds included, afternoon lobby canope included and on top of that morning yoga sessions next to the beach included. The rooms and grounds of the hotel are also beautiful and the gamelan players they have playing live just did it for me. The only downsides were that the villas are still under construction nearby so they are giving everyone a discounted rate before they officially open I believe.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentBali B, General Manager at Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Regent Guest Zaid_KW

You was one of our frist guest here at the Regent Bali and we are very happy that you enjoy your stay here so much. The team from Regent would like to send you a warm Terima Kasih and please contact me for your next stay directly.
Best your Michael michael.gaehler@regenthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    51
    13
    8
    6
See reviews for
115
170
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Had a 3 night break at this hotel mid June 2013.

The Regent opened at the beginning of June 2013 and had a special offer price during their
"soft Opening' phase.

From the booking process all the way through to the return trip to the airport we had the most marvellous stay. The staff were attentive, the suite was huge and very well equipped, the food was delicious to a high standard and we found reasonably priced. Alcohol was expensive but this is to be expected in a 5* Hotel.

Ill try to remark on as many items as possible about the stay.

Pick up from the airport - We were met by a very smart man in traditional Balinese dress who took us to the waiting chauffeur driven car. Inside the car were cold towels and bottled water - this was much appreciated as it was 34dgs and very humid outside. The driver was considerate asking us if the temperature and music were ok. He also told us that the car had WIFI. The return trip was exactly the same. Steady driver too.

Check-in --- Large open plan lobby lounge area, very modern but still in-keeping with the traditional feel. You are guided to a huge wood table and offered seats while the staff bring you a refreshing drink of ginger, lemongrass and soda a further cold towel while you relax for a moment and wait for the reception staff to come to you and check you in. This is a very nice way to check in to a hotel as there are no queues or barriers. Very Civilised
Once you have checked in, your Private Butler introduces himself and takes you to your suite and points out areas of the hotel on the way. Everything in the suite is explained to you too.

Inside your Suite - The suite was exceptionally large compared to European Standards. The décor was Elegant, calming and traditional all at the same time. When you walk into the Suite the large bathroom was on our left, Walk in shower, large bath big enough for two, his and hers sinks and a separate toilet. Plenty of towels all of high quality. The amenities in the bathroom were LÓccitane along with other goodies: brush, hair band, Decleor products, shaving items, toothbrush, insect repellent etc. In fact you could have travelled very light with just some clothes as all your toiletries were provided.

Come out of the bathroom and the Butlers Pantry is in front of you. This was genius. Its a small lockable cupboard which the Butler has access to from the outside. When you have finished with any food or drink items or in-room dining, instead of leaving the tray outside the door cluttering up the hallway, you place all the items into the pantry and the Butler checks during the day to remove dirty trays.

Wardrobes with plenty of hangers, umbrella, beach bag, hairdryer, flip flops for him and her, dressing gowns, jewellery box and a safe.

Large bedroom area, Superking size bed, TV, office area then sliding doors through to the lounge area with TV, Fridge and drinks station.

The bedding is made from fine Linen - the best sheets I've ever had
Fridge is stocked with a selection of drinks including local beer - these are complimentary
Fresh flowers in the room every day
Fresh cookies and mixed nuts everyday
Early morning tea/coffee with muffins bought to your room

Breakfast - This was from 06.00 to 11.00. Once again cold towels were offered as you sat at your table. Tea/coffee is bough to your table along with fresh juices, then you can go to the buffet and hot station to choose your items. Lots of different items and changed every day. Fresh breads, cakes and muffins, sushi, local Balinese dishes, cheeses, fresh fruits, cereals and choice of eggs.
Each time we enjoyed a meal in the restaurant for breakfast or in the evening the waitress bought over small canapés of treats from the Chef, I suppose they were new ideas he was trying out. The mini Pancakes with lemon curd were to die for!

