We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Griya Santrian

Save Saved
You added Griya Santrian to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Griya Santrian
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Danau Tamblingan 47 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 65 Hotels in Sanur
Adelaide, South Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Love this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I recently spent the last 4 days of our Bali holiday at Griya Santrian, our favourite hotel in Sanur. Griya never disappoints, the location is fantastic, the staff extremely friendly and helpful. Great place to relax around one of the three pools, walk along the beach and generally relax in a superb environment. We will definately make Griya our Sanur place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    299
    70
    29
    9
See reviews for
212
420
29
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

The Griya did not fail to impress, especially since we stayed in the new wing. We have a young baby and the cook was more than willing to boil up vegetables for her. The staff are very professional, hard-working and friendly. The whole place is spotless!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Location is great, set back from a main road for shopping and dining, right on the beach. Main pool is on the beach with a swim up bar. 2 other pools in the resort. Staff were the friendliest I experienced out of the 3 places I stayed at in Bali. My friend had an accident (nothing to do with the resort) which required a doctor to be called out and the staff were so caring and attentive and even checked up on her the next day to make sure all was good. Our twin share room was a little dated but clean and had everything we could possibly need. The gardens are beautiful. Loved this place. Will be going back for sure.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We also received an upgrade on arrival as all booked in area we had requested. Wow! We have a most beautiful room fairly close to beach and front pool. Perfect. Re grizzles about wet bathers etc. there is a washing line over the bath. The seafood beach barbecue was wonderful and cheap as because one ordered fish or lobster etc by weight. Awesome music and even dancing on the pathway. What more could one ask for? Our deal does not include breakfast but of course can just pay. But superb little cafe over the road The Verandah does a perfect meal

Room Tip: Book the very best you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We have stayed in this hotel a massive 11 times and will undoubtedly be back again. The rooms are always clean, the gardens well kept and the staff helpful and friendly. We love the Balinese architecture, and even with the new renovations the hotel has managed to blend the modern with the more traditional styled buildings - there is also a lot of Balinese ornamentation which helps to add character around the place. None of the rooms is more than a stone's throw from a pool which is nice for those who want to just relax.

If you want a hotel with massive of facilities then this is not the place for you - there are 3 pools, a pool table, a choice of restaurants and bars, free WiFi and Day Spa facilities but the hotel is medium sized and generally more relaxation oriented rather than action packed - this suits us but may not be for some bigger families who want activities to occupy their children.

The hotel is centrally located in Sanur within easy reach of good restaurants and shops, and also has beachfront access to one of the nicer stretches of beach.

Suffice to say that many of the guests are repeat visitors like us (we seem to run into the same people year after year) and I think that speaks for itself!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid North Coast NSW
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this resort. It is not the style we would normally choose however. The clientele is mixed with both couples & families of mixed age groups. We were upgraded on arrival to a deluxe room near the main pool & beach :) i think this is the better location as it looks more 'boxed in' down the other end. Being Australian my partner loved the swim up pool bar and he enjoyed a few bintags there while having a dip. I had a massage from the on site spa which was extremely enjoyable & cheap compared to home. We didnt eat dinner here as many restaurants are just around the corner. All the staff were friendly & helpful.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Just back from a 4 night stay at Griya mid July. Last time in Sanur 20 years ago at Bali Hyatt so wanted the same feel. A few other beachfront locations in the same vicinity but they are decieving as well. We looked at a few when we were there. It really depends what the price is worth to you! I booked 6 months in advance after doing a ton of research..since we had 2 adults and 1 14 year old the deluxe rooms were not available and the garden were not that appealing so we booked a beach. Got to the room at 3 pm..very average, bathroom updated but small and the rest of the room was like a 2.5 star for $200 US. We were trying to go with the flow but after getting back from the pool around 630 the room was full of mossies. No windows open. Had them spray when we left for dinner but we were bummed. Next morning hubby went to front desk and talked to them about quality of room and our expectations. Nothing open except the Santrian Suite..which was expensive. We looked at room-very nice, very big, bright and new. Yup we threw down the extra $$. Dwi was instrumental in changing our attitude around and making it happen. They did give us a break on the upgrade although the room was close to $260. Personally too much for Bali..but we were happy so just let it go. The rest of the stay was great. Fabulous service in Santrian Suite with extra amenities. Beach great, pool nice. Service at pool bar slow but its a state of mind..I live in Hawaii and everything is slow too. We loved the location, free bikes, the gardens are stunning. Massage ladies on left of beach path a little pushy but a decent massage for $6. All in all Sanur is still a great place..quiet, good people watching and the Balinese are beautiful people. Enjoy and just expect it to be different than where you live..that is the best thing about traveling-isn't it?

Room Tip: Just be willing to pay for whatever room make you happy..life is short
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Griya Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griya Santrian

Address: Danau Tamblingan 47 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#6 Family Hotel in Sanur
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Griya Santrian 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, AsiaRooms, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Griya Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griya Santrian Hotel Sanur
Griya Santrian Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Griya Santrian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.