We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE ONLY REVIEW YOU NEED TO READ **never again**” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Griya Santrian

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Griya Santrian to your Saves list
Griya Santrian
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Danau Tamblingan 47 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Sanur
nottingham
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“THE ONLY REVIEW YOU NEED TO READ **never again**”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

Booked as honeymoon got treated like 2nd class citizens because we were gay, straight couples got a big chocalate hart shaped honeymoon cake and flowers we got a small desert and cake WWWOOOOOWWWW WWWWEEEEEE the hotel satff and management look after repeat customers as well as taking back handers from the repeat customers **ALL CUSTOMERS SHOULD BE TREATED THE SAME** sunbeds were reserved from 6am for 2-3hrs and the hotel rules state they can only be reserved for 1/2hr , if your an animal over its not the place to stay if a beach dog comes on the grounds they throw brushes or hit them with sticks and brushes i had an argument with a pool attendent over the way he was hitting the dog and then a repeat customer decided to but in because he thought i was wrong tld him were to go and how would he like it if he was hit over the head by a brush its a no smoking hotel you make a complaint to management about things and there not followed up, rooms are dirty and not cleaned to standard, while we were there we had coch roaches in the room most mornings and ither rat or mice droppings on our outside table told management and nothing was done untill we told them we were going to put on trip advisor and coplain to rep, rooms are small my partner is disabled and found it difficult to get round the hotel grounds due to no ramps to pool area , resturants no lifts to upper floors when we did eat in the hotel it was not upto the standard you would excpect for a hotel resturant you can better on the beach front and a lot cheaper the hotel is mainly for people who want to sit at a bar and get drunk all day if i carried on i would be here all nite the hotel advertizers entertainment at night there was none in the 2 weeks we stayed there

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    319
    77
    30
    10
See reviews for
225
440
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west sussex
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2009

My wife & I have just returned from 2 weeks at this hotel ,We both agree that the hotel is excellent ,the gardens are well mantained ,the suite we were upgraded too was superb,All the staff were friendly , very helpful & made you feel that they were interested in you & making your stay a pleasure .We ate in the hotel a few times and could not fault the food or the service .
We would also recommend finding Made`s - Boat No/.3 (on the beach) for water sports & days out, he`ll look after you well& take you where you want,also Atima & Su do a good massage at the hotel (by the side of the resturant)

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

Just a quick word to say: Don't hesitate and worry as much as I did before deciding to book the Griya Santrian! Just book and enjoy! The gardens are realy lovely (nicer than some 4 and 5 stars hotels we stayed in). The standard garden wing room was just great for us. Didn't need more. Very clean and super airco. Breakfast is good (not great but certainly sufficient). Location in Sanur is great. Lots of cheap and good restaurants nearby. Pregina, right across the Griya was one of our favourites. Made's (leaving the Griya : to the right) is also very good value for money. A bit more expensive (to Indonesian standards) is Ming (past the Hyatt): rijsttafel is superb. Only bad (really horrible) meal we had was at Swastika. On the beach our favourite was Bonsai Café: exquisite chicken saté.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

We chose this hotel on the basis of a friend's recommendation as well as the reviews we read on tripadvisor. Initially we stayed in a Beach Wing room which was a more traditional Balinese room, a little bit old and worn but still in a great location, a very short walk from the pool and the beach. Towards the end of our stay we were upgraded to a Deluxe room due to a couple of little issues we had with the room (the main one being that it was different to that which we were expecting to stay in on the basis of our agent's representations) and the Deluxe room was absolutely amazing - only 10 metres from the pool, 20 or so from the beach and with luxury fittings to the room and bathroom. The service was impeccable irrespective of the room we were in, and on the whole it was a clean hotel (despite our very fussy standards). The beach towels were the only towels that appeared to be soiled, but it's hard to tell if they were stained but washed or actually dirty. The location of the hotel was great, the best in Sanur, close to a plethora of restaurants though I would suggest that you stick to the hotel's 2 restaurants and room service as all of the other restaurants we tried were pretty average. The only exceptions to this are 2 restaurants we ate at outside of the Sanur area, one being the seafood restaurant Lang'Sam at Jimbaran Bay (amazing seafood, weather and sunset) and the other a more upmarket restaurant at Seminyak called La Luciolas - simply stunning. I could go on and on but in short we enjoyed our stay, loved the hotel especially once we were in the newer room (as it felt cleaner!) and would return to Bali for a relaxing holiday with enough to see and do if and when we have the energy to drag ourselves away from the pool!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2009

We arrived at griya santrian on 14/4/2009 at 1pm our room was not ready till 6pm so they allowed us to use another room untill then, which was essential due to us feeling really grubby after 24hours, plus travel from london heathrow.
The room we eventually got given was room 159, it was in the new area of the hotel and was nice apart from the seperate beds, they soon sorted this out.
Griya is situated about 20 minutes from the airport in sanur right on the beach. The beach is reasonable but no where near as good as say the carribean! The water is very shallow and calm due to natural reef situated about 200 metres off shore.
We never used the beach much due to the intensity of the sun, we prefered the shade of the hotels pools particaularly the middle pool of the 3 this was amazing, with its jacuzzi nestled in a tower above the pool. outside the hotel on the beach front there is a long stretch of beach, about a mile long fringed with other hotels, market stores and other shops. To the front there is a main road with lots of restaurants shops, stores , taxis ,and taxis and taxis. As soon as you step foot out side the hotel you will be approached by taxi drivers and store owners trying to get your money!! If you want a taxi from the hotel to Kuta i suggest that you pay no more than 50,000 idr which is about £3.50, Kuta is about half an hours drive from sanur, and 50,000 was the best price we could haggle from drivers. If you want a car and driver for the day i would say a fair price would be 250,000 idr this will get you a days service from a very smart airconditioned mini van or car/truck.
We spent a day in ubud which is where the monkeys are, this was brilliant and the monkeys are so friendly.
I would also recommend "water bomb aqua park" in Kuta for a good day out.
I would not recommend hiring a motor cycle out there due to the corrupt police, we hired a scooter and within 20 minutes were pulled over by the police, for nothing and told we had to give him 200,000 idr or go to prison, we payed the money and took the scooter straight back to the hire shop.
Eating out is reasonably priced expect to pay about 3 / 5 pounds for a main meal , but the portions are very small most of the time which means you really need a starter as well , we found that for the both of us eating out we would need to spend about 250,000 to 350,000 idr to get an average meal and a couple of drinks ( £17 to £24) so no where near as good value as say thailand. Bottled beer costs from about £1.50 to £3.50 per bottle depending whether you buy it from a shop or hotel.
Bali is really beautiful but is relatively expensive and the police are out to make money from tourists.
The hotel is immaculate and well run. Would really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

We stayed in Feb for a week, could not fault this place . Stayed in a Deluxe room, Heaps of room for 2 people nice deck outside for drinks or reading. Breakfasts were good, 2 restrauants we could reccomend THE VILLAGE OUT THE FRONT& THE BONSAI CAFE turn left at beach front 5 minute walk. Hardys Supermarket close and handy turn left out front 5 minute walk or 2500 rupiah with Bemo. If you are like me and hand washing isn't your forte go down the lane directly opposite to the entry to Griya and walk down about 20 metres on the right. They are friendly clean and very cheap. Then for a driver between the laundry and the Griya entry is "I Made Budiarta" Daily Tour Driver ph [--] or email [--] - Very honest reliable good family man.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

We stayed at the Griya Santrian in Sanur for two weeks in March 2009. It was great. It’s a lovely, small hotel, with beautiful gardens and a good beachfront. The hotel restaurant is very good – nice food, just a little more expensive than the many restaurants and cafes in Sanur, in common with most of the good hotels. We visited the Hyatt further down the beach and concluded that we liked our hotel better – it was more genuinely Balinese. The Hyatt could have been anywhere in the world and was a bit characterless by comparison.

There are three pools at Griya – one large one with a shallow children’s section (near the sunken bar and beach), a small but deep pool with a jacuzzi in the middle of the gardens, and a small, modern pool with a wooden deck surround at the road end of the property.

We stayed in a suite, consisting of a large entrance area, with a suitcase shelf, two large wardrobes and safe, plus wash-hand basin and vanity. There was a small hairdryer supplied. The bathroom was huge, and had a bath and an enormous shower (room for half a rugby team). The main room contained a large four-poster bed, complete with mosquito nets, a sofa, sideboard with mini-bar, coffee table and a lovely orchid plant. The balcony was large and had three chairs and a table. All the furniture was lovely – good quality and nicely designed. We also had tea and coffee making facilities. Everything was very clean and in good working order.

The staff at the hotel are lovely – very friendly and helpful. Even if they don’t always speak great English (like the gardeners), they always smile and say hello. Actually, that’s true of almost everyone we met in Bali - really nice people.

Our fellow guests were mainly Dutch (Bali is a former Dutch colony) and Australians. There were not many other English people there. In the Sanur area, there were people from all over Europe, including France, Germany, Italy and more Dutch people. Sanur is a nice, safe resort – very quiet though. Don’t come here expecting to party every night.

The hotel is great – nothing more I can add about that, but I can give you some tips about Bali if you’ve never been there before. The currency is confusing – all those 000s, so be careful when you hand out notes and check your change carefully. Most people seem to be very honest, though. I accidentally gave someone twice the amount I should have and they instantly gave it back to me, when it would have been easy to con a daft tourist.

Dining out is very affordable. You’ll pay 40,000 to 60,000 rupiah for a main course (less than £4). And the food was pretty good wherever we ate – and we tried a lot of places! A mixture of western, oriental and Indonesian food is on offer at most restaurants. We particularly liked the atmostphere at the Bonsai Café – turn left when you get to the beach and walk for about seven minutes.

Alcohol is disproportionately expensive in comparison to food. A large bottle of Bintang beer costs between 20,000 and 30,000 rupiah – which is ok, but wine is dear. Local supermarket plonk is just about drinkable, but prices can vary immensely, depending on where you are dining. Imported wines can be very expensive indeed.

There are loads of great places to visit. Before you go, read at least one good guidebook and try to get an idea of what interests you most. The tourism industry is mainly aimed at independent travellers, not package tourists. You won’t be offered a coach trip with 50 other people to a boozy night out at a local village, as is ‘traditional’ in Spanish or Greek package holidays. You need to know what you want to see and then organise it – your hotel can help you find a reliable driver.

There are organised tours available, but they may not include all the elements you want to see. It’s often cheaper to go by metered taxi (around the south of Bali in the main tourist resorts), which is very affordable. You can easily organise transport anywhere you want to go. Having said that, we did a brilliant 4WD excursion up into the hills. This was expensive ($93US each) but it took us to places we would never have found if we’d tried to organise it ourselves.

Take lots of spending money and an empty suitcase. There are lots of great things to buy – from clothing, to artworks, to furniture (which can be shipped). Lots of the art markets and shops require you to bargain for your purchases, which usually means shop owner 1, tourist 0 (you can’t blame them though!) If you really don’t like haggling, you can buy most things, fixed price, at a Hardy’s Supermarket. Don’t be fooled – they sell plenty more than cornflakes, including good quality arts and crafts, and clothing. They often have discounts on the ticketed prices, so you still feel as though you’re getting a bargain. Check out the prices in a supermarket before you start haggling elsewhere – their prices are a good guide as to what you should be paying.

Despite March being at the tail end of the rainy season, we had marvellous weather. Yes, it’s humid, but it’s in the tropics – that’s the sort of weather they have! In two week, there was one big thunderstorm and rain at night. There may also have been a short shower one other night. We only got wet in the pool or the sea. It was pretty much sunshine all the way.

There are mosquitoes. Most of the hotels seem to spray for them, but you may still get nibbled. Generally, they don’t carry malaria (but can do) and they can also carry dengue fever, for which there is no known cure, so it really is best to avoid being bitten. We only picked up a few bites, but you do need to protect yourself at sunrise and sunset, and all day if you’re in the jungley bits or rice paddies.

This was one of the best holidays we’ve ever been on! If you can’t get in at the Griya Santrian, try the sister hotel, also in Sanur, called Puri Santrian.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Griya Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griya Santrian

Address: Danau Tamblingan 47 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#6 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#6 Family Hotel in Sanur
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Griya Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, AsiaRooms, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Griya Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griya Santrian Hotel Sanur
Griya Santrian Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Griya Santrian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.