We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb service, beautiful property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Griya Santrian

Save Saved
You added Griya Santrian to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Griya Santrian
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Danau Tamblingan 47 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 65 Hotels in Sanur
Switzerland
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Superb service, beautiful property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Spending a few days at this resort is really what a perfect vacation is all about. The staff is always very friendly and helpful with lots of attention to detail, the property is well maintained and clean, the location is right at the beach, the quality of the restaurants is very good, offers a large variety from Japanese to Italian to local specialties.

The resort is very peaceful with most guests being either freshly wed or celebrating their anniversary. That also means that there is not much going on in the evenings other then BBQ and similar banquets with live music organized by the hotel. However, there are many bars and restaurants within walking distance.

There are wooden sun loungers with umbrellas right at the beach provided by the hotel at no cost, however the access to the sea is not great due to the extensive tide and the sea grass found in many places. To make up for it, you have three hotel pools to choose from and there are always seats available both in the sun and in the shade.

Room Tip: There is currently a renovation going on (August 2013). While it is not disturbing, I recommend aski...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    299
    70
    29
    9
See reviews for
212
420
29
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We moved to Sanur after staying 3 days in Kuta because the atmosphere is more peaceful and the place is a good base for exploring the island’s south and for a day trip to Ubud.

We actually stayed at this hotel twice, leaving our main luggage at reception between stays for 3 days, while we travelled to north Bali (Lovina / Singaraja) to see the dazzling Sekumpul waterfalls. We also visited the Git Git falls in the north and then went to Padang Bai on the east coast from where we crossed over to Lombok for 2 days.

Both times we had a room in the garden wing, the first time in a villa with a verandah by the pool and the second time a room with a large balcony at the first floor overlooking the main garden pool (all buildings on the compound have only 2 levels). Both rooms were spacious and immaculately clean and had sizeable bathrooms but we liked the second one more.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was very good and served al fresco in an open pavilion directly by the beach and shoreside pool. Those without breakfast included can pay “à la carte” or opt for the more expensive buffet. There are of course cheaper breakfast options outside on the main street, but without the gorgeous views.

The hotel is just a short walk from Sanur's main road (Jalan Tamblingan) with its countless shops, restaurants and money changers. One of Sanur’s best restaurants, the Kayu Manis, is within walking distance from the hotel.

We loved the picture-perfect beach setting of this hotel and its vast tropical garden running down straight to the beach. One of the garden pavilions has Internet-connected PCs for guests, while another pavilion is home to an art gallery. WiFi is good in the lobby and main pavilion but was spotty in our rooms. There are 3 swimming pools on the compounds, of which the beachside one has a bar and is the busiest. The other 2 pools are more private, and sometimes you can have any of the 2 garden pools all for yourself !

Balinese are passionate about tropical gardens. The Griya Santrian is a perfect example: its well maintained grounds are beautifully landscaped and could serve as inspiration for nature or fashion photographers. There are orchids, lotuses, heliconias, anthuriums, bromeliads and other tropical plants, apart from the tall palm trees – you could spend hours with close-up photography on the compounds.

Overall, a relaxing and very enjoyable stay. Will gladly return.

Room Tip: While the garden wing rooms are at a 2-4 min walk to the beach, the area is quieter and you have qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Room was clean and very spacious, pool refreshing, staff very attentive and the location of the property excellent. Very close to markets, the beach and other restaurants within walking distance. We really enjoyed our stay and would love to return here!! A great end to our holiday!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

If you want a lovely quiet place away from the kuta side of things I would suggest the griya santrian at sanur. The staff were exceptional except for once case when I needed an extra towel to put behind my neck to support a bad neck and one of the towel people was quiet rude and would not
Allow this even when I explained my situation , but all the other towel staff were great.well worth the deluxe rooms if the budget allows .
Yes I would go back there again.

Room Tip: Higher floors nomen above you scrapping chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We have been to Bali about nine times now and this Hotel, with the exception of one time when we stayed at the Puri Santrian which was very good too, is the only Hotel we have ever stayed at because it is excellent in every way. We have just had eleven nights there and once again it was wonderful. We have stayed in the Beach Wing, Suite and Deluxe rooms over the years. We especially like the Deluxe rooms. We have recommended this Hotel to many friends and all have been so pleased. Truly a beautiful Bali experience in Sanur ~ the quieter part of Bali.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms near front pool, beach and restaurant are lovely and Suites closer to back pool are ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have been to Bali 3 times, the first time just for a couple of nights added to a China tour. However we were lucky enough to go to the Griya Santrian. Since then we have returned twice and it is simply a stunning location, straight on the beach with fabulous rooms (in particular the refurbished ones around the main pool area, large with beautiful wet room/showers.
The breakfast is announced with local gamelan players- completely mellow. can't wait to go back- also a shout out for the Lazer bar just across the road. Nothing to look at but great atmosphere, very friendly and terrific live music!

Room Tip: The fitness centre was only average as it was an arrangement with the Hyatt about 1 1/2 miles away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have just got back from our holiday in Bali and can quite honestly say I have never been to a better hotel. I know a lot people say this, but the proof in the pudding is that even though we had paid to go to another hotel we still stayed for another night at Griya...madness!!
The staff are very friendly, but not in your face and the place is very well polished, but without seeming clinical and retains its Balinese charm. Every morning you wander down to have breakfast, over looking the private beach, then you choose from the massive selection of breakfast items of Bacon,Sausage, Waffles, Pancakes, Bali food or get them to make you an omelette. After breakfast you have the choice of private beach and the sun lounges or 1 of the 3 pools (one of which has a bar in it)
The rooms are goregous, (we were graded to a suite for free), but all of the upgraded rooms have a polished spec about them...it is worth it to upgrade.
Now there are few things that can be better, very simple fixes...Wifi in the rooms and better hair dryer (for the people with hair) my girlfiend in the end gave up on the hair dryer it was so useless.

I had such a relaxing time, I will break my rule of never returning to the same place twice!!

Room Tip: Pay to have an upgraded room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Griya Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griya Santrian

Address: Danau Tamblingan 47 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#6 Family Hotel in Sanur
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Griya Santrian 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, AsiaRooms, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Griya Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griya Santrian Hotel Sanur
Griya Santrian Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Griya Santrian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.