We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Resort that has to be tried!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Griya Santrian

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Griya Santrian to your Saves list
Griya Santrian
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Danau Tamblingan 47 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 67 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Resort that has to be tried!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed 7 nights at Griya Santrian and couldn't fault the service or the food. We thought it was best resort we saw along the beachfront. Yes there is construction and there was a digger on the beach but this didn't interfere with our stay at all. The middle pool is closed but with two other great pools it didn't matter. Our room was 248 and overlooked the back pool which was very quiet and private. We did the cooking class run by Griya for $60USD ++ and learnt lots and had a great morning with the chef from the restaurant. Best places to eat were The Porch for breakfast and Three Monkeys for dinner both across the road. Worth a taxi is The Potato Head, incredible setting and Asian tapas yum!! Will definitely return to Griya, thank you!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    343
    87
    34
    10
See reviews for
240
473
34
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Had a wonderful time at the Griya. The only reason it has a 4 and not 5 is that the rooms we stayed in were very tired, but we didn't spend long in our rooms. The breakfast, facilities and location and all great and handy to the restaurants outside the resort. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Staff was incredibly welcoming and helpful. Pools were beautiful and you can't beat the oceanfront location. The breakfast was delicious. Room was very large and spacious. The balcony was an added bonus. Will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the renovated section closer to the beach. It's worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hedland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Griya means home and that is exactly what you get staying at the Griya Santrian, Home away from Home. On arriving we found our room was not up to standard due to a moldy smell, and we were given a delux room for our stay. The staff were exceptional and the meals fantastic. We decided to not have breakfast included as we wanted to try other places in the area, but we found the food to be so good that we ate breakfast every morning at the Griya Santrian. We also took part in the Sanur Villiage Festival and we felt we were the guests of honour, such a wonderful experience. Overall the Griya Santrian is so good that we will be returning to this same resort, on our next trip, why go any where else when you have found perfection. Griya Santrian our little home away from home. I will also like to say were were shuttle from the airport by Tour East Indonisia (our contact was called Sila). He came back the next day and organised all the tours that we wanted to do over the 10 days, including tours such as the Elephant Camp. (this is a must do when your in Bali). Sila was excellent and understood our needs and catered to our requests. Highly recommend this company.

Room Tip: We stayed in 213, upstairs delux room that over looked the new renovations, but as we were out of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

this hotel was great when we arrived we had a welcome drink and lots of smiles our room 147 was by the small garden pool nice and quite and just a few steps to the pool our bed was so big a family of 4 could have sleeped in it the room was large and plenty of space for clothes extra ever day you had 2 btls of water left the bathroom was also big and lots of hot water .
the gardens i love all the flowers and temples beach towels ever day and comfy beach beds always plenty with large unbrellas we dint eat at hotel we went out at night as there are lots of resterants the best is bennos if you go out the beach end turn left walk along the beach path for a while your come to it its always busy with great food and prices good also out the front of hotel you have costa rico wicked parrot mona lisa all good but you are on a busy road and we like the beach resterants better
as we were long stay we got free afternoon tea which is a nice break we did have a pizza lunch a couple of times for hotel that was good but the 1 time we had dinner there we were disapointed
it was cold and had to wait a long time .

to sum up all around the hotel was lovely and would go back again lots of lovely happy staff they had a village festivable while we were they which we took part in great fun .
just the long flight getting there

Room Tip: i would go for ground floor and the garden rooms are quite which is what we liked
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I too have cancelled my booking at the Griya. I will be in Bali in just over a weeks time and like others only found out via the comments on Trip Advisor that the beach restoration was taking place. I think that the Griya should have made contact with guests to advise them of this rather than having to stumble upon it here. I am disappointed, but with the help of a great travel agent I have now booked elsewhere.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Underberg, South Africa
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We booked our honeymoon at Griya in August for the beginning of November & were blissfully unaware of the renovations & beach closure happening at the hotel. Only upon reading the posts below, did we become aware of the situation & contacted our booking agent who investigated it. The hotel confirmed renovations etc & offered a full refund without penalty.

I'm disappointed that we've had to cancel our stay as we booked the hotel based on the reviews, locality, style & beach access. I think it would be fair for the hotel to notify all upcoming guests of the above, so that they are not met with a surprise on arrival. Perhaps we will try again on our next visit to Bali.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Griya Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griya Santrian

Address: Danau Tamblingan 47 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#7 Family Hotel in Sanur
#7 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Griya Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Griya Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griya Santrian Hotel Sanur
Griya Santrian Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Griya Santrian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.