We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Griya Santrian

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Griya Santrian to your Saves list
Griya Santrian
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Danau Tamblingan 47 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 67 Hotels in Sanur
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed for a week in a Garden View room. Fine for one person but would have been cramped with two. No seating other than the bed. Staff were wonderful, pools good, I wasn't particularly worried by the construction work. Plenty of restaurants and cafes nearby and transport easy to arrange for day trips. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    322
    78
    30
    10
See reviews for
225
444
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bilston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Before we decided where to go we checked out a lot about the Griya Santrian and thought it had the best reviews. Now having been there we can see why.

Instead of saying "if" you go to Bali, I will start by saying "when you go" to Bali we couldn't recommend the Griya Santrian highly enough.
We had a fantastic stay at the hotel and the whole staff made it an experience we shall never forget.
The hotel is a 30 minute drive from the airport and located on the east coast with a fabulous white sandy beach. We were greeted with a nice cool towel and mocktail whilst we checked in, a great refresher after the 16 hour travel time from the UK.
Fortuantely we stayed 2-17 June just before peak season started and the hotel was a little more quite. We had a beach wing room located by the small pond near the massage area. Unfortuantely the frogs did keep me awake for one night before I asked the staff if there was another room we could move into. Whilst we were away at the Elephant Safari Park and lodge (you should definately spend one night there. Around £76 per person / night but did require a £67 taxi ride to drop off and collect us the following day). the hotel staff moved our clothes etc into a larger room with a 4 poster bed and even repatriated the frogs elsewhere. OK I do feel a little bit guilty about getting the frogs moved but hey I had a great nights sleep afterwards.
Yes there is some building work going on near the hotel reception (middle pool area) but all we could hear during our stay was some light hammering and only when in the reception area. We spent some time in the middle pool with the jacuzzi and didn't really notice the work at all. It's all hidden behind colourfull boarding and black netting. The hotel grounds are so peaceful, well maintained and full of trees that it's hard to realize anything other than the beautiful grounds.
The staff are extremely helpful and if you have any problems just let them know. We had a dodgy signal on the FOX tv channel and before we knew it they had solved the problem.
The hotel location is great as it has numerous restaurants within walking distance. Top tip, meals can vary from 3-600,000 rupiah (£21 - £42). The Three Monkeys has great food and is at the pricey end but the Retro also has great food at great prices and you must try the vanilla dream dessert.
Anyway the Griya is a fantastic hotel in a fantastic place run by fantastic staff. It has great main bar/pool overlooking the ocean. Plenty of comfortable seating to relax and look out over the ocean and catch the sunrise. There are lots of reiews on here so check them out and see for yourself. It's a great place to visit and i'm pretty sure I'll e heading back there again.

FYI, we went with thompsn Worldwide for 14 nights B+B including transport from ad to the airport for £1295 each. We also booked several tours around the island which included an english speaking tour guide, driver and air conditioned car for approximately £76 for the whole day. I would recommend seeing the island this way as it's much much easier than doing it yourself.
Top activities would be, Waterbom park / Elephant Safari Park and Lodge / Bali Dolphins / Seawalker.

Room Tip: Beach Wing near the main pool and short walk to breakfast / pool / bar and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

There were 11 family and friends staying for 10-15 days. Despite some interference from the construction works occurring until Dec we were comfortable and well looked after. The grandchildren enjoyed themselves in the pool every day. Accomodation was excellent and to the standard we have come to expect for the rates we paid. Some points of annoyance were: smoking permitted in areas where food is served and children congregate, food ordered at the pool bar cannot be eaten at the pool bar( not an issue) but swimmers are blatantly allowed in the pool with glass bottles of beer and cocktail glasses( how dangerous is that), the pool steps were quite slippery and many falls were witnessed. The matter was reported to reception and the problem was corrected by placing a slippery surface sign next to the steps. ( better effort in cleaning would have been a more satisfactory approach) Overall we had a wonderful holiday (again) we find the resort very pleasant and enticing. We will be back many times to come and recommend GS very highly

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed for 12 nights with my partner in June 2013 ... wished we could have stayed for much longer. We agree with all of the positive comments and, even though I'm very picky, I cannot find anything to complain about! The room was very good and clean and was serviced every day. Hotel gardens are attractive and well-maintained.The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is pretty much in the middle of the pathway that runs the full length of Sanur beach and is only a matter of a minutes walk from the many cafes and restaurants on both the beach and the main drag through Sanur. I have to say that, unlike some other reviewers, we had no difficulties with finding non-Indonesian TV stations. As has been mentioned elsewhere there are plenty of drivers just outside the hotel who, at reasonable rates, will take you wherever you want to go - we had trips to Ubud, Kintamani & Penelokan as well as to the Bali Bird/Reptile Parks, as well as shorter trips.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the GS for 7 days in May 2013 with our 2 year old child and I agree largely with all of the reviews below regarding the quality of the location, the friendliness of the people, the relaxed atmosphere and the general cleanliness of the surrounding beach and area, which is thankfully unlike the horrible pollution on the Kuta, Seminyak side of the island. However, here are some of the things that GS needs to improve on to be an amazing resort:
1. If people who are staying at your resort attend your restaurant for a meal with a small child, it doesn't take a rocket scientist to ensure that you serve that family first to avoid the child disrupting everyone else's meal. Taking more than 45 minutes to serve two pizzas to a family with a hungry child is poor form.
2. Spray your rooms, or at least check for mites or other little biters, because despite staying comfortably for the 7 days, my entire family and I came back from Bali with welting bites, which I assume were from bugs in the beds or sheets.
3. If you provide a tall crib for a baby, make sure that it has equally tall sides. Young children do not stay in cribs that they are able to climb out of, for long. This was quite a dangerous situation.
4. Your visitors will seldom speak Indonesian. Why have 40-odd channels of television entirely with Indonesian content and language when most of your visitors come from overseas? Even some sub-titles would have made them bearable, but no.

Get these kinds of little things right, GS and you go from good to great.

Cheers

Room Tip: Spray your rooms and beds before you sleep in them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Griya santrian is a nice hotel, with a great view to the beach ! Very nice fore relaxing, room quite big, unfortunately the food just so so and the cocktails not good.
Would suggest them to put a music on pool bar ! And learn to make nice cocktails. That would be awesome !

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for two weeks from the 8th June for our honeymoon and we loved it. The resort is beautiful, the service first class and the people warm and welcoming. We would definitely come back here. Also, we met plenty of great people and made new friends.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Griya Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griya Santrian

Address: Danau Tamblingan 47 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#6 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#6 Family Hotel in Sanur
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Griya Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, AsiaRooms, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Griya Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griya Santrian Hotel Sanur
Griya Santrian Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Griya Santrian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.