We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but quality stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamukami Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tamukami Hotel to your Saves list
Tamukami Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Danau Tamblingan 64X | Denpasar - Bali, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 67 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Expensive but quality stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed at Tamukami during the silence day on Bali. So our experience can be a little different than most visitors during the year. The hotel is clean and the pool was good. The rooms are very big and the showers are fine. For silence day they had prepared a fixed menu, which was pretty good. Especially the breakfast was rich and huge. We loved it. The hotel was way above our budget, but we wanted to spend silence day with our parents, who stayed here. Expect to pay a lot more then your average backpackers guest house, but go for this option if you want to splurge.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    135
    30
    8
    3
See reviews for
56
186
27
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Sanur is a good area for restaurants and a great starting point for tours by land or by water. Tamukami is in the middle of the frontage road and is surrounded by many things to do. The hotel is also set back far enough from the road that you cannot hear any of the bustle when you are on the property or in your room.

The facilities are a bit dated but very well maintained and completely adequate. The motif is authentically Bali, but with a slight European influence. The food is good, but with so many surrounding options you may not eat here much.

All-in-all I am very pleased with the facility and the location for a one-week stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I visited Bali from the UK for a friend's wedding. On balance of price and reviews, I chose Tamukami, and was so glad I did. It truly is paradise, quiet, excellent pool and surrounds with beautiful surrounds and flora. The bar and restaurant were excellent and I ate there every night bar 2 when other arrangements were in place. I think some of the reviews miss the point slightly in that it is an ornate and traditional place, not trying to compete with the chain hotels, and the owner is a charming man, whom the staff have the utmost respect and fondness for (I got to know most) and the flowers are donned by all, men and women alike, so he's not being smarmy or creepy at all, it's a Balinese tradition!! As for the menu being mainly European, that's nonsense, the franchisee and all staff are Balinese, and that's 85% of what they offer, and it is fantastic. The place won 2nd best Balinese restaurant in the region last year for goodness sake!! My only negatives would be that the room smelled a little damp, and the're was evidence of a past leak from above in several walls and ceiling areas, and it would have been nice to have coffee making facilities in the room, but all in all it's still 5/5 for me

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Great staff, efficient, reasonable English, Rooms large and well cleaned and serviced, magnificient bathroom with separate shower and bath. Staff well supervised.
Food: well prepared in full view of dining room. Experienced long delays between courses especially on the fixed menu...30 minutes before course one and two is ridiculous. The quality of preparation varied too from about 7 to 10 out of ten.
My only problem is that I am an extreme asthmatic and was not told about the weekly fogging with insecticide for mosquitoes --dengue fever is in Bali! My first week threre the fogging was combined with a hand spraying for ants and fleas using an organic phosphate (the one that turns white in water and looks like greasy milk)!!!!! Result was a quick return home and two days in hospital with mild organo poisoning...headache, mouth blisters, raw throat, vomiting, etc.
The management gave me discount on unused days and Garuda let me fly a different date for $100 US.

Room Tip: Write down the following for emergencies: Saya perlu doctor--- I need a doctor Saya punya diari. D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed at Tamukami in March and really enjoyed our stay. Our room was huge for our family of 4 and very clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. We had breakfast included and it was adequate. The location of this hotel is terrific - close to many great restaurants, a short walk through The Sands across the road to the beach path and walking distance to Hardys. The only minor issue we had was that most other guests were older Europeans who seemed very put out by our kids being in the pool. Our boys were very well behaved and certainly not noisy at all but these older couples seemed to want the pool area to themselves. I would still definitely stay at Tamukami again but maybe not with children as it seems like most guests at this hotel prefer real peace and quiet.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We loved the large room and bathroom. It was very comfortable and the grounds and rooms were always kept clean. The staff were always helpful and amazing. The food was really nice. We will definitely be coming back!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We arrived at this hotel in Sanur and were greeted by the reception staff and our luggage was taken care of and sent to our room.
We were given a welcome drink and then shown to our very nice large bedroom with an enormous bed and bathroom area, one of the largest rooms we have ever had.
There was a lovely flower arrangement and a bowl of fruit provided for us.
The room also had a well stocked mini bar if you fancied a drink.
One of my favourites was the swimming pool, it was quite large and very warm but at the time we were there, not too busy.
Breakfast was very nice with a good choice, we never ate evening dinner in the restaurant as we prefer to try local Balinese food and the menu was very European, although there was set meals with over inflated prices especially for the new year and quiet day.
The Hotel is situated not far from the beach, local restaurants and bars.
Everything was in walking distance.
When we were there, there was a wasps nest in the tree by the swimming pool and someone had the bright idea to smoke them out and encourage them to fly all over the swimming pool area and die all over the path, where guests stung themselves including us, also another great idea was to spray the mosquito killer at 4pm just as most guests were lying on their sunbeds, great for people with breathing difficulties, why not do it in the evening when all guests are out?
The owners were a Belgium couple and although the lady appeared to be very pleasant the elderly man was awful, from the moment we met him he was so creepy, firstly telling us what setting to put the air con on, placing flowers behind the ladies ears, spying on people from behind a screen and the final straw and that was the only and last time we went for a drink when he was drinking red wine and quite drunk and blowing kisses at the very young waitresses behind the bar, who were clearly embarrassed by his behaviour.
Every single member of the Balinese staff were friendly and efficient and a pleasure to deal with.
This hotel was comfortable, probably very plush in its day but is looking a little tired and could do with a little bit of TLC.
If the owners left the running of the hotel to the very capable staff, it would be so much better.

Room Tip: Pick the Bungalow style rooms as you get so much more
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Tamukami Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamukami Hotel

Address: Danau Tamblingan 64X | Denpasar - Bali, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#15 Family Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tamukami Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Tamukami Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamukami Hotel Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamukami Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.