We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best relaxing holiday in years, perfect location and perfect hotel, well done.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Griya Santrian

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Griya Santrian to your Saves list
Griya Santrian
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Danau Tamblingan 47 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Sanur
Canberra
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best relaxing holiday in years, perfect location and perfect hotel, well done.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Despite some renovations taking place perfect stay. Wonderful staff, very accommodating, great food and facilities, perfect place for a break. Would recommend. Sanur is quiet but still offers variety in food and culture. Bali is just wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    319
    77
    30
    10
See reviews for
225
440
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had 2 separate friends recommend this place and thought it would be magic, but not so. Whilst the location is good (right on the beach), and the staff are friendly (our experience is that all Balinese are friendly), what we got was overpriced and ordinary. Renovations were in progress and we only found this out after we had paid (in advance) and checked in for the full 10 days of our stay. Two of the pools were out of action which caused overcrowding in the one remaining pool. Add to this the practice whereby people put towels/bags on the deck chairs even though they aren't using them, which essentially made the poolside facility unavailable. We had noisy neighbours which meant so it wasn't pleasant to sit outside on our balcony and enjoy the cool evenings. Had we not paid in advance we would definitely have found somewhere else to stay.

Room Tip: Free WiFi is available, but reception isn't great the further away from the conference room faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at Griya Santrian and found it a welcome respite from the hectic scene on Kuta beach. There is a nice balance of quiet, with a touch of nightlife in Sanur or along the other beach resorts for those who wish. Generally, this place is much higher than its 3-star billing, very clean, quite friendly staff, beauitufl buildings & settings. You can tell where they might be cutting costs, such as charging to "change" a towel (not even get a new one), slow, limited internet, and the pool person coming to your door to get back your beach towels (they are very tight on towels at this place!). The beach is nice, lots of activities nearby, beware that jet-skiing is one of them, so if that noise bothers you (usually only offered in the midday), you might find this place a bit loud. Luckily, it was only sometimes, and some days they didn't go at all. Balconies are great, we had an inner garden-poolside room and basically had this idyllic pool to ourselves. Definitely this is a great couple or older person place, very quiet and relaxed. The food is a welcome surprise too, you can charge to your room, and most of the stuff on the regular menu is quite good. I'd definitely go back, very good value for money compared with other pricier (and MUCH crappier) places in Kuta.

Room Tip: Beachview rooms are pricier, but garden & poolside are quieter and just as relaxing of a stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Was very disappointed that the hotel was under renovation and I was NOT notified of this when I booked. Therefore only 2 small pools and very over crowded with no deck chairs. Especially hard when you have rude Eurpoeans booking 12 chairs all day waiting for their friends and family to wake up and you have to sit on the floor.. No staff control at all.
Our room was filthy and the toilet I don't think had ever been cleaned. The cot for my 1 year old was amazing, and she had her first birthday at the hotel, who provided a cake and fruit platter for her.. Very sweet. Staff lovely

Room Tip: We had a bungalow which was close to the beach, pool and restaurant.. Hotel rooms are at the back of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a fabulous 2 weeks at the Griya Santrian in Sanur. Great allocation right on the beach but also directly on the main road through the town so really close to a huge variety of bars and restaurants. The hotel itself is spotless and the staff are continually cleaning and sweeping. We has a room near the beach whish was excellent with verandah overlooking the garden and spa area.There are three pools and apart from the main beach pool there are two other pools further back which are very quiet and we found that one often got one or either to yourself at certain times of the day. The hotel has a small spa where one can get a range of massages and treatments which are wonderful. Hotel restaurant is excellent and gardens amazing but the main thing we will remember are the staff. Smiling endlessly and always willing to help whatever was asked we will always remember them. A great hotel which is very highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed two weeks at this beautiful hotel. The rooms were big, nice and clean with large balconies. Placed right at the beach - 3 pools and 3 restaurants and the whole area was an adventure with beautiful trees and flowers everywhere. 3 minutes to the main road with very good restaurants everywhere. The staff were very helpful and nice. We enjoyed every minute at this hotel - and can recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Sanur is a laid back area of Bali and this hotel worked perfectly for us. We stayed in the Santrian Suite which was excellent. We loved the resort and the location was ideal. Just a short walk and you're either on the beach, at one of the numerous restaurants, or your on the main street which again has a lot of restaurants and numerous bars. The hotel made you feel that your were in Bali, lush & tropical but very classy. We found the service overall to be excellent. Having three pools was great so if one got a bit too noisy, kids jumping around, you could wander off to find a more peaceful spot. A huge plus would be if they made one of the pool areas kid free so that the many guests who don't have kids could have some peace & quiet. There was some construction going on, which won't be finished for another 6 months, but it didn't detract from our great experience. I'd certainly recommend this hotel and we hope to stay here again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Griya Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griya Santrian

Address: Danau Tamblingan 47 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#6 Family Hotel in Sanur
#6 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Griya Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, AsiaRooms, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Griya Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griya Santrian Hotel Sanur
Griya Santrian Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Griya Santrian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.