We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Friendly Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Griya Santrian

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Griya Santrian to your Saves list
Griya Santrian
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Danau Tamblingan 47 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 65 Hotels in Sanur
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Friendly Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were most impressed by the professional and friendly staff at Griya. We asked about airport transfer when we book the rooms but did not take it up eventually. Upon checking in the receptionist took our word for it and did not pursue further. We booked 2 garden view rooms for 5 adults which they upgraded to adjoining suites that were REALLY spacious. There was construction work just beside the rooms. Ms Dewi, the manager personally apologized for the inconvenience caused by the construction and offered us a free lunch or dinner at their restaurant. They were also very quick in setting up an extra bed for us while we had super. The beach in front of Griya is cleaned daily and there are sufficient benches for the hotel guests. Overall the staff have high service standards which make Griya a great place to stay.

A big thank you to all the staff at Griya and we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    305
    74
    30
    10
See reviews for
219
426
30
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We have been staying at the Griya for some years now. We stay there because of the relaxing atmosphere, friendly staff and we are treated as famil in our second home. Another big plus is we meet wonderful people there (other guests ) they are from all over the world and it is great making new friends. The surrounding restaurants are just to die for. For the people who are not happy with slow service and alike, need to consider this is Bali (called Bali time) just relax and enjoy your selves. See you all there in November 2013. Cheers Bruno & Kerrie

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here after touring around Bali in Homestays which were really good. However, we stayed at this hotel for 2 days before flying home. Booking a superior room towards the rear of the hotel with balcony - the room was very modern with Balinese furniture so it was a case of East meets West in a way. Home from home comforts. The bathroom was fantastic with large shower enclosure. The room was cleaned daily around 2pm (which we found rather late). I have booked this as average due to the absolutely confusion the hotel places over breakfast. You are offered an American daily breakfast at check in which is expensive. In the room we found a menu offering another form of breakfast which was reasonably priced so we booked it at reception. We went to the restaurant the next day to find out that you could only have this breakfast sent to your room ? bizarre - we ate the breakfast anyway in the restaurant and it was quite poor. We then went out the next day to eat in the town. If the hotel could get their breakfasts right for guests I would have marked this Very Good. Pool area good as it the fact that you can have a nice sun lounger on the beach looking out to sea.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My mum & I stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our 2 week holiday & it was the best place to relax, only leaving the hotel twice the whole time.
We booked a deluxe room & for some reason were lucky enough to score the best room in the hotel, being the closest to the pool & the beach. The room was modern, clean, & large & comfortable enough for 2 people. Really the only time spent in the room was to shower & sleep.
The breakfast was included in our cost & was provided in the restaurant. There was a big variety of food on offer with changes daily, also with the chef cooking our eggs upon request. We ate most of our meals at the hotel as we were too lazy/relaxed to leave. All food was of a high standard & we had no complaints. Just keep in mind the taxes are higher being at a hotel at 21%.
We were lucky enough to be there on a Monday night for the beach bbq with a live band. The food was amazing with fresh seafood from Jimbaran Bay, the band was fun to listen to & the atmosphere was great with about 90 people sitting in the restaurant & on the tables on the beach.
All of the staff were so friendly, helpful & attentive, & always remembered us - we only had to quote our room number once. Everyone from the waiters, bar staff, pool staff, cleaners & day spa staff made us feel so welcome.
If you want a picturesque place to just relax & literally do nothing but lie by the pool or on the beach, or drink bintangs or cocktails in the swim up bar pool, then I highly recommend it. And if you love your sunrises then make the effort to get up early one morning to watch - a stunning view. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed for a week in a Garden View room. Fine for one person but would have been cramped with two. No seating other than the bed. Staff were wonderful, pools good, I wasn't particularly worried by the construction work. Plenty of restaurants and cafes nearby and transport easy to arrange for day trips. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Before we decided where to go we checked out a lot about the Griya Santrian and thought it had the best reviews. Now having been there we can see why.

Instead of saying "if" you go to Bali, I will start by saying "when you go" to Bali we couldn't recommend the Griya Santrian highly enough.
We had a fantastic stay at the hotel and the whole staff made it an experience we shall never forget.
The hotel is a 30 minute drive from the airport and located on the east coast with a fabulous white sandy beach. We were greeted with a nice cool towel and mocktail whilst we checked in, a great refresher after the 16 hour travel time from the UK.
Fortuantely we stayed 2-17 June just before peak season started and the hotel was a little more quite. We had a beach wing room located by the small pond near the massage area. Unfortuantely the frogs did keep me awake for one night before I asked the staff if there was another room we could move into. Whilst we were away at the Elephant Safari Park and lodge (you should definately spend one night there. Around £76 per person / night but did require a £67 taxi ride to drop off and collect us the following day). the hotel staff moved our clothes etc into a larger room with a 4 poster bed and even repatriated the frogs elsewhere. OK I do feel a little bit guilty about getting the frogs moved but hey I had a great nights sleep afterwards.
Yes there is some building work going on near the hotel reception (middle pool area) but all we could hear during our stay was some light hammering and only when in the reception area. We spent some time in the middle pool with the jacuzzi and didn't really notice the work at all. It's all hidden behind colourfull boarding and black netting. The hotel grounds are so peaceful, well maintained and full of trees that it's hard to realize anything other than the beautiful grounds.
The staff are extremely helpful and if you have any problems just let them know. We had a dodgy signal on the FOX tv channel and before we knew it they had solved the problem.
The hotel location is great as it has numerous restaurants within walking distance. Top tip, meals can vary from 3-600,000 rupiah (£21 - £42). The Three Monkeys has great food and is at the pricey end but the Retro also has great food at great prices and you must try the vanilla dream dessert.
Anyway the Griya is a fantastic hotel in a fantastic place run by fantastic staff. It has great main bar/pool overlooking the ocean. Plenty of comfortable seating to relax and look out over the ocean and catch the sunrise. There are lots of reiews on here so check them out and see for yourself. It's a great place to visit and i'm pretty sure I'll e heading back there again.

FYI, we went with thompsn Worldwide for 14 nights B+B including transport from ad to the airport for £1295 each. We also booked several tours around the island which included an english speaking tour guide, driver and air conditioned car for approximately £76 for the whole day. I would recommend seeing the island this way as it's much much easier than doing it yourself.
Top activities would be, Waterbom park / Elephant Safari Park and Lodge / Bali Dolphins / Seawalker.

Room Tip: Beach Wing near the main pool and short walk to breakfast / pool / bar and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

There were 11 family and friends staying for 10-15 days. Despite some interference from the construction works occurring until Dec we were comfortable and well looked after. The grandchildren enjoyed themselves in the pool every day. Accomodation was excellent and to the standard we have come to expect for the rates we paid. Some points of annoyance were: smoking permitted in areas where food is served and children congregate, food ordered at the pool bar cannot be eaten at the pool bar( not an issue) but swimmers are blatantly allowed in the pool with glass bottles of beer and cocktail glasses( how dangerous is that), the pool steps were quite slippery and many falls were witnessed. The matter was reported to reception and the problem was corrected by placing a slippery surface sign next to the steps. ( better effort in cleaning would have been a more satisfactory approach) Overall we had a wonderful holiday (again) we find the resort very pleasant and enticing. We will be back many times to come and recommend GS very highly

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Griya Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griya Santrian

Address: Danau Tamblingan 47 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Sanur
#6 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Griya Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, AsiaRooms, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Griya Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griya Santrian Hotel Sanur
Griya Santrian Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Griya Santrian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.