We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, great location, but a bit pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Griya Santrian

Save Saved
You added Griya Santrian to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Griya Santrian
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Danau Tamblingan 47 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 65 Hotels in Sanur
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Very nice, great location, but a bit pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We go to Bali at least once or twice every year, and decided to head to Sanur for a change. We've stayed at the Griya's sister property, the Puri Santrian, and figured it was time to try the Griya.

Great staff, very nice and friendly.

Good rooms - we were in the Beach Wing. However, we were told by many people (and noted on many reviews here on TA), that the newer block of Beach Wing rooms that were opposite us across an expanse of lawn, were nicer.

We did have a sewerage smell consistently in our bathroom, and the hotel didn't seem able to fix it.

Drinks were a bit pricey at the pool bar, but not really any worse than other large resorts.

Good location for restaurants, and while it wasn't there when we stayed (January 2013), I know a Starbucks has just opened up outside the hotel - a good coffee is always a big drawcard for me!

We didn't bother with the hotel's breakfast, because it was too expensive for us to justify ($20US plus). However, we had a number of breakfasts at The Wicked Parrot, which is right at the end of the driveway in to the hotel. Great food, great price!

The Wicked Parrot also does a mean dinner, and has a decent in-house band. Great value for right outside the hotel.

Room Tip: If booking a beach wing room, ask for the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    300
    71
    29
    9
See reviews for
212
420
29
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This review is not really about the hotel as it was actually very good, clean, comfortable and on the beach. The rooms however are tired but pleasant enough.

The only way I could get to complain about the Thomas cook Signature transfers were through this platform. This has nothing to do with the hotel.

We booked private transfers through Thomas Cook Signature. Do not ever ever trust them to pick you up. We waited over an hour and a half for the transfer, the taxi q was 2 hours long and I had to get help from an airport porter, who I had to tip handsomely. Eventually contacted an agent for TC who told me to q for a taxi and he would reimburse us in the morning....not happening. He took a further hour to pay for a private taxi to take us to our hotel. Unacceptable given how much we paid up front for the transfer and to avoid this very thing happening. What is TC response to a complaint.....NIL! They have failed to respond. and it id8 months since the event. I would not recommend Thomas Cook in any way. .

Room Tip: Over looking the pool can be noisy but nice to look at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

For the price of accommodation at the Griya Santrian, breakfast should be included. In saying that, we paid $12.50au each for breakfast one morning and it is very average, we were glad we did not pay extra for breakfast in our booking. We booked a deluxe room which was lovely, the only downside is the lighting is very poor, unableto read in room. Also, nowhere to hang out wet bathers or any hand washing! Beautiful pool area, but badly in need of shade around swim up pool bar!

Room Tip: Would not recommend the high price of the deluxe room and would say do not pay for breakfast upfront...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Griya Santrian hotel is set in lovely surrounds, with 3 beautiful pools, which every time we went for a swim, were pretty much empty. The 3 amazing pools always looked very clean. The grounds seem to be cleaned all the time as well, as every time we left our room, there always seemed to be gardeners doing things to the gardens! It was nice that the hotel had direct access onto the beach and the sun lounges, but the actual ocean wasn't that nice.
The garden wing room that we stayed in was massive, the largest hotel room that i've stayed in ever, you get lots of room for the price that you pay. However, the style of the room was a little outdated, but that didn't take away from the overall experience at all. The actual room was large but the bathroom was quite small.
All the staff were lovely and very friendly. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Garden wing rooms are massive and very quiet and are very close to one of the pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at the Griya Santrian for 7 days at the end of May/ beginning of June. We stayed in the garden rooms which we thought were basic and dated for the price. I understand the rooms in the middle area and closer to the beach have been refurbished and do look much nicer.

The grounds in the hotel were very beautiful, old architecture and lots of greenery - it was a calming atmosphere. Out of the three pools, we spent most time at the garden pool - it was the most relaxing. The middle pool was nice but had construction right next to it and the beach pool got quite busy.

The beach was nice and well maintained. The sun beds were very popular and it was always quite busy. The beach is not among the best I have seen in Asia but it was pleasant.

We did not opt for the breakfast in the hotel and often got breakfast from the bakery on the main road. We did however have lunch at the hotel quite often - it was nice and not too expensive.

Sanur is a very nice relaxed part of Bali. Good restaurants which are reasonably priced. As you come onto the main road from the hotel there are 4 or 5 decent places to eat, the 'Three Monkeys' was among our favourites. The bars have a good atmosphere and there is an abundance of live music.

The staff were friendly and pleasant however I feel they could have been a lot more helpful and there is definately room for improvement in that aspect.

The spa in the hotel grounds was great - I had a pedicure and a traditional balinese massage which was lovely.

All in all - beautiful grounds, average rooms (in the garden pool area) and room for improvement with teh staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeewolde, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Very good hotel, the best of Sanur. Nice staff.
Good food. Visit this Hotel, we stay there 5 times.
Nice romantic garden, like heaven.
You must vist this fantastic Hotel, near the beach.
Three pools!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

2nd trip to this magnificent hotel on the beach in sanur
middle pool best to sit around,lots of shade, no service there but a telephone which is answered very promptly
Sat around a ordered buckets of beer in ice., Magic!!
Good food a great prices around pool area
Main restaurant on the beach with flowing curtains , good food and service
also close to other restaurants and shops
Will return again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Griya Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griya Santrian

Address: Danau Tamblingan 47 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#3 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#5 Family Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Griya Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, AsiaRooms, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Griya Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griya Santrian Hotel Sanur
Griya Santrian Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Griya Santrian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.