We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and cozy retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tandjung Sari

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tandjung Sari to your Saves list
Tandjung Sari
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Danau Tamblingan No.41, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in Sanur
Marbella, Spain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Charming and cozy retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

First of all, please notice we stayed there back in August 2007, however Tripadvisor doesn't allow to go back so further.
Anyway, we remember the hotel as a nice old style hotel. Few villa style rooms. Right on the beach. Quiet. Charmy.
Our villa was superb. Two floors. Colonial-balines style. Living room upstairs. Bedroom downstaris. Nice bath. Quiet.
Food was fantastic. We had one night the duck baked in a sand oven. Had to be ordered 24 hours in advance! It take a while to be cooked! It was delicious.
The service was slow, some of the waiters had been working there for 40 years. But always nice and smiley. No rush style.
To have breakfast almost on the beach was magic.
The beach is nice. Nice sand. However water is not deep at all. Actually it was difficult to swim. very shallow waters.
The barefoot walk along the promenade was also delicious.
Finally 120€ a night back in 2007 was a bargain.
Enjoy it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    64
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
56
143
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The beach in this part of Bali is very calm and relaxing. In contrast with our tastes of Kuta and surrounding areas, the Sanur area is much more of a relaxing scene. If you are seeking a party, go west. The staff was excellent. The pool was taken over by a family with two small kids who were often bottomless in the pool with their toys strewn about the public spaces. The management could have done something to preserve some pool time for other guests' enjoyment. We also had some mice in our room. The management did their best to take care of it, but it seems to be a consequence of some construction on site. The housekeepers failed to clean up when a mouse was caught in a trap in the sink. The management was very apologetic and the issue was quickly resolved, but it put a damper on an otherwise spectacular space and beach. We would probably consider staying here again, but not without looking for other options in Sanur as well.

Room Tip: Our oceanfront room (#28) had some mice. They are constructing a fitness center on site, and said th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Can't say enough good things about this place. Beautiful accommodations, clean, lovely people, great beach access, lovely people, really good food...and did I say lovely people? The best sunset we saw while in Bali was on the beach at Tandjung Sari...and we were facing east! It really was my favorite place during my 10 day stay in Bali. If I return to Bali, I will definitely go back to this place. Barely saw Sanur, as I didn't need or want to leave the hotel.

Room Tip: Three of us stayed in rooms 27a and B. Loved the rooms, the location, everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

After 7 nights in Seminyak it was rather a delightful experience to turn down the driveway into the tranquil Tandjung Sari resort. We had a village bungalow. Changed room as air con not very efficient in first room. Prefer single level rooms as in 2 storey the sitting room is upstairs. Suggest when booking that you ask for a re furbished bungalow. The beach front ones are lovely however there is a busy cycle path that runs in front of the resort. Shouldn't be a noise problem at night though. Only a small pool but lovely setting. Some more deck chairs would be nice but not really enough room. We had a young family staying at the same time and they totally took over the area with toys & noise. Lots of nice places to sit & relax. Lovely areas under the palm trees on the beach. Service & staff excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room & make sure you have an efficient air con. Number 16 was good but clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

At check in, having booked months in advance, I was given the choice of a room at the far corner of the property or next to the kitchen. Not impressed with this and sadly this is often the lot of solo travellers. The hotel has a small private beach but there is a cycle path alongside used by lots of people so privacy is an illusion. The small swimming pool does not have any sun beds just four chairs. The " special" Friday and Saturday evening dinner is overpriced and better value/quality is readily available on the streets of Sanur.

Good points: friendly service and lovely breakfast.

On balance far better options are available.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottesloe, Australia
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This old lady has just got better with age - located on the best beach section in sanur
Delivering elegance authenticity and service that only a family that cares can bring to its customers - regulars will stay no where else - I love this place and visit often good food good wine good Jazz and above all old friends that take pride in making this a very special experience each and every time .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Our group of 2 mums and 5 children stayed at the lovely Tandjung Sari hotel in Sanur for 4 days at the tail end of our Bali holiday. This is a very delightful hotel. Olde worlde classic Bali style, very nicely presented, smart, clean, stylish and right on the beach. The pool area is wonderful with tall trees offering plenty of shade and a lovely elegant homely feel. There's a library and lots of comfy relaxing areas to just sit and read and the restaurant is excellent. The food was delicious.
Staff all very accommodating. The beach was very clean and pleasant to swim in. Massages available on the beach and walking distance to plenty of shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: I paid an extra $30 per night to upgrade to a more recently renovated room and it was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tandjung Sari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tandjung Sari

Address: Danau Tamblingan No.41, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tandjung Sari 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tandjung Sari was opened in 1962 and began as an extension of the family home of Indonesian proprietor Wija Wawo-Runtu. The hotel was named Tandjung Sari (cape of flowers) and initially developed as Bali's very first boutique property to be managed as a small family business catering to the needs of a privileged clientele. The scale of the entire complex was purposely kept low rise and the articulation of space together with the rambling indirectness of the path ways has generated a relaxed, leisurely pace. Operational for nearly half of a century, Tandjung Sari showcases an eclectic collection of rare Balinese and Dutch colonial artifacts as a tribute to the glorious past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tandjung Sari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tandjung Sari Hotel Sanur
Tandjung Sari Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tandjung Sari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.