We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Friendly Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Griya Santrian

Save Saved
You added Griya Santrian to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Griya Santrian
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Danau Tamblingan 47 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 63 hotels in Sanur
Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Warm Friendly Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My Partner and I stayed at the Griya Santrian for 13 nights. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a Dulux room overlooking one of the 3 pools on the property. We were also given a free meal for two, as there are renovation works going on and this was offered in the form of some compensation. The only reason I gave this hotel 3 stars instead of 4 was because of the low level noise of the work going on through the day. However it really wasn't a big deal to us, as we mainly stayed at the main pool and the beach. The worksite is screened off so that you cant actually see the guys working.
The staff were extremely friendly and courteous. The grounds are beautiful, and the pools attractive. We loved being on the beach, and spent a lot of time relaxing.
We would stay here again purely for the friendly atmosphere, and the slower pace that Sanur offers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    399
    282
    69
    28
    9
See reviews for
199
398
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was my first stay at this hotel and my first stay in Sanur. I really like this hotel. It has a nice vibe and the staff are all lovely. I also like the location of the hotel with so many restaurants at your door step. Our room was very clean and we were lucky to be upgraded from a garden room to a beach room. We stayed here for five nights and were sad to leave. My only complaint would be that the pillows were like bricks but I really should just bring my own from home. If I return to Sanur I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were most impressed by the professional and friendly staff at Griya. We asked about airport transfer when we book the rooms but did not take it up eventually. Upon checking in the receptionist took our word for it and did not pursue further. We booked 2 garden view rooms for 5 adults which they upgraded to adjoining suites that were REALLY spacious. There was construction work just beside the rooms. Ms Dewi, the manager personally apologized for the inconvenience caused by the construction and offered us a free lunch or dinner at their restaurant. They were also very quick in setting up an extra bed for us while we had super. The beach in front of Griya is cleaned daily and there are sufficient benches for the hotel guests. Overall the staff have high service standards which make Griya a great place to stay.

A big thank you to all the staff at Griya and we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We have been staying at the Griya for some years now. We stay there because of the relaxing atmosphere, friendly staff and we are treated as famil in our second home. Another big plus is we meet wonderful people there (other guests ) they are from all over the world and it is great making new friends. The surrounding restaurants are just to die for. For the people who are not happy with slow service and alike, need to consider this is Bali (called Bali time) just relax and enjoy your selves. See you all there in November 2013. Cheers Bruno & Kerrie

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here after touring around Bali in Homestays which were really good. However, we stayed at this hotel for 2 days before flying home. Booking a superior room towards the rear of the hotel with balcony - the room was very modern with Balinese furniture so it was a case of East meets West in a way. Home from home comforts. The bathroom was fantastic with large shower enclosure. The room was cleaned daily around 2pm (which we found rather late). I have booked this as average due to the absolutely confusion the hotel places over breakfast. You are offered an American daily breakfast at check in which is expensive. In the room we found a menu offering another form of breakfast which was reasonably priced so we booked it at reception. We went to the restaurant the next day to find out that you could only have this breakfast sent to your room ? bizarre - we ate the breakfast anyway in the restaurant and it was quite poor. We then went out the next day to eat in the town. If the hotel could get their breakfasts right for guests I would have marked this Very Good. Pool area good as it the fact that you can have a nice sun lounger on the beach looking out to sea.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My mum & I stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our 2 week holiday & it was the best place to relax, only leaving the hotel twice the whole time.
We booked a deluxe room & for some reason were lucky enough to score the best room in the hotel, being the closest to the pool & the beach. The room was modern, clean, & large & comfortable enough for 2 people. Really the only time spent in the room was to shower & sleep.
The breakfast was included in our cost & was provided in the restaurant. There was a big variety of food on offer with changes daily, also with the chef cooking our eggs upon request. We ate most of our meals at the hotel as we were too lazy/relaxed to leave. All food was of a high standard & we had no complaints. Just keep in mind the taxes are higher being at a hotel at 21%.
We were lucky enough to be there on a Monday night for the beach bbq with a live band. The food was amazing with fresh seafood from Jimbaran Bay, the band was fun to listen to & the atmosphere was great with about 90 people sitting in the restaurant & on the tables on the beach.
All of the staff were so friendly, helpful & attentive, & always remembered us - we only had to quote our room number once. Everyone from the waiters, bar staff, pool staff, cleaners & day spa staff made us feel so welcome.
If you want a picturesque place to just relax & literally do nothing but lie by the pool or on the beach, or drink bintangs or cocktails in the swim up bar pool, then I highly recommend it. And if you love your sunrises then make the effort to get up early one morning to watch - a stunning view. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed for a week in a Garden View room. Fine for one person but would have been cramped with two. No seating other than the bed. Staff were wonderful, pools good, I wasn't particularly worried by the construction work. Plenty of restaurants and cafes nearby and transport easy to arrange for day trips. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Griya Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griya Santrian

Address: Danau Tamblingan 47 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#6 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#8 Family Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Griya Santrian 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, AsiaRooms, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Griya Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griya Santrian Hotel Sanur
Griya Santrian Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Griya Santrian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.