We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eight very pleasant weeks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamukami Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tamukami Hotel to your Saves list
Tamukami Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Danau Tamblingan 64X | Denpasar - Bali, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 67 Hotels in Sanur
Meadow Springs
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Eight very pleasant weeks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

To avoid the winter at home,we have for many years vacationed in south-east Asia,from mid July to early September,enjoying the warmth, and hospitality in these countries.This year we decided on Bali,but as we are now classified among the "Aged" group,we had pretty definite ideas on our stay,which included a quiet location,small hotel with adequate pool and pleasant surrounds,and close proximity to beach and shopping.Thanks to the many contributors to Trip Advisor,we found the Tamakumi which ticked all the boxes.

Bungalow Suites.:-There are six of these,which occupy half the area around the pool.They are very spacious, with comfortable beds,ample wardrobe,cupboard,drawer and bench space.The Tv ,wifi, aircon and hot water systems all operate satisfactorily.There is a bath with a shower,plus another shower recess,and a separate dressing room and vanity .Front and back doors are double locked,and outside noise is limited. AND IN 8 WEEKS-NOT ONE MOZZIE The rooms are clean,and were maintained at this level for the duration of our stay, by the cleaning staff.

POOL :- long enough for us to do a "few" laps before breakfast,and a very pleasant mix of tropical flora surrounds the pool area.

Alise's Restaurant :- For breakfast 3 menus are offered,Continental,American and Indonesian.For dinner there is always a 3 and 4 course special offered at a very reasonable price, plus a quite extensive a' la carte selection is available.Most nights entertainment is provided by local musical groups,which certainly enhanced the atmosphere. Having a background in Hotels and industrial catering,we were keen to sample the fare from the many nearby restaurants.Apart from 2,they were all reasonable in quality and price,but we found Alise's as good as any of them

Staff :- The Reception area is manned by very capable young ladies,who were always pleasant and willing to assist with any queries or arrangement of transport.
Restaurant staff offered very good service,and their pleasant and happy demeanours always added to the enjoyment of a meal.

All in all,a very relaxed and peaceful holiday...( we are booked to return next year )

Our thanks again to Eugene and Susan for making my gals ?? birthday ,an even better day

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    125
    28
    8
    3
See reviews for
53
172
26
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Holland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Small hotel with spacious rooms, bathroom and balcony. Great swimmingpool and friendly staff. The hotel is a bit old but that's a big +, it has a relaxing atmosphere. Close to the hotel you can reach the beach within 5 minutes.

Room Tip: They also have bungalows near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has spacious rooms and a nice interior. It is very clean overall and a garden with nice pool. We liked the style of the hotel. The Belgium owners are very friendly and help full. We had to leave very early to catch the boat to Gili and the staff made for us early breakfast !