By the Pool - Large sun loungers with very deep cushions and umbrella. The Pool Boy prepares your bed for you, places two towels, a table with cold towels, flavoured water, sun cream, after sun and spritzing spray. Throughout the day you are given canapés of fresh fruit, sorbet and fruit shots, your water is replenished as soon as you are near the bottom of the glass. There are Cabanas on the beach front if you would prefer not to sit next to the pool

The pool side Restaurant - Open all day overlooking the pool and sea. They serve everything from Steak Sandwich, Beefburger and Lamb Kofta to Fresh Seafood and Steaks in the evening for Elegant dining.

Layang Layang Restaurant- This is currently open for breakfast and evening but I am presuming as the hotel grows it will be open for lunch. The restaurant serves Asian inspired food. Beef Rendang was my favourite along with bread and butter pudding with coconut sorbet.

Lobby Lounge - In the evenings between 17.00 - 19.00 Canapés are served. Cocktail list is varied, once again the staff spoil you with their service.

I would definitely come back to this hotel (bank balance permitting). The Swiss Manager is seen frequently around the hotel chatting to guests, checking that everything is running smoothly and efficiently. The staff are eager to engage in conversation and ask for feedback. Nice touches - staff address you by name not Sir or Madam and also remember what drinks and food you like.

There were a few teething issues but this is to be expected and they were rectified immediately.

My personal gripes were: Extra light is needed in the hallway to your room as its very dark, the mattress is medium-hard, I prefer a soft mattress, not many sun loungers by the pool. This didn't affect us but I would imagine when there are more guests it may be an issue. Ants in the lounge area of the suite. I am used to ants as I live in Singapore but some people may be put off by them. Very difficult to control in a tropical climate, insect spray was provided. The beach in front of the hotel was a little disappointing as I was expecting to be able to enjoy a few hours in the sea and lie on the beach, but the fishing boats are located here - nice to watch but not for bathing

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentBali B, General Manager at Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Regent Guest "Bonnieash"

Warm greetings from the Regent Bali.
Thank you so much for you time to write your very detailes and so good comments about your stay at the Regent Bali. My team and myself are very happy to read your comments.
We improving every day our service and many wonderful ideas and inputs from our guest and employees help us to make a more memorable stay possible for our guest.
I belief there is still a lot of details we can improve and next time if you will visit the Regent, we can show you more of our unexpected surprises.
Please feel free to contact me anytime and your Suite will be ready to hideaway from the daily hassle and stress. In September we will have 25 two and three bedroom villas with private pool perhaps you would like to try them? Please contact me any time
Warm regards Michael B. Gaehler michael.gaehler@regenthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

There were 9 of us in an extended family and we booked 4 rooms (2 in each, with the exception of one room with my aunt and uncle with their 8 year-old girl). Each one had a personal "butler" who showed you the amenities and how to function everything within your room; we had Dewa and he made us feel right at home. The room itself is absolutely amazing with a closed porch facing the garden outside, and it's equipped with snacks and a mini refrigerator with various types of drinks, ranging from, but not limited to, Bintang beer to San Pellegrinos (all are complimentary). water night, there is a man who plays traditional Balinese music on a gamelan in an open terrace and the entire hotel is lit up; the hotel refined the definition of "exotique." Infinity pool is one-of-a-kind and the staff there asks you if you want drinks during your swim. Out of all the international luxury hotels (including Ritz Carlton in Singapore) Regent Bali is overall the best hotel where I've stayed, with its attentive service and breathtaking exterior/interior.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentBali B, Manager at Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Guest -

Thank you very much for your time to share your very positive feedback from your stay at Regent Bali. Our employees and my self are very happy to know you and your family had a wonderful time. To improve everyday our service and guest experience is a non ending positive process and we all are looking forward to welcome you back very soon again and I am confident that your next stay will again exceed your expectations.
Please contact me anytime.
My personal e-mail is: michael.gaehler@regenthotels.com.

Sincerely,
Michael B. Gaehler
Group General Manager
Regent Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keelung, T'ai-wan, Taiwan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Most people know that Regent Hotel is one of the famous chain in the world, but the Regent Bali is the best within the best!!! The feeling you get when you arrive from the very first moment you enter into this resort. You know that you will be taken care in every way possible. The butler were welcoming and friendly - all employees greet you by name and you feel very much at home. The atmosphere is very elegant and relaxed - simple way perfect. If you are a 5 star traveler, don't consider any place else in the Sanur area. The Spa is one of the best I have have seen and the Regent signature massage is incredible. Mostly I liked the pool which is really nice.We hope to return soon to enjoy another stay at this fabulous resort.Thanks to the entire team for the great service

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentBali B, General Manager at Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Jessy C
Warm Greetings from Regent Bali!!!
Our Team and my self are trilled to read your feedback and are very happy if you come back soon.
Please contact me personally and all 240 employees from Regent Bali will make your dream holiday true again and again.
Warm regards
Michael B. Gaehler
michael.gaehler@regenthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Where do I start? My wife and I just returned from a wonderful 4 nights/5 days stay at the Regent Bali in paradise. My wife did not want to leave and she wants to come back already. We celebrated our 5-year wedding anniversary. Regent Bali made our stay memorable being first timers to Bali. The resort is beautiful with a great suites and an amazing swimming pool.The resort is beautiful in every way, especially in the evening time. We were fortunate to have had a dinner at the pool restaurant and it was really romantic. The food was also wonderful.We met so many wonderful gentlemen and ladies who worked at the resort. We miss seeing her and hearing her laughter but we hope to come back soon. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentBali B, General Manager at Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Regent Guest Gestranded
Warm Regards from Regent Sanur on the island of god's. We are trilled that you and you wife had a such amazing time here at our Beachfront Resort. Its a wonderful romantic resort and we do hope you will come back very soon. There is much more to explore with us and we are delight to bring you next time to the most beautiful places in Bali if you have some more time.
Our concierge has some island tours where no one else is going and we would love to show you where you can find the real untouched and authentic culture from Bali. Again thank you very much for your comments and the full team is looking forward to have you soon back. Best regards
Michael Gaehler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I booked an ocean view room and stayed here during the opening month of june 13. Service here is average as the staff here still needed more training and experience as compared to our previous stay at the Four Seasons Ubud. Room were as expected. Food is average and very pricey. The included breakfast was under whelming and not of regent hotel standards. The only saving grace was the pool. If you are expecting a nice beach front with loungers you are mistaken. Beach in front of hotel is filled with boats and without any beach loungers to lie and listen to waves. We may not return to this resort. Other hotels adjacent had nice sun loungers and no boats parked.

Room Tip: Need to pick a high floor with ocean views. The back villas are still on renovation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentBali B, General Manager at Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest -

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We aim to provide all of our guests with a excellent stay experience and regret that you, as one of our very first guests, were not satisfied. I am personally looking into all of your comments and will be addressing them directly with the departments noted.

I would like to invite you to personally book your return visit with me and am confident that your next stay will not only meet, but exceed your expectations. Your comments have proven most welcome and useful - thank you. My e-mail is michael.gaehler@regenthotels.com.

Sincerely,
Michael Gaehler
Group General Manager
Regent Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali

Address: Jalan Kusuma Sari No. 8 | Sanur Beach, Bali, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80227, Indonesia (Formerly Regent Sanur)
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#2 Family Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali is a world-class all-suite-and-villa resort set amidst four hectares of lush tropical gardens. Only 25 minutes from the Ngurah Rai International Airport, the property is located along 200m of golden beach in the Sanur district in southeast Bali. Once a fishing village, Sanur is today full of historical charm and a hub for Balinese art, culture and tradition well away from the hustle and bustle of the rest of the island. Contemporary tropical living can be experienced across the 120 luxurious suites and villas, where each unit offers expansive space, peace and round-the-clock dedicated butler service. Our food and beverage offerings include Layang Layang which specializes in authentic Indonesian cuisine; Nyala Beach Club and Grill serves light meals in the day while at night transforms into a sophisticated poolside dining venue serving Pan-Asian dishes with a twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Escapio, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.