We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in the Santrian Suites and you will be delighted” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Griya Santrian

Save Saved
You added Griya Santrian to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Griya Santrian
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Danau Tamblingan 47 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 63 hotels in Sanur
Sydney
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Stay in the Santrian Suites and you will be delighted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in January 2011. Got upgraded to a Santrian suite – these rooms are magnificent. Huge bedroom and sitting room Similar sized bathroom and dressing room. Think we got upgraded as I had booked a renovated room, so make sure you do this - don't just go for the chepaest option.

This hotel benefits from being Indonesian run as the staff tend to be more easy going and friendly than the Western run which seem to emphasise training over a local welcome.

The three pools are great, there is a front main pool and bar. The middle pool is very stylish with water features. The back pool is a glamorous simple minimalist pool.

Breakfast was a special $5 offer, it was pretty good. Definitely enough of a range of fruit and hot offerings for us, situated in the restaurant right on the beach. Don’t miss the beach barbeque on Monday night. Room service was excellent the first night we arrived. The hotel is well located on the beach and just a quick walk to the Sanur shops.

Hire one of the hotel bikes and ride the boardwalk. The middle of the day is not a bad option as there are less people around when it’s hot.

Overall we would rate this hotel very highly. Our room was beautiful and the staff couldn't do enough for us. Only drawback was I was travelling with a teenager and Sanur is a place for younger families and older couples. I wanted to go back there again after 20 years to see how it had changed. My daughter liked it but for her it didn’t have the vibe of Seminyak and Legian.

So if you are looking for a quieter place in Bali then Sanur is definitely it and the Griya Santrian a beautiful option. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    398
    281
    68
    27
    9
See reviews for
198
396
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

we stayed at the Griya Santrian for five nights . The first room we were escorted to (which we had booked in advance) was old tired and a little worn out (just like me).It also had a mouldy smell To be frank the room was not up to standard and we felt like we had to see if we could upgrade. People on here before have stated the response from reception staff to the request to be upgraded was that we had already been upgraded ( would hate to see the room we were originally programmed for if this was the case.) We were told however for a US$35 per night fee that we could have a deluxe room.after a discussion we negotiated the fee down to US$30) per night. This room was clean modern and welcoming. What a difference!!!!
The price we paid for the room did not include breakfast (at US$16 for breakfast this would have been a rip off)but the hotel offered a scaled down version of the buffet breakfast that was only US$5 + taxes which was very good value for money
Its walking distance to the major shopping centre (Hardy s) and has plenty of very adequate restaurants close by (we preferred Mona Lisas)
All in all staff were friendly,gardens superb and we had a good time there. Would stay again but only in the deluxe modern rooms

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

We have stayed at the Griya Santrian for holidays over the last twenty years,over the years we have noticed that Aussie’s don’t have breakfast included in the room rate and have to pay an extra US$12 p/p for the privilege, where as Europeans have b/fast included in the room rate. When we queried this discrepancy with hotel management we were told it was because of “different markets”. However, even if you book the holiday with an Indonesian Agency, the rate Aussies pay is higher than for Europeans, therefore Griya’s policy is based on “Race” not “Markets”.
We believe that this policy is unfair and that Griya and Puri Santrian Management should reconsider their position. Unfortunately for us, as a matter of principle we won’t be staying at Griya unless this discriminatory policy is dumped.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

on arrival at 12noon were told no room avilable till 7pm as occupants had paid for late checkout ,after a little discusion we were given a suite till 7pm not a good idea because we could not unpack . Breakfast not a big selection and the cold bacon heaped on a plate beside the egg frying station was not acceptable tables were never set properly every morning we had to ask for sugar and teaspoons, 1umbrella to four chairs around the pool meant two people on the outside were sitting in the sun ,stray dogs around the pool and the staff didnt seem to bother about them on checking out i asked for the bill and was double charged for drinks at new year took half hour to sort it out,

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, I changed our hotel to Griya - best decision. We stayed in a deluxe room near the beach and I walked around the hotel with a big grin for the week taking in everything. I dont think the photos do justice to the place.
The best part about the hotel is having breakfast on the beach - unbelievable, bintangs on the big lounges near the beach, cocktails in the pool bar, the excellent service from all the staff, position of the hotel and being the best hotel to stay in Sanur.
We ate at the hotel, Mona Lisa, Bonsai (on the beach), Pregina Warung, Cafe Smorgas and the Village.
The best Spa place is the pink shop called Natande Spa opposite Hardys.
We will definetely be coming back to Griya.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnarvon, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

My friend and I travelled to Bali on the 5th Jan my 6th trip her 1st we book the Griya because it was on the beach and not to big (I have stayed at the Mercure-and enjoy that too) on arriving it was night so only formed an impression while dark but very satified with our room- we had read some negative reports - but we were happy we stay at the Griya for 14days the staff were fantastic the service was great the retaraunts and pools were great if anyone is going to bali Sanur I dont reckon you could go wrong with this hotel while there we had a look at other hotels the Griya still came up trumps in our eyes

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

Lovely hotel, we stayed in one of the newly renovated rooms which was close to the pool, it was very spacious, airconditioning was brilliant and decor was very trendy.

The service was great also along with te internet service.

Only bad part was that they didn't include breakfast at a"reasonable" cost - You could have it, but it was way over priced. It was far cheaper to walk out the front and wander along the beach or the back road to find something to eat.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Griya Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griya Santrian

Address: Danau Tamblingan 47 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#6 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#8 Family Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Griya Santrian 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, AsiaRooms, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Griya Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griya Santrian Hotel Sanur
Griya Santrian Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Griya Santrian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.