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This was a beautiful serene small resort. The food was lovely, our breakfast was included in our accommodation and we felt it was private but accessible to everything. A 2 min walk across the road to the beach front. The staff had great English and superb customer service. The pool was nice and the rooms were nice too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Just back from a 8 night stay at the Tamukami Hotel Sanur. Loved our stay there.
Small, Quiet, Clean and with the most beautiful pool area, in a lush tropical garden setting.. Walking distance to everything.
Rooms large and very clean, bathrooms also very clean and spacious ( tiles may be a bit outdated in style - but this had nothing to do with the overall cleanliness). Owners live onsite, but not at all intrusive, and appeared to treated staff as extended family - it was very nice to see happy staff enjoying their work. Would definitely return again. But would love to see tea/ coffee making facilities included in room, as we are early morning people, and love a early morning coffee. Has a very nice restaurant onsite- very popular in the evening, with live music
///// - Its a ten minute walk from the night markets - 10,000rp for a meal! Clean and highly recommended. You see the food prepared in front of you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We have always planned to stay in Sanur but this was the first time. We were on a budget so were looking for something reasonable but nice. I used Trip Advisor to search and this hotel seemed the best option and we were not disappointed. It is good value for money in my opinion, granted a bit dated but the rooms are spacious and kept clean so what more can one ask for or expect? I liked the pool area and the garden surrounds and I have copious pictures of the flora to prove it! The hotel is off the main road but very quiet and peaceful and it really grows on you. The owners live on the premises and are sociable. I think perhaps they keep a sharp eye on the place as well. The breakfast is a la carte and yes the choice is limited kinda how do you want your eggs done. But it really is enough with juice, eggs, a bit of bacon, toast, and a pastry. And a plate of fruit to start and if you want you can go Indonesian and have the rice which I did on a couple of days. No problem there. At night the restaurant has set menus or a la carte. We tried one of the set menus on the Tuesday night when they had a trio playing music with a singer and a great night was had by all singing along to favourites that you can choose. The first room we had was room 408 which was upstairs overlooking the pool. Large room, bed was comfy and separate shower in en suite. Good size balcony, air con worked well. Downside would be no safe box and no tea, coffee facilities but wasn't really a big deal. Most times we were out anyway. The door in the wardrobe had a lock so we used that. When I say the first room I mean we decided to come back to this hotel later in the holiday and we did and changed to a ground floor cottage only to save the stairs!! Perfect for us and as it was a bit more expensive there was tea,coffee facilities all good. So all round I would say we would go back to the Tamukami because we really liked it but if you like all modern, everything at your fingertips type hotel then this would probably not cut it for you...it is a 3 star rated after all and generally you only get what you pay for. But there is a lot going for this friendly well located hotel. And here's a tip...if you have heavy luggage leave it at the bottom of the stairs at reception and save having to lug it back down after you have checked in.
And I will tell you a funny story: when we arrived we were walking up the driveway with our luggage and an elderly man was walking as well. My partner said to him "Do you stay here" and the man said "yes I do" My partner said "is it any good here" and the man said " I think it is" oh yes you've guessed it...it was the owner out for his walk he might be a bit biased...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moruya
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Just stayed here for a week on our first time over in Sanur. This is a 3 star hotel (Australian equivalent) with the rooms starting to show their age and needing a refurbishment soon. (The bathroom is one area that this is especially obvious), so if that type of thing bothers you, and you desire more upmarket or modern facilities, then you may want to look elsewhere. The price reflects this though, and you may not be bothered by aesthetics. The rooms are all clean and I found the airconditioner worked very well. The staff are all lovely, friendly and helpful. The breakfast in the restaurant was of ample size, starting off with a plate of fresh fruit, and pretty good coffee, and then whatever you choose for that day. I'm not a bacon and eggs type of eater, so had a banana pancake the first morning. I asked my husband to order me the banana pancake again next morning as I was running late, but he accidently asked for a banana fritter. Not a problem to the staff, they were happy to oblige and I got a surprise when the fritter came out instead of the pancake. The fritter was delicious though, and I happily had one every morning for the rest of my stay. (This item wasn't on the menu, I must point out. Just an example of how the staff will do anything for you). This is a small hotel of 20 or so rooms, so you get a chance to get to know the staff, and they you. There is a lot of reviews of lack of poolside lounge chairs, and there isn't really any room for them to squeeze many more in, but I would urge the managers to police the hogging of the loungers, as many greedy visitors do hog the chairs by putting their things on there and then go away to have breakfast or lunch, or go to the shops for hours at a time,and hog the chairs all day. The hotel needs a dedicated pool attendant who could make sure people give up their lounge so that other visitors get a chance to use them. A lot of places say if you abandon a lounger for more than half an hour the attendant will remove your things so that others can use the facilities. It would be much fairer. I would also suggest the bar staff do a regular walk around the pool and ask if anyone wants to order a drink. I would have appreciated this service; there's nothing nicer than a cold drink as you lay by the pool, but sometimes you just couldn't be bothered getting up. They would increase their revenue from the drink sales doing this also. We checked out at 12pm on our last day in Bali, but our flight wasn't until 11pm, so we had the hotel mind our bags for us in the office area, and we were allowed to use the pool and restaurant facilities until later that evening. It was very relaxing to have the afternoon by the pool (yes, we were lucky to get loungers) and there is also a lounge area with t.v which we used for a while. (There is an outdoor shower by the pool, and I used this for a quick wash and shampoo of the hair before changing and heading to the airport.) So you can get by without spending money on a room for half a day. All in all we enjoyed our stay at Tamukami Hotel.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs room with balcony overlooking the pool. You could use the balcony railing to dry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tamukami Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamukami Hotel

Address: Danau Tamblingan 64X | Denpasar - Bali, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#13 Family Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tamukami Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, AsiaRooms, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tamukami Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamukami Hotel Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamukami Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.