We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Griya Santrian

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Griya Santrian to your Saves list
Griya Santrian
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Danau Tamblingan 47 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 71 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

My husband and I recently spent the last 4 days of our Bali holiday at Griya Santrian, our favourite hotel in Sanur. Griya never disappoints, the location is fantastic, the staff extremely friendly and helpful. Great place to relax around one of the three pools, walk along the beach and generally relax in a superb environment. We will definately make Griya our Sanur place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henny_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

The Griya did not fail to impress, especially since we stayed in the new wing. We have a young baby and the cook was more than willing to boil up vegetables for her. The staff are very professional, hard-working and friendly. The whole place is spotless!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BonnieWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Location is great, set back from a main road for shopping and dining, right on the beach. Main pool is on the beach with a swim up bar. 2 other pools in the resort. Staff were the friendliest I experienced out of the 3 places I stayed at in Bali. My friend had an accident (nothing to do with the resort) which required a doctor to be called out and the staff were so caring and attentive and even checked up on her the next day to make sure all was good. Our twin share room was a little dated but clean and had everything we could possibly need. The gardens are beautiful. Loved this place. Will be going back for sure.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mish F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We also received an upgrade on arrival as all booked in area we had requested. Wow! We have a most beautiful room fairly close to beach and front pool. Perfect. Re grizzles about wet bathers etc. there is a washing line over the bath. The seafood beach barbecue was wonderful and cheap as because one ordered fish or lobster etc by weight. Awesome music and even dancing on the pathway. What more could one ask for? Our deal does not include breakfast but of course can just pay. But superb little cafe over the road The Verandah does a perfect meal

Room Tip: Book the very best you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Soupy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We have stayed in this hotel a massive 11 times and will undoubtedly be back again. The rooms are always clean, the gardens well kept and the staff helpful and friendly. We love the Balinese architecture, and even with the new renovations the hotel has managed to blend the modern with the more traditional styled buildings - there is also a lot of Balinese ornamentation which helps to add character around the place. None of the rooms is more than a stone's throw from a pool which is nice for those who want to just relax.

If you want a hotel with massive of facilities then this is not the place for you - there are 3 pools, a pool table, a choice of restaurants and bars, free WiFi and Day Spa facilities but the hotel is medium sized and generally more relaxation oriented rather than action packed - this suits us but may not be for some bigger families who want activities to occupy their children.

The hotel is centrally located in Sanur within easy reach of good restaurants and shops, and also has beachfront access to one of the nicer stretches of beach.

Suffice to say that many of the guests are repeat visitors like us (we seem to run into the same people year after year) and I think that speaks for itself!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MonkandMags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid North Coast NSW
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at this resort. It is not the style we would normally choose however. The clientele is mixed with both couples & families of mixed age groups. We were upgraded on arrival to a deluxe room near the main pool & beach :) i think this is the better location as it looks more 'boxed in' down the other end. Being Australian my partner loved the swim up pool bar and he enjoyed a few bintags there while having a dip. I had a massage from the on site spa which was extremely enjoyable & cheap compared to home. We didnt eat dinner here as many restaurants are just around the corner. All the staff were friendly & helpful.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank swr_chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Just back from a 4 night stay at Griya mid July. Last time in Sanur 20 years ago at Bali Hyatt so wanted the same feel. A few other beachfront locations in the same vicinity but they are decieving as well. We looked at a few when we were there. It really depends what the price is worth to you! I booked 6 months in advance after doing a ton of research..since we had 2 adults and 1 14 year old the deluxe rooms were not available and the garden were not that appealing so we booked a beach. Got to the room at 3 pm..very average, bathroom updated but small and the rest of the room was like a 2.5 star for $200 US. We were trying to go with the flow but after getting back from the pool around 630 the room was full of mossies. No windows open. Had them spray when we left for dinner but we were bummed. Next morning hubby went to front desk and talked to them about quality of room and our expectations. Nothing open except the Santrian Suite..which was expensive. We looked at room-very nice, very big, bright and new. Yup we threw down the extra $$. Dwi was instrumental in changing our attitude around and making it happen. They did give us a break on the upgrade although the room was close to $260. Personally too much for Bali..but we were happy so just let it go. The rest of the stay was great. Fabulous service in Santrian Suite with extra amenities. Beach great, pool nice. Service at pool bar slow but its a state of mind..I live in Hawaii and everything is slow too. We loved the location, free bikes, the gardens are stunning. Massage ladies on left of beach path a little pushy but a decent massage for $6. All in all Sanur is still a great place..quiet, good people watching and the Balinese are beautiful people. Enjoy and just expect it to be different than where you live..that is the best thing about traveling-isn't it?

Room Tip: Just be willing to pay for whatever room make you happy..life is short
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LTVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.4 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#11 of 71 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 stars 1,716 reviews
1.4 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
0.3 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#6 of 71 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Sanur
Mercure Resort Sanur
#25 of 71 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 stars 1,725 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
0.5 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griya Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griya Santrian

Address: Danau Tamblingan 47 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#6 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#7 Family Hotel in Sanur
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Griya Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Griya Santrian welcomes you to experience an enduring tale of warm traditional Balinese hospitality on the laid back sunrise coast of Sanur Beach. This beautiful beachfront resort, the sister property of Puri Santrian, is unmistakably among the most renowned landmarks in Sanur, gracing a perfectly central location on the quiet shore and with an unending classical design that continues to charm visitors, be it new and repeat visitors alike. Sanur is well known as a spot for luxurious seaside accommodation with its white sand beach bordering a reef-sheltered lagoon, making it one of the safest on the island, and thus perfect for families. As a luxuriant oasis in Sanur, Griya Santrian's enduring warm Balinese touches are imbued throughout its range of impeccable services and facilities. Leafy tropical Balinese gardens comprising flowering undergrowth and large shady trees (some older than the resort itself) dominate its manicured landscaping. And guests enjoy ease of access to the local shopping and dining hubs of Sanur, all within walking distance from the resort. At the heart of the Balinese owned and operated resort are its wonderful accommodation features - well designed and appointed guestrooms are spread throughout its two main wings. The two story Garden Wing comprises a total of 37 rooms with private balconies or terraces overlooking the resort's aforementioned lush gardens. Meanwhile, the ever popular Beach Wing features a total of 20 spacious rooms that let guests wake up to the wonderful garden view and the dramatic Sanur sunrises. Balconies or terraces also overlook the resort's main pool. Cable TV, mini-bar, hot and cold water, IDD telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safe and air conditioning all come as standard in-room amenities, to name a few. Alternatively, a choice of 59 Deluxe Rooms welcome guests to garden and pool views with some closer to the beach and feature en suite marble bathrooms and separate showers. For those who prefer a more lavish accommodation will find the Santrian Suite, a capacious suite with a 68 sqm bedroom with an elegantly draped four-poster bed as its center piece, together with a dressing room and private balcony. Designed with a refined modern Balinese approach, the suite serves as the ultimate romantic getaway for couples and honeymooners, while also great for families. For dining pleasures, Griya Santrian presents its main restaurants and outlets, which includes The Wantilan Restaurant, offering sumptuous breakfasts and all-day dining complemented by sweeping ocean views over the Sanur coastline. Meanwhile, Griya Beach Corner serves a wide choice of Italian, Japanese and Asian specialty dishes in a refreshing open-air setting. For a bit of romance, lovebirds can optionally spice things up with a bespoke candlelit dinner. The Spa at Griya Santrian is a thoughtfully designed and purpose built facility that offers a wide range of health and beauty treatments using natural fruit and flower extracts that will totally indulge you from top to toe. It's the go-to place within the resort grounds where guests can discover a great way to re-energize, refresh and rejuvenate during their stay. Griya Santrian opened in 1972 as a luxury boutique resort with a pride and commitment towards the preservation of Balinese arts and culture. While keeping to its roots and now in its fourth decade running, Griya Santrian continues to improve its facilities and services. The most recent addition includes a new wing room which was unveiled only last year, and repeat guests will also be surprised to see a new spa adjacent the resort's lobby, set to be completed this year. Several key facelifts are also well underway in 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Griya Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griya Santrian Hotel Sanur
Griya Santrian Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing