We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Griya Santrian

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Griya Santrian to your Saves list
Griya Santrian
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Danau Tamblingan 47 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 67 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Griya Santrian is a great place to stay, everything is pretty central to this location both along the beach or the main road. Although the Griya has great food it is close to many good restaurants. There is a small supermarket on the beach front not far away, and a large one about 10 mins walk along the road. All the staff are friendly and helpful. and they guy's in the bar and restaurant are great, "One more for the road" Guy's, "Bloody Good fun"

Room Tip: all the rooms we have stayed in are good from garden wing to Santiran Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    343
    87
    34
    10
See reviews for
240
473
34
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg, Germany
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

From the moment we entered this hotel I knew it was going to be good. The decor/architecture of the hotel is just as you would hope for your Bali experience. Very serene, unique and so NOT big resort hotel. The beach was clean, quiet and beautiful. The price of the food was afordable and good. Loved the fruit drink concoctions and tried every one I think. We had a bed brought in our room for our son and had plenty of room. We had the suite. Can't fault this place. I would only suggest ceiling fans in the lobby. That's the only place to get WiFi and it gets HOT.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed at the Griya during November with a large group for my Mum's 60th Birthday. I can't think of one single negative to say about our stay. We stayed in the Garden Wings, my brother had one that was a little run down (bathroom mainly) but it was still clean and tidy. But everyone else had rooms that left nothing to be desired - Awesome! Our bathroom was humungous and gorgeous. And the bed was the most comforable I've ever had in Bali; I wanted to pack it into my bag when it was time to leave!
There are three pools so you can choose whichever suits your fancy. The front one being populated at cocktail hour. The best Guave Mangorita's in the world! And at 45,000Rp we were more than happy during Happy Hour!
The staff are very courteous, accommodating and friendly. They were more than happy to help me setting up decorations for my Mum's party and even presented her with a birhtday cake!
The beach is amazingly beautiful and the water sports are highly recommended. We went canoeing and later rode the Banana boat. Great fun.
The travellers who accommodate the Griya also make it a fantastic stay. Everyone is very friendly and great to chat with in the pool.
I wouldn't even bother looking anywhere else, my choice is made.

Room Tip: We had room 138. I would ask for this room again; quiet, clean, awesome bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

I would've more than happy to stay at the Griya Santrian again. Rooms were clean and comfortable, the included breakfasts were a good start to the day and spending hours lazing in and around the pool took no effort. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

A lovely, pleasant and relaxed hotel in the laid back part of Bali's east coast. They leave you alone to soak up the sun, on either beach, poolside or table with a view. No pressure. Hardly any outside noise and pleasant and efficient service. Extras available: 60000R for an hour's massage from the pink ladies up the path - have it in one of the cool, windy Japanese pavilions on the breakwater! - or 200000R for a 90 minute sail in a traditional outrigger trimaran inside and outside the reef, recommended, when the tide is high. Rent a bicycle for an hour or more on the pathway and stop for a swim as you go.
Griya's rooms are clean, pleasant, nothing luxurious but all you need. The grounds are full of Balinese art. Buy a breakfast voucher for $10 and skip lunch, then try some of the other beachside restaurants for dinner. Griya's BBQ seafood and show is fun.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 10 nights in the Suite. Price was very reasonable. This is the first time we stayed there and would stay there again in a heart beat. The stay there was super relaxing. Being in Sanur is so much quieter and so much more relaxing than the other places in Bali we have stayed. There were three pools to choose from and we were always able to get a sun lounger when we wanted one. They don't tolerate the "saving" of sun loungers.

We loved the fact that the hotel was on the beach. The hawkers are kept back and are not permitted to come up to holiday makers, but if you want to buy something, you can go up to them.

The rooms are a bit tired and the bathrooms could do with renovating, but for the price we paid, it wasn't a big deal.

Food was good and staff were really friendly.

Draw back for being in the suite is that there is a joining door with the next suite and if someone is in there with the tv on loud, you hear it. This happened to us and the staff were very apologetic and moved us instantly. They really do want to keep you happy.

We enjoyed having breakfast right next to the beach every morning and cocktails in the evening. We stayed at the hotel most of the time and just walked up to the road if we wanted to shop. There was no need for a taxi, which was fantastic.

Hardy's is a great store you can walk up to for anything you might need.

Beware of Paul Smith shop (which is a few doors down from the hotel. They are rip off merchants. They tried to add on more money to our bill. When we questioned them, they said sorry, and then added it up again, and this time jacked up the price of what we were buying. We had to add it up ourselves.

The Griya Santrian keeps the hotel quite as they don't allow swimming after 10pm and they like to do everything they can to avoid any obnoxious noise. The type of people who stayed there were people who wanted quiet and relaxing, no rowdy drunks.

I have to say though, every morning at 7am we could here this noise.....had a look and it is the gardner sweeping up the leaves. I would have preferred not to be woken up on holiday.

If I had to travel on my own, this would be the hotel to do it.

Room Tip: Suites are at the back of the hotel, so are quieter. All rooms upstairs have more privacy, if you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

We had a wedding package (Bali Blessing) at the Griya organised by Ketut. Very good. Traditional ceremony with priest, musicians, parade, flowers and dancers. Very nice people. Great Experience. Would definitely recommend


.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Griya Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griya Santrian

Address: Danau Tamblingan 47 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#7 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#7 Family Hotel in Sanur
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Griya Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Griya Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griya Santrian Hotel Sanur
Griya Santrian Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Griya Santrian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